Old 12th December 2007, 03:27   #136

Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Possibly the rugged look which gives a feeling of safety while the driver take his position!!! Safari too seems to wear such look, but not driven so rash as compared to this Scorpio... Right?
People automatically make way for the safari. Once i was driving down a weekday peak time near lokhandwalla circle, and wanted to change lanes and flashed my left indicator, to my surprise the whole lane of traffic in the left lane behind me, stopped and waited for me to complete my turn!!!!!!!!
Old 12th December 2007, 09:20   #137

Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
A contrary point of view from me. A scorpio cab driver once confessed to me that he was scared of even autos on the road, since the scorpio body work (not covered by cladding) was particularly delicate and costed quite a lot to dent and paint, so it was he who was more scared of his 'big' car
I guess that poor Scropio driver was driving the car of one of a sober family and not belonging to any Real estate thugs / travel agents / under-world Goondas / Political outfits...!!!
Old 12th December 2007, 11:19   #138

Originally Posted by kuttapan View Post
Tadu, if you come to the whitefield side, look out for a blue Bullet, I don't take kindly to guys pushing me off..
The Battle of the Kuttans - Kuttappan v/s Tadukuttan!
Old 12th December 2007, 11:56   #139

driving down to office in my Wagon R

from the Banjara Hills Rd 12 junction till Jubilee Hills Rd 45.
constantly tailgated by a black scorpio, being driven by a very well dressed middleaged guy.
The driver was wearing a Tie and looked like a well educated person.
He simply did not realise that all his actions were highly intimidating to other users of the road.
or maybe he did and did not care.

Indimidation works on only those who let themselves be imtimidated.

Then when he got stuck in a traffic snarl, he did not observe forming, I shook him off easy.

bring it on, bullies, grace wins over size anyday.
Old 17th December 2007, 09:38   #140

As many people have already commented, I Scorpio is rashly driven either by the cab people or the uneducated people who became millionaires overnight.... This is not the case with scorpio only but all the other yeloow board people including INDICABS................
Old 17th December 2007, 23:11   #141

Vehicles driven very rashly in Bangalore:
1) Scorpios
2)Maruti Omnis (really don't understand how people get confidence to drive one so fast).
3)Innovas
4)Indicabs
5)Activa, KH
Old 20th January 2008, 10:37   #142
rippergeo

3 cheers for rash scorpios!!!

on the highways, I like scorpios travelling with me while I'm in the swift. they travel at around the same speed that i do- ie a 100kmph and they accelerate well and they brake rather poorly (easier to tailgate ).

they do drive rashly and i like that, I let them pass and then follow them closely. rather like having your own thug/goonda as an escort/ bodyguard.

one of these days, they are going to realise that they are being used as a battering ram,where they do all the hardwork and i just hang back and use the gaps they make for me. what will i do then?

Old 20th January 2008, 12:12   #143

Originally Posted by rippergeo View Post
on the highways, I like scorpios travelling with me while I'm in the swift. they travel at around the same speed that i do- ie a 100kmph and they accelerate well and they brake rather poorly (easier to tailgate ).

they do drive rashly and i like that, I let them pass and then follow them closely. rather like having your own thug/goonda as an escort/ bodyguard.

one of these days, they are going to realise that they are being used as a battering ram,where they do all the hardwork and i just hang back and use the gaps they make for me. what will i do then?
Hmm good one ripper and am sure with your Peted swift , it will be a cat and mouse chase then. But yea ! even on the ring roads here in Bangalore, i see that these scorpios are driven very rashly and sorry to say, many people driving them dont even maintain a safe braking distance and that sucks ..they drive as if they own the track and try to intimidate and i suppose is it the drivers or the machines that make the drivers behave like that
Old 20th January 2008, 14:48   #144
rks

Originally Posted by rippergeo View Post

Following any vehicle closely on our highways is not a good idea, especially if the vehicle is as big as a Scorpio and rashly driven. Your view of the road is obstructed; the guy may hit speed-breakers, hit potholes or straddle them, swerve suddenly to avoid some small obstacle or slow-moving vehicle, etc. And he will also have to brake much more than a small car needs to, which is both dangerous and a nuisance for the small car following closely. Plus remember that the Scorpio guy is probably looking constantly at the rear-view mirror and trying to shake you off, which would make him take even more risks than normal.

The guys who drive escort vehicles in a fast-moving convoy are highly skilled and trained, and even then accidents happen.

My recommendation is to either overtake the Scorpio quickly and painlessly and put a few vehicles in between (my preference) or else let him go.

Last edited by rks : 20th January 2008 at 14:50.
Old 20th January 2008, 21:57   #145
rippergeo

more cheers for rash scorpios

Originally Posted by rks View Post
Following any vehicle closely on our highways is not a good idea, especially if the vehicle is as big as a Scorpio and rashly driven. Your view of the road is obstructed; the guy may hit speed-breakers, hit potholes or straddle them, swerve suddenly to avoid some small obstacle or slow-moving vehicle, etc. And he will also have to brake much more than a small car needs to, which is both dangerous and a nuisance for the small car following closely. Plus remember that the Scorpio guy is probably looking constantly at the rear-view mirror and trying to shake you off, which would make him take even more risks than normal.

The guys who drive escort vehicles in a fast-moving convoy are highly skilled and trained, and even then accidents happen.

My recommendation is to either overtake the Scorpio quickly and painlessly and put a few vehicles in between (my preference) or else let him go.
well, i'm never in his slipstream, i usually travel a good distance behind, and slightly to his right. also his brakes are'nt as good as mine, so I should get plenty of warning. and, I do make sure there is visibilty in front before i embark on this adventure.

your recommendation is what i do once i get the chance, but when there is a group of slow moving vehicles blocking your path,playing a round robin overtake-each-other league, there is nothing like a good, rash scorpio to disrupt the formation and let you through.

about him looking in the RVMs and taking greater risks, thats a little psychologic game I play,if he wants to take risks and kill himself for his ego, thats his problem,if he has some sense he will let the faster car by without a fight.

I dont honk, flash lights or make any indication that I want to overtake him, I just hang back and watch all the fun , i dont even tailgate. sooner or later, the strain staying ahead of a naturally faster car will start to annoy him and he will let me pass.it might take a few kilometers but they all succumb, eventually. meanwhile, i have had a nice relaxing ride through highway traffic as he's ploughing a way through it for me.

Note- I never follow a car that i know has better braking than me.

Old 30th January 2008, 18:05   #146

Another one......

So far, I had desisted posting any experience on this thread lest it be perceived as a "biased" post from a Safari owner. But, after this morning's incident, I thought I should pen a few paragraphs (pardon the long post).

Date & time: 30th January 2008, 7.20 am
Incident: Proceeding towards delhi, after the Km24 Toll Plaza, just after the Rajokri flyover, there is this white Scorpio (DL4C NB ----) which is hogging half of the centre & half of the extreme left lane - the minute one tried to go past, he unobtrusively moves to the left to block me.

Don't know what his problem is, but after a couple of attempts, I go past & indicate (very politely) with my hand that he should try & stick to one lane & not block both.

Lol - the minute I go ahead, his ego reared up & the next thing I know, he zooms past dangerously from the left & sharply cuts in right, ahead of a few vehicles in front. So I keep my course (left lane) & my speed. I normally hold a steady 120 on this stretch at that hour of the day but seeing that this dude was going to indulge in some dirty & dangerous driving, I kept a close lookout & a slightly lower speed.

Despite this, I passed him because he was losing time in dangerously lurching from lane to lane. Now, guess what? The minute he sees me ahead, he just takes off again zipping from right to extreme left, almost rear-ended a Honda CRV who didn't see him sneaking in, braked hard, zipped back to the right & then went half a km ahead.

All this time, yours truly was holding a steady & straight course. Now, we were approaching the newly inaugurated RTR Marg flyover so he slows down in the left lane & lets me go past again. I knew what he was aiming to do - get my goat - but I was determined not to lose my cool especially since my daughter was in the car.

Now this flyover curves right & then at a point curves left towards Dhaula Kuan with the straight going to Outer Ring Road and at this intersection point, the road narrows to a three lane. I could see our man speeding up again as we approached the narrow section - I was in the middle lane - then he screamed by in the right hand lane; once again, I held my speed & let him through (I was holding around 80-90 on the curve so he must have taken it in excess of 110). At the red light at the end of the expressway, where we turn right to Dhaula Kuan, we were standing side by side (I was on his left). When it turned green, he cut right, cut left, almost hit a couple of cars & a two-wheeler then zoomed off after dangerously overtaking a truck from the extreme left with half his wheels off the road.

That was the last I saw of him because he jumped the next couple of red lights & had vanised by the time I reached the DK clover leaf to go towards Chanakyapuri.

Now, this was no call center cab, nor was it a driver. There was a lady sitting in the front passenger seat who looked like she was in her mid to late thirties so I suppose the guy driving (who was quite wrapped up so I couldn't see his features very clearly) must have been her hubby or whatever but obviously a person who has had the benefit of a college education. And he was driving like a B.L.O.O.D.Y. MANIAC!! I mean, can you imagine jinxing from one side to the other on an expressway with your speed in excess of 100-120 kmph & that too on a Scorpio? Every second that he was doing that, I was bracing myself to see it go out of control & broadside a vehicle or topple over. Luck was riding with the moron so he survived (as did all who were on his path).

So I reached my Office in the morning & was introspecting for a good half an hour - what's with these nuts? Anyone? What do they try to prove? Is it inert repression, is it a monster ego or what?

Last edited by suman : 30th January 2008 at 18:08.
Old 30th January 2008, 18:42   #147

It is all the more disgusting when the educated lot indulge in such rash driving!
They feel by owning a SUV they own the Road!

Suman, maybe you could have noted his Reg No and called-up the Traffic Police (Ph: 103 in most cities), if by chance they respond & there was any patrol on the expressway, this moron could have been nabbed.
Old 30th January 2008, 18:45   #148

Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
Suman, maybe you could have noted his Reg No and called-up the Traffic Police (Ph: 103 in most cities), if by chance they respond & there was any patrol on the expressway, this moron could have nabbed.
The PCR Gypsies haven't yet started patrolling the expressway because I think its under the jurisdiction of the NHAI.
Old 30th January 2008, 20:38   #149

A few morons like these and they all give a bad name to most of the Scorpio owners including me. I also own a safari but while driving in the city have never felt the need to bully others or make my prescence felt. I do get irritated when on an expressway or any expressway I find slow moving vehicles on the right side of lane and don't move to the left at all.

And am saddened all the more that this happened with Suman, a dear friend and neighbour. Now, he will always eye me with suspicion when he sees in me in my Scorpio..

Last edited by gd1418 : 30th January 2008 at 20:41.
Old 30th January 2008, 20:53   #150

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
And am saddened all the more that this happened with Suman, a dear friend and neighbour. Now, he will always eye me with suspicion when he sees in me in my Scorpio..
Like he doesn't suspect you already!! Especially since you always fail to spot him!!