Old 16th February 2015, 15:47   #1036

Re: Advice Needed on best car for travelling with Car-Sick kids

Originally Posted by anand.shankar82 View Post
Dear TBHPians

I currently own a Mahindra Scorpio SLE MHawk which has been with us for 5 years and has served us perfectly well all this time.

We have had several long road trips with "Ironhide" (what we call him) over these years

However, not one of these trips has gone without one of my little girls always requiring us to pull over to the side of the road because they get car sick in about an hour of travel

My better half seems to think this has to do with the excessive body roll which is associated with the Scorpio and hence wanted to see what other alternatives are best suited to travel with kids without facing too many such car-sickness problems

Requesting your expert advise on what is the best car around (keeping in mind below parameters)

1. Minimal to no body-roll (basically do not want the car to behave like a boat over bumps or under braking)
2. Seats 5 comfortably
3. Adequate boot capacity
4. Budget of under 10 lakhs
5. Sedan preferred but hatchbacks are also OK I guess if the boot is large enough
6. Maintenance and service should not become a major worry
7. Fuel efficiency (not the most important factor but good-to-have)

My shortlist so far is as below
1. VW Vento
2. Honda City
3. VW Polo
4. Ford Fiesta Classic
5. Chevy Aveo
6. Maruti Ciaz
7. Fiat Linea
8. Hyundai i20 Elite
9. Tata Manza

Anand

PS: Sorry if this post is irrelevant or wrongly worded in any way
Have you considered the Storme or Duster if the budget can be expanded a bit.

Duster has outstanding ride quality and feels almost car-like.

suman said that his kids used to be more (or as much) comfortable in the Safari than his Fiesta. Do PM him for his views.

Comfort wise, the linea should be a good bet. Do let us know how it goes!
phamilyman is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th February 2015, 15:53   #1037

Have you considered the possibility that your driving style might be less graceful (i.e. aggressive / sudden-movements/swerves)?
Do your kids read or watch anything too closely during the drive?
nareshov is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th February 2015, 16:49   #1038

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Others

I currently own a Mahindra Scorpio SLE MHawk which has been with us for 5 years and has served us perfectly well all this time.
So, your 5 year old car is serving you well and the only reason for a switch is car sickness on long trips.

1. Zoomcar & Myles - both - offer self-driven rentals in Pune. Renting a car for your (occasional) long trips will save you big $$$. You can also get variety every time you head out . EcoSport, XUV500 or GLA-Class? All available.

2. Find out the root cause of the car sickness first: related thread.

3. KEEP the Scorpio! Related thread.
GTO is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th February 2015, 18:45   #1039

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Others

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
No, never! Just wait for a chance to spot an opening in city traffic, and with pedal to metal, nothing comes close! You gotta feel it to believe it!
Thanks sir! So, all required is pedal to metal! Thanks again for clarifying the doubt.
Originally Posted by IshaanIan View Post
The Ford Fiesta and the Polo GT are both extremely good cars to drive (my vote between the two going to the Fiesta), however, as a family car, you might have complaints about space somewhere down the line. They both come with very cramped rear benches and as the years pass your family might begin to regret that.

I would suggest the Linea T-Jet. If there are apprehensions about spending a lot on a Fiat, then the Etios Liva 1.5 trd should do perfectly. Otherwise wait for the Honda.

As a first car, the Etios Liva makes the most sense to me being reliable, spacious, uncomplicated and cheap to maintain
Yes, you are right. Not ready to spend so much for a Fiat that too as the first car.

The problem with the Liva is the cost cutting, the zero feedback steering and the flimsy build.
Moreover the Vios will most probably be here very soon, and we don't want to regret our decision.

Originally Posted by 599gto View Post
Hi petrolhead_neel

The Volkswagen Polo GT TSI meets your needs perfectly.

The engine is probably the best petrol engine one can buy for less than 10 lakh rupees.

It will comfortably seat 4 medium built human beings and the boot is big enough too.
(If you find it short on space, the Vento TSI is not too much of a stretch and performs equally well.)

High speed stability of the Polo is well known, I can vouch for that, my daily drive is Polo TDI Trendline, and it is nothing short of rock stable at well above 100 KMPH.

The car is solidly built, well designed and definitely good to look at!

The GT TSI is equipped with airbags and abs too.

Regarding the After Sales Service issues, I for one genuinely think its not all that bad, most cases are over hyped! I don't know about the dealer in your area but I am sure blessed to have BU Bhandari as one of the two VW dealers in Pune, never had a bad experience, at least nothing to write about.

And, that is one car you would happily want to inherit from your dad in the next 5-6 years, you can mod it to your happiness and it'll still be competent 5-6 years down the line! (Plus, VWs and Skodas are perfect cars to be ICE'd, so as and when you acquire a liking towards good music, and want to plonk in decent ICE equipment, owning one of these cars will make you really happy!)

PS: Everytime I read anything written by you, I go, I wish I was that good when I was 12-13. Way to go young man!
Thanks for the swift reply!
Actually, we don't have any such problems with the GT. Just worried whether before starting the car, if we see that the CEL is on, what are we going to do? The service center is 115kms away. And so much tech in a first car, what if we do some newbie mistakes? The Vento TSI would be too much of a stretch for us. And the Polo's rear bench legroom might be a problem.
Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
From your list, I would recommend the Polo GT TSI. Although the Punto T Jet is also a very good option, considering the way our cities and traffic is headed, I personally believe an AT is the way to go.

Having said that, since you are a family of 4 and planning long weekend drives in the new car, the rear seat space and boot space may become a constraint with the hatchbacks. What ever said and done, there is nothing like the convenience of a big boot on those long highway drives.

With that in mind, I recommend to try out the Vento TSI also. It overcomes the rear space and boot constraints of the polo without compromising on drivability and performance in real world scenarios.
As I mentioned earlier, Vento TSI would be too much of a stretch.
And yes, our locality is not that crowded and does not suffer from long traffic jams, so that is a boon.

So, considering the Ford Classic very seriously. It's always better to go for a tried and tested product. We will take a TD of all the cars once my exams finish.

Any inputs would be very helpful as I am utterly confused.

Neel

Last edited by petrolhead_neel : 16th February 2015 at 18:51. Reason: Typo errors
Old 16th February 2015, 18:54   #1040

Originally Posted by petrolhead_neel View Post

So, considering the Ford Classic very seriously. It's always better to go for a tried and tested product. We will take a TD of all the cars once my exams finish.

Any inputs would be very helpful as I am utterly confused.

Neel
Once you do the test drives a lot of the confusion will melt away. The test drives and showroom experiences will automatically shorten your options.

Or your heart will just fall for something and everything else becomes irrelevant.

Word of advice: the gt tsi is such a car. Recommend your dad to TD it last.
Rajeevraj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th February 2015, 19:13   #1041

Dear TBHPians

==============
Anand

PS: Sorry if this post is irrelevant or wrongly worded in any way
Anand ji,

buy a ciaz or honda city.

ciaz
- Maruti reliablility
- Good service backup
- Good diesel mileage
- Great ride quality
- Better interiors
- Loaded with features
but ciaz will look dated in some time as the design isnt that radical and the engine is bit on a common man side i.e. Not known or acceleration.

honda city
- honda badge
- Good design
- Great mileage
- Better quality (littlr better than ciaz)
- Driving pleasure (rev happy engine)
but honda has smaller tyres (dont know why) And that can be dangerous at heavy speeds (tyres might burst). Also the ciaz offers more Goodies if prices are compared.
sukhi29 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th February 2015, 22:17   #1042

Now the cars shortlisted are as follows-

Ford Classic 1.6l Petrol Duratec Titanium
Once the Fiesta classic is on picture the rest cars seem bleak. Go ahead and get the Top end variant in the Classic.

If you want dynamics it is a Ford. Costs of maintenence too seems under control now a days. As you say the number of occupants would be 4 most of the time, life is even more comfortable in it.

The car isn't too long to be a pain in traffic/to find parking spots. Been since long so it is tried 'n tested along with no issue in procuring spares.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2015, 00:02   #1043

Have you also considered going down the used-car market? For example the 1st iteration of the SX4 without variable valve timing, came with different bushes and damper rates, with pretty good manners, communicative and precise steering, good grip and poise and the M16a with its meaty suzuki characteristics.

A Grand Vitara in good condition would be a solid find

Hyundai Tuscons go for really cheap these days

So do Hyundai Elantras

Used Accords you can never go wrong with

Even a CR-V would be nice if you're into the whole soft-roader stuff

These are all fairly fun to drive, spacious, well built, safe and easy to maintain cars that sell for pretty affordable prices in the used market. In the end they're quite the steal
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2015, 12:56   #1044

So, considering the Ford Classic very seriously. It's always better to go for a tried and tested product.....
As much as it is a tried and tested product, as a matter of fact it is also an outdated product, and it doesn't come cheap.
Ford service is nothing to talk about, not Skoda bad but not Jap good either!

Look around, TD cars with your dad, get a feel of machines.
I for one consider interior fit and feel to be very important, you don't want to live in a rough, dark, dull room do you?

Also, IMHO a premium hatch is better than a 'full-of-compromises' sedan, but that's just me.

If you're considering a spacious hatch look at the Elite i20, that's one car which would offend none!
599gto is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2015, 15:53   #1045

Dear TBHPians

However, not one of these trips has gone without one of my little girls always requiring us to pull over to the side of the road because they get car sick in about an hour of travel

My better half seems to think this has to do with the excessive body roll which is associated with the Scorpio and hence wanted to see what other alternatives are best suited to travel with kids without facing too many such car-sickness problems
Totally identify with you, I have two little girls too. My current ride is a 2006 Santro XL, which though not a rocker in terms of ride and handling, but the little ones have never complained of car-sickness.

1. Minimal to no body-roll (basically do not want the car to behave like a boat over bumps or under braking)
2. Seats 5 comfortably
3. Adequate boot capacity
4. Budget of under 10 lakhs
5. Sedan preferred but hatchbacks are also OK I guess if the boot is large enough
6. Maintenance and service should not become a major worry
7. Fuel efficiency (not the most important factor but good-to-have)
Wonder why safety requirements are missing from this list considering you have little kids. I know this is your own lookout, but I would recommend buying a safe car for your kids and always give them a safe ride. I am personally looking for a car with minimum 6 airbags, to protect the front passengers as well as the ones in the rear.

My shortlist so far is as below
1. VW Vento
2. Honda City
3. VW Polo
4. Ford Fiesta Classic
5. Chevy Aveo
6. Maruti Ciaz
7. Fiat Linea
8. Hyundai i20 Elite
9. Tata Manza
I would personally choose Fiat Linea, VW Polo and VW Vento, purely from the point of view of your requirements and safety.

My 2 cents.
harryputtar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2015, 18:01   #1046

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Once the Fiesta classic is on picture the rest cars seem bleak. Go ahead and get the Top end variant in the Classic.

If you want dynamics it is a Ford. Costs of maintenence too seems under control now a days. As you say the number of occupants would be 4 most of the time, life is even more comfortable in it.

The car isn't too long to be a pain in traffic/to find parking spots. Been since long so it is tried 'n tested along with no issue in procuring spares.
Thanks a lot, sir! There are few cars in the market which have the dynamic prowess of this Ford at this price point. And it is fairly comfortable for four people over long journeys.

Originally Posted by IshaanIan View Post
Have you also considered going down the used-car market? For example the 1st iteration of the SX4 without variable valve timing, came with different bushes and damper rates, with pretty good manners, communicative and precise steering, good grip and poise and the M16a with its meaty suzuki characteristics.

A Grand Vitara in good condition would be a solid find

Hyundai Tuscons go for really cheap these days

So do Hyundai Elantras

Used Accords you can never go wrong with

Even a CR-V would be nice if you're into the whole soft-roader stuff

These are all fairly fun to drive, spacious, well built, safe and easy to maintain cars that sell for pretty affordable prices in the used market. In the end they're quite the steal
Folks are averse to used cars....otherwise I had some eyed some really good Civics and Accords.

Originally Posted by 599gto View Post
As much as it is a tried and tested product, as a matter of fact it is also an outdated product, and it doesn't come cheap.
Ford service is nothing to talk about, not Skoda bad but not Jap good either!

Look around, TD cars with your dad, get a feel of machines.
I for one consider interior fit and feel to be very important, you don't want to live in a rough, dark, dull room do you?

Also, IMHO a premium hatch is better than a 'full-of-compromises' sedan, but that's just me.

If you're considering a spacious hatch look at the Elite i20, that's one car which would offend none!
Actually, the Classic isn't full of compromises for us.
Engine:
Ride and Handling:Everyone knows it!
Space:Could have been better, but no deal breaker!
Boot space:Check
Interiors:Might be a bit dull and outdated by current standards, but again by no ways a deal breaker.
Exteriors:Love the understated charming styling.

Actually, my Dad was in the market to buy a new Gypsy, his favorite car, so the Classic is miles ahead for him to consider it outdated.

Boy, buying a car is a tedious procedure, but I am just loving it
Old 17th February 2015, 18:19   #1047

Actually, the Classic isn't full of compromises for us.
Engine:
Ride and Handling:Everyone knows it!
Space:Could have been better, but no deal breaker!
Boot space:Check
Interiors:Might be a bit dull and outdated by current standards, but again by no ways a deal breaker.
Exteriors:Love the understated charming styling.

Actually, my Dad was in the market to buy a new Gypsy, his favorite car, so the Classic is miles ahead for him to consider it outdated.

Boy, buying a car is a tedious procedure, but I am just loving it
Do TD all the cars in your budget, with an open mind before zeroing in on one. Happy shopping!
599gto is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th February 2015, 11:30   #1048

So, again need help from the gurus here.

Neel
I am not a guru, but if I were in your place my choice would be
1> Fiesta Classic
2> Linea T-Jet
3> Polo Tsi
BlackPearl is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 19th February 2015, 08:43   #1049

So, again need help from the gurus here.
In your desire list I see all the requirements of a driver's car but why in your list I dont see the Fiat Linea T-Jet? You have listed the ever to come Punto T-Jet but have not listed the already present Linea T-Jet. I would say a Linea T-Jet hands down based on what your needs are.

- Good space for four
- Driving dynamics, handling, power and made for the highway ... Need I say anything more?

Last edited by ampere : 19th February 2015 at 08:48.
ampere is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2015, 14:54   #1050

The other option is to look at the C1 Semi-Sedans like the Dzire, Xcent, Zest and Amaze.
Yes, it was an Xcent finally.
Had considered Amaze but the xcent beat it with the features for the price.

Xcent may not meet your space requirements. For all these you can probably get even the top end diesel at 10L.
I was indeed impressed with the space it offered compared to Dzire. Its a 407 ltr and we found that it would meet our requirements for a long travel.

Thanks for your inputs.
hamster is offline   (1) Thanks