View Poll Results: Who will win the EURO 2008 ?
Germany 26 63.41%
Russia 4 9.76%
Spain 11 26.83%
Voters: 41. You may not vote on this poll

Old 29th June 2008, 21:26   #196

Is there any website/sopcast channel which is showing the final online with English commentary?

I have been watching some euro matches with chinese or spanish commentary but its not much fun
Old 29th June 2008, 22:34   #197

Originally Posted by takumi View Post
I don't think that Spain has a chance in the euro 2008 because it has not been in the picture for the last 40 years.
Once the teams are out on the field, the past is history. Even if you were to dwell on it, the Euro championships have had unlikely winners in the past. Denmark, Greece to name a few..

Originally Posted by takumi View Post
Whereas Germany has Lukas Podolski,Michael Ballack,Bastian Schweinsteiger (who has scored in his last two matches) and Lens Lehman.
Jens Lehman could prove to be the weak link in an otherwise solid German team. His form has not been great of late. He spent most of last season on the bench for Arsenal. But I could be wrong. He might turn out to be the hero. You NEVER know!

My money stays in my pocket. May the best team win!
Old 30th June 2008, 02:12   #198

Spain - 2008 Euro champions

Spain 1 - Germany 0

Torres scored 33"
Old 30th June 2008, 02:31   #199

Spain deserved to win. The Germans played like they had not slept in a few days and decided to do it on the field.
Old 30th June 2008, 02:32   #200

Nice one by Spain. The Germans tried what they could in the second half but it was not to be . Well done Spaniards.
Old 30th June 2008, 02:33   #201

Ole, ole! Viva Espana! Germans were more intent on cribbing rather than playing the game. Not a classic, but the team which wanted to play did manage to win. Spain were by far the best team in the tournament. Their slick passing and quick movement was a sight to behold.
Old 30th June 2008, 02:57   #202
F50

What a waste of a match!! Germans were doing nothing. Ballack missing his passes and loosing the ball to Spaniards meant THE END for Germany, atleast for me. 2nd Half they tried but still no result. I was just praying for Germany would score in the 80s as they did again Turkey.
And the idiotic ESPN, I could hear Hindi as well as English commentary from the TV. Didnt knew what to hear.
"Yeh Spain ne chingaari lagai hai, goal lagane mein zyaada waqt nahi lagega"
"Bahut hi khub taal-mel Spain ke khiladiyo ka"
"Germany ki lagataar koshish nakaam"
"Baaallaaaakh"
All the above rubbish, nonsense and Germany lost
Old 30th June 2008, 10:00   #203

Originally Posted by F50 View Post
All the above rubbish, nonsense and Germany lost
You wouldn't be complaining about the goal though!!! A true striker's goal No drama, no cries, sheer grit and determination
Old 30th June 2008, 10:10   #204

Well done Spain. A title well deserved - they had outplayed the Germans.

Ole O Aee Ole O Ola
Old 30th June 2008, 12:36   #205

An emphatic win by Spain! Kudos to their young guns & their veteran coach!

They played the best style of football & played consistently too!
Old 30th June 2008, 14:22   #206

Bravo Spain ! My vote was for Spain, and in this tournament, they were head and shoulders above the rest. They had immense skill, tactics, hard work (roughed it out), and mental determination. And they played as a team. As a bonus, they beat Italy

Old 30th June 2008, 19:39   #207

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Spain deserved to win. The Germans played like they had not slept in a few days and decided to do it on the field.
Arrey, at least you could have put it in some nicer words like Gautam did - considering your special half-German position lol.

Originally Posted by nkapoor777 View Post
Spain were by far the best team in the tournament. Their slick passing and quick movement was a sight to behold.
I must agree - no matter how much I wanted my team to win, the Spanish deserved it, they did great. We played... hmmmm... lousy.

Pling pling.
Old 30th June 2008, 20:21   #208

Any videos taken after the loss, The One ? Just want to check the difference !
Old 30th June 2008, 22:09   #209

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Any videos taken after the loss, The One ? Just want to check the difference !
LOL, there was NO need to take any videos. When I left my family's house to go back home the streets were dead! Nothing could be heard.

But I read in the paper today that there was a huge party with people celebrating when our team arrived back in Germany. After all, we were SECOND haha.
Old 30th June 2008, 23:41   #210

Spaniards simply outclassed a team of sleepers as rightly described by Sam. I looked at Ballack, Lahm, Schweinsteiger and they were all looking at each other. And where the heck was David Odonkor. One of the fastest midfielders, I have seen so far and he was nowhere in the player. German selectors must be smoking pots to leave out a player like him. Kuranyi was a complete waste. Germany did miss Sebastian Deiseler & Oliver Neuville.

In short, an ill-prepared squad and no vision led to their downfall whereas Spanish Team was absolutely focussed & deserved winners. Congratulations Spain!