Old 22nd November 2014, 22:15   #961

Re: Replacement for Palio Multijet in 2015

Looks to me like its going to be Punto vs Polo for you architect if you want a hatch.

The Fiat has got noticeably better steering, somewhat better handling, and marginally better ride comfort than the polo.

The Polo however will leave the Punto for dead when it comes to performance. There are no two ways about that one. It has also got better gearbox, better build quality, better interiors, better driving position. Oh and did I mention the fact that it was much much much faster???

A.S.S and maintenance cost seems to favour the Fiat though.

If you are set on the Punto, save some money and go for the 75 hp version. No point in paying extra for the 90 hp as you are still going to be slower than everything else on the road. At least that was the case with the Grande Punto though. This is my personal opinion.
nakul0888 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2014, 22:33   #962

Originally Posted by architect View Post
So I am starting this thread really early, but I guess I would like people's opinions.

Now, Ladies and Gentlemen, all yours.
A friend of mine was in a very similar situation couple of months back. The car was to do Bombay-Poona runs every weekend, and plenty of commuting within good 'ol Bombay.

The car in question to be replaced was a Palio. Again with niggling issues, but with a clutch this time.

A quick look at the Made-in-Italy Veglia meters- Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Others-veglia.jpg

As can be predicted, the car that took the Palio's place was the Punto 90HP.

Tell you what, the Linea is a car that absolutely reeks of character. The handling and what not. I feel, the 90HP MJD should suffice. Of course, it is efficient, and has SUV like GC.

And Fiat has mostly sorted out their niggling issues.

'Nuff said.

In your case, since you would keep the car for 5+ years, a sedan would be the first preference.

Take the Linea as the first preference. IFF you don't like it ( very slim chance! ), do consider the Ford Fiesta.

And did I mention the joy of finding Made-in-Italy parts here and there. A Fiat is worth it, just for this sometimes, no?

I would avoid the Germans, what with their track record of horror stories. If Fiat's A.S.S is a bit lazy in some cases, then the VW A.S.S. tends to be all the more expensive and horror prone. And what if you're nicely dressed up in the morning, reeking of deodorants et al, put the keys into the ignition, and lo! What do we see?

The infamous Check-Engine light. The nightmares for a VW/Skoda owner would have just begun.

Pardon me if this post simply reeks of fanboyism, but that's the way things are.

Last edited by FINTAIL : 22nd November 2014 at 22:43.
FINTAIL is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2014, 22:36   #963

I feel that the EcoSport will the perfect upgrade for you, it has all the safety kit, looks, performance, efficiency etc.
Also, buying another hatch won't give you the feeling of an upgrade especially when you are spending close to 10 lakhs.
Among the hatches I, my vote goes for Polo. Punto certainly has better dynamics but I feel Polo is overall a better as well as a complete package especially now that it comes with the punchy 1.5L motor.
Mr.mitsuvolk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2014, 23:02   #964

Unless you are going for Polo GT or Duster, everything else is 90bhp - be it Punto/Linea/Ecosport/Fiesta/i20/Polo.

2. Power: I don't want to drive another car with the 75 HP multijet again for another couple of lakh kilometers and wait for the turbo to spool till eternity. At most, I will settle for the 90 HP multijet. I don't think I want anything lesser.
Even the 90HP MJD is not too different. In fact, the 75 BHP Swift might still outperform a 90HP Punto due to the higher weight of Fiat and the marginal difference of power in the usable band with the 90bhp tune. I didn't feel too much difference with the 90HP Punto.

5. Space: I don't need a big , hulking vehicle with the interior space of the Innova, but I would like better rear seats and high seating as parents and in-laws are old with knee and back problems. Easy ingress / egress are important.
Duster has a comfy rear seat, so would Linea and Fiesta I think.

6. Safety: ABS + 2 Airbags is a minimum requirement.
Middle variant of Fiesta might also be an option that provides 2 airbags + ABS. You might get huge discounts too unlike the best seller Ecosport. Considering the low numbers of Fiesta, it is more likely to be of an international spec in terms of quality when compared to the made in bulk for India Ecosport.
zenren is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2014, 23:42   #965

I think that Linea will prove to be the best option for all your requirements from the current lot of vehicles available in the market.

But as you are more than six months away from your big purchase, I think there will be many new interesting launches and may be you will find a more suitable option when you finally have to take a concrete decision.

Last edited by Accius : 22nd November 2014 at 23:43.
Accius is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2014, 23:51   #966

Architect - I was an owner of a Palio 1.2 , and then a Palio Stile 1.6; both petrol. When I was in the market for a replacement for my 1.6, I ended up with the Nissan Sunny XV petrol. The good thing about it is since 2 years, not a single niggle. It is very easy to drive in the city, and has very good handling (surprising for it's size) on the highway. You may want to check it out. I did look at the Duster before settling for the Sunny, because for that amount of money, the interiors of the Duster are nothing to write home about.
Finally, the Sunny is a car which will not get good marks on the exteriors. It,however, grows on you. Finally, you will appreciate the Japanese engineering, and niggle free ownership. Good luck with your search.

Last edited by Seeler_Rebeiro : 22nd November 2014 at 23:53.
Seeler_Rebeiro is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2014, 23:56   #967

I would recommend the Ford Fiesta Classic with the diesel engine. Super smooth engine and the handling is legendary. You have lived with Fiat's A.S.S. Ford's is similar except that they come across as being more money minded.
khoj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2014, 00:15   #968

Originally Posted by zenren View Post
Unless you are going for Polo GT or Duster, everything else is 90bhp - be it Punto/Linea/Ecosport/Fiesta/i20/Polo.
Middle variant of Fiesta might also be an option that provides 2 airbags + ABS.
I really like the Fiesta but I already drive (and suffer) from owning a car which sold so little that parts are sometimes a problem and re-sale value on-existent. Don't want to make the same mistake again. At least the Linea is visible on the roads, but the Fiesta is hardly seen.

Originally Posted by Mr.mitsuvolk View Post
I feel that the EcoSport will the perfect upgrade for you, it has all the safety kit, looks, performance, efficiency etc.
Yes, I like the Ecosport Titanium option pack and at Rs 11.xx OTR Ghaziabad, it will be the choice if my budget can take it. Ford ASS is the only worry.

Originally Posted by Mr.mitsuvolk View Post
Among the hatches I, my vote goes for Polo. Punto certainly has better dynamics but I feel Polo is overall a better as well as a complete package especially now that it comes with the punchy 1.5L motor.
Originally Posted by nakul0888 View Post
The Polo however will leave the Punto for dead when it comes to performance. There are no two ways about that one. It has also got better gearbox, better build quality, better interiors, better driving position. Oh and did I mention the fact that it was much much much faster???
I like the new Polo (though I might just go for the GT TDI, because that car moves, and how! When we drove it back to back with BMW 118 for www.cartoq.com, everybody agreed that the GT TDI Polo was more fun than the 118). But for the rear seat space and the onwership cost/experience of a VW.

Originally Posted by FINTAIL View Post
Tell you what, the Linea is a car that absolutely reeks of character. The handling and what not. I feel, the 90HP MJD should suffice. Of course, it is efficient, and has SUV like GC.
Originally Posted by Accius View Post
I think that Linea will prove to be the best option for all your requirements from the current lot of vehicles available in the market.
I have driven the Linea quite a bit for shooting the comparo of the Linea with the Honda City diesel for www.cartoq.com and despite the turbo lag and lesser power, the Linea felt like an SUV over the somewhat unrefined feel of the City iDTEC. Of course, while photographing, the two, my camera fell in love with the Linea as well, but that's a different matter. I like the car, despite its lack of power. My sources in Fiat tell me the 1.6 MJD is around the corner but nothing concrete is known.

I have further spent half a day and about 60 km with the Linea TJet (that's how I am pictured on the sales brochures of the Tjet!).

I would avoid the Germans, what with their track record of horror stories. If Fiat's A.S.S is a bit lazy in some cases, then the VW A.S.S. tends to be all the more expensive and horror prone. And what if you're nicely dressed up in the morning, reeking of deodorants et al, put the keys into the ignition, and lo! What do we see?
A.S.S and maintenance cost seems to favour the Fiat though.
I have always felt Fiat ASS can be incompetent and irritating but VW stories make me feel they can be cheats at times.

Looks to me like its going to be Punto vs Polo for you architect if you want a hatch.
The Fiat has got noticeably better steering, somewhat better handling, and marginally better ride comfort than the polo.
As can be predicted, the car that took the Palio's place was the Punto 90HP.
The truth is that I am not worried about the Linea / Punto / Avventura choice. Reason? If nothing else works out, I am going to drive into Kashyap Fiat one day for a service or something and then suddenly tell the GM Service, Mr O. P. Sharma to keep my current car and give me a new one from the showroom. It can be as simple, literally, if I carry my chequebook and papers.

The question is whether I find the others worth the money.

And yes, regardless of what common wisdom says, I need that extra 15 HP on the highway so I will still take the 90 HP Punto. Maybe I am stubborn.

Originally Posted by Seeler_Rebeiro View Post
I ended up with the Nissan Sunny XV petrol.
I test drove the Sunny diesel and the Renault Scala Petrol CVT (for www.cartoq.com road tests, again!) and I didn't like either car. I am sorry. One particularly strange thing was that neither car seemed to have nice brakes. Maybe I got bad samples.

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
I would recommend the Ford Fiesta Classic with the diesel engine. Super smooth engine and the handling is legendary. You have lived with Fiat's A.S.S. Ford's is similar except that they come across as being more money minded.
And khoj Bhai, I am not really wanting another car about to be phased out soon (Palio was almost dead when I bought it in 2008) and also with less / equivalent power. I like the Classic, though.

Most importantly, I am pleasantly surprised to find out that not many are enthusiastic about pushing me towards the Duster / XUV500 / Scorpio space. It's a good sign, for it shows that people would rather recommend a 'safe' top variant of a cheaper car than suggest upgrading to a bare-bones higher priced vehicle.

Last edited by moralfibre : 24th November 2014 at 10:19. Reason: Back to back posts.
architect is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2014, 00:21   #969

I test drove the Sunny diesel and the Renault Scala Petrol CVT (for www.cartoq.com road tests, again!) and I didn't like either car. I am sorry. One particularly strange thing was that neither car seemed to have nice brakes. Maybe I got bad samples.
To quote Moderator bblost's opinion on the Sunny-

"So long, that it made me feel like a chauffer."

And the 2014 ones look perfect for the weird & wacky thread.

That said, so many cars are present in the market, it does get a bit confusing.

Simple- The Linea is giving us a too good mileage, too good mileage, and of course, a manageable ASC. Perfect, no?
FINTAIL is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2014, 00:27   #970

Simple- The Linea is giving us a too good mileage, too good mileage, and of course, a manageable ASC. Perfect, no?
Amongst the proper sedans and hatches below Rs 10 lakhs, Linea and Punto are strong contenders, even if the market loves only Swifts and i20s. The problem for me is to find other vehicles that are better than the Fiat experience or ones which justify paying more for them (provided I can pay that extra amount). Which is why the Duster AWD, the XUV500 and the Scorpio were mentioned. They are more expensive but I am still considering them because they do meet my requirements, particularly the Duster AWD. But its 4 lakhs over budget, way too much for a guy who has always spent too much on his cars!
Old 23rd November 2014, 00:43   #971

The best car for your needs will be the Honda Jazz which will be launched in India by the second half of 2015. I think it fits your requirement to the T. Amongst present cars Ecosport is the best bet and harpreet ford (dishad garden) is decent and can be used by you. PM me for the SA's number if you need it.
ToyotaFan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2014, 04:05   #972

In addition to the Punto, I would highly recommend the Fiesta.
For most part, Ford dealers are quite good, and the car is simply superb to drive! A perfect change from the multi-jet! Ride and handling is a notch above the Linea, as are ergonomics. Build quality is as good as well.
As for spare parts, given that the Ecosport shares the same engine, there should not be much of an issue. If not, Ford dealers are quite helpful. Do some research on the dealer, and if he is a good guy, give the car a shot!

I personally found the fiesta significantly better to drive than the ecosport!
Old 23rd November 2014, 07:46   #973

Amongst the proper sedans and hatches below Rs 10 lakhs, Linea and Punto are strong contenders, even if the market loves only Swifts and i20s. The problem for me is to find other vehicles that are better than the Fiat experience or ones which justify paying more for them (provided I can pay that extra amount).
The new YRA hatch from Maruti might be another 90PS MJD to look at, in case it is almost ready to be launched by then. Based on the images so far, it seems reasonably spacious.
Old 23rd November 2014, 08:37   #974

1. Economical: Palio has given me 17 kmpl average all combined. New car should exceed that in 75% bumper to bumper conditions.
You're being a bit optimistic considering Swift in my 10km runs gives me 13-14 kmpl

That aside, why not consider the wave of the new vehicles that may have the AMT? (basically anyone else besides a Tata) You're a busy self-employed professional on a limited budget- you may not want a driver.

IMHO our parents use our cars maybe once in a fortnight, but the ease of a AMT is a daily pleasure. Think about it.

As long as its not downright uncomfortable, an AMT equipped car should make your life more peaceful on a daily basis. Delhi isnt improving - we're all getting older, so think about this aspect as well.
Old 23rd November 2014, 10:09   #975

I do not think you would like anything from the Maruti stable after driving Palio for so long. I mean yes the Swift will accelerate nice and hard but the feeling from behind the wheel is so appalingly tinny that it will put you off. Personally I would recommend the new Avventura(saw one yesterday and boy it has got presence), Ecosport or the new Fiesta. Ford dealers aren't that bad and their cars for most part are fairly trouble free.

Last edited by extreme_torque : 23rd November 2014 at 10:11.