|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 464,276 views |
![]() | #286 | |||
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Apr 2011 Location: 3rdRockFmTheSun
| Re: Choosing an SUV up to 22L | Seltos, Harrier / Safari, Hector Plus, Compass, XUV700, Kicks, Scorp Quote:
-------- Mate, just adding some thoughts to the approaches ahead: Unless you have much benefit from having a 2 car garage (such as an extra car for family visitors, a standby car for emergencies etc), there is a case for having one good car:
My feeling and impression is that you might be better served by a single, good, non-4x4 unibody vehicle, than distributing the money on two or a Scorpio-N, as this would improve your daily ride - something I give value to. Suggestions on which specific vehicle would make sense once you are more clear of the direction, and you have checked the Scorpio-N TD report on this thread - link here ~~~~~~~~ Quote:
Last edited by Poitive : 11th September 2022 at 02:10. Reason: Refinement. | |||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 9 BHPians Thank Poitive for this useful post: | agm, BleueNinja, dr_TJ, GrammarNazi, JKBKS, Narendranath, RijuC, shancz, WorkingGuru |
|
![]() | #287 | |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2020 Location: Gurgaon
| Re: Choosing an SUV up to 22L | Seltos, Harrier / Safari, Hector Plus, Compass, XUV700, Kicks, Scorp Quote:
Apart from the convenience part of AMT in IGNIS, I like my Swift crawling up the slopes. Also, the steering is heavier than the new generation cars, hence I feel better at the extreme turns. For bad roads, low sitting in the Swift is inconvenient. For good tarmac in hills, this sitting position feels superb, exciting and sometimes thrilling- when the road surface edge is above your eye level, just reach the edge and you find a surreal 3D view of the mountains! Regarding EPS and HPS, I didn't find any issue in Harrier during the brief TD. I don't like the super light steering of new cars, biggest issue in Scorpio N. And you have explained it in details what is the importance of various physical feedbacks. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks RijuC for this useful post: | shancz |
![]() | #288 | |||||
Scorpio N, RijuC, and a bit on safety. The below isn't only for RijuC, but also a more general sharing of thoughts on the subject.
[The disclaimer in the last quoted post, of course, still applies, as it would to all my posts.] ~~~~~~~~ Quote:
I would urge you to go through the links mentioned earlier before further details. I have avoided short answers which might lead to improper understanding and it takes a lot of time. The HPS vs EPS post also touches upon other things, as does the Scorpio N report, and some points in the Guide to Effective TD too. ~~~~~ OT Rant: The other thing also is how I have written posts with much details for some, sometimes asked other's to reply, and they have quite disappeared without even so much as an acknowledgement of the post (not talking about you, @RijuC), and are seen posting in other threads, and that leaves a poor taste. Our forum is more than a buyer's market-place with a FAQ/Q&A - it is a community, and let us try and keep it that way. Cheers, and thanks for bearing the rant. Last edited by Poitive : 12th September 2022 at 18:04. Reason: Refinement | |||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 6 BHPians Thank Poitive for this useful post: | baarish84, BleueNinja, JKBKS, RijuC, shancz, tp_dominator |
![]() | #289 | ||
BHPian Join Date: Jun 2021 Location: Pune, Indore
I also felt that it doesn't match the character? Or scorpioN. It reminded me of Hyundai's of old. A easy manuverable car need not have light steering but a precise one. [ I mean no offense to prospective buyers or people who are set to receive their SUV] Quote:
![]() Personally, i was apprehensive about HPS (you would know Poitive ![]() | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank BleueNinja for this useful post: | Poitive, shancz |
![]() | #290 |
| Re: Choosing an SUV up to 22L | Seltos, Harrier / Safari, Hector Plus, Compass, XUV700, Kicks, Scorp
Only Diesel manual in Z2 and Z4 variants get the HPS, petrol and AT variants get the EPS. During the brief TD of Harrier, I didn't face any problem due to the HPS. In fact I didn't understand it is HPS. Last edited by RijuC : 21st September 2022 at 22:36. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank RijuC for this useful post: | damodar, Poitive |
![]() | #291 | ||
To be honest i never felt so and i wouldn't question anyone's judgement on that as well because what car we currently drive or what experiences we have had with our previous vehicle shapes our preferences and feedback we get from our potential next vehicle. Ofcourse condition of Test drive vehicle matters as well ![]() | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks BleueNinja for this useful post: | RijuC |
![]() | #292 |
| Re: Choosing an SUV up to 22L | Seltos, Harrier / Safari, Hector Plus, Compass, XUV700, Kicks, Scorp One technical query: A large size turbocharged Petrol engine vs. Diesel engine- which one would be better (considering BS6 regime) at an altitude beyond El. + 3500 mtrs above MSL, i.e., the tree line where air pressure is low and oxygen level is insufficient to support plant growth? Or this aspect does not matter and performance is dependent entirely on engine output parameters, tuning and performance characteristics? |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #293 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: Choosing an SUV up to 22L | Seltos, Harrier / Safari, Hector Plus, Compass, XUV700, Kicks, Scorp Quote:
If you still need a turbo car, a turbo diesel will still be better as it has more low end torque and can take the inclines better. Last edited by Behemoth : 22nd September 2022 at 21:34. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank Behemoth for this useful post: | aadiaksh, BleueNinja, RijuC, shankar.balan |
![]() | #294 | |||||
What has been good about them is that they are generally reliable and Hyundai has a widespread network, making it a practical choice as they too have several dealers in major cities. - [OT: I so much prefer the older Mahindra Logo. It had a gentler appearance. This one is like it is trying too hard to stand out, whereas the older one was more graceful. If I happen to end up with a Mahindra, I think I will try to get the old logo installed.] Quote:
A lot of what we read are opinions based on other's views and experiences. Once a view has gained sufficient traction, the ones who favour it tend to be more vocal about it (as there will be little contradiction from others), and ones who differ tend to avoid it ("needless" hassle). This further propagated popular views. This also goes for aspects about cars and their design - the steering (HPS vs EPS) being one such example. - 20 Lakhs which seemed like a healthy sum to get a good car suddenly now seems barely adequate! All in a year. - Hector: It wasn't just the dealer, but also what I saw of the company which really put me off. Another story for another day. ~~~~~~~~ Quote:
On the precision matter, for a vehicle of it's size, bulk, and high CoG, I did not have any complaints with the Scorpio N. In fact, IIRC it was decently good. I expect the suspension design played a bigger role here, with the high roll centre making the transfer of weight from one side to the other a bit easier, I suppose. The suspension design also allowed it to be quite agile, and a bit more sedan/hatch-like than what it's size might suggest. My issue was with the lack of feedback and it being way too light, and totally out of character with the rest of the vehicle, and not conducive for proper control of such a vehicle. Quote:
- I sure do! ![]() So happy that you're enjoying your new vehicle, and wishes for you to continue to do so. It has so much to offer, this one. ~~~~~~~~ High Altitude - Turbo Diesel vs Turbo Petrol vs Naturally Aspirated Engines Quote:
Not sure exactly which parameter you are looking at for being better (power, FE, reliability, drivability etc). Sharing some points generally (as I might not be able to write a long answer very soon). A lot of the following will be with lesser certainty than usual, as a lot of it is based on only a general/conceptual understanding on my part, and based on casual readings over time; but yes, some experience too: 1. Most importantly: a large Turbo Diesel would mean a DPF, and there are reports of them having issues at high altitudes. I have heard of XUV700 and Alturas from the Mahindra stable have issues, but can't say how reliable the reports are (typical online stuff, not from friends). I don't think this would be a Mahindra-specific issue. This could also well be due to the driver not taking adequate precautions. With Covid interrupting, the DPF based BS6 vehicles appear to have had lesser testing than what they may otherwise have had. It is new technology, so some things might still need to be fine-tuned for such conditions. I too have this concern, but am prepared to take due precautions before any such trip. 2. As we to go higher altitudes, the air is less dense, so the mixture in the combustion chamber has lesser oxygen to burn, leading to a richer mix and poor combustion - lower FE and lesser power. Diesels are said to get affected a bit lesser than petrols. 3. A naturally aspirated engine, as a broad rule of thumb, loses about 3% of power for very 1000 ft of height gain over sea level. So calculate the power available accordingly. At 10,000 ft, one loses 30%. 4. A turbo engine, by some accounts loses about 1% per 1000 ft height gain. This is highly subjective and with many conditions in the case of Turbos. Why do turbocharged vehicles lose lesser? The air loss they have is significantly compensated by the turbo running at a higher level. Turbochargers, after all, do push in air into the combustion chamber to provide the extra torque and power, so this is quite a part of their design. Would the compensation because of turbo be the same regardless of elevation? No, since the Turbo has to work extra to compensate, it would differ based on how much extra load the turbo system can handle (there are other factors too). To prevent the system from overburden and consequent failure, the ECU could have limiters for the turbocharger in place; limiters which would work based on various sensors feeding it info. Remember, air pressure is only one parameter. The ambient temperature too has a role to play (cold air is denser than warm air), as do other factors like load, incline etc. So, for lesser heights, depending on the design of the system, a turbo-charged vehicle might have very little loss as the turbo compensates, and after a certain height, ambient temperature, design, and the turbo nearing the limit, the losses in power (and FE) would increase. This is why it is more difficult to generalize the loss in case of turbo vehicles. 5. Further, what will matter is how powerful the vehicle is. If it has lesser power to start with, the reduction would make things tedious and strain the system more, increasing the chance of failure. It would also be more tedious to drive. 6. Where NA engines would have the advantage would be that their torque and power curves are relatively smoother as compared to Turbos, thereby not having the lag and turbo-boost. Turbolag and boost can be bothersome for many people who are not adept at handling it, especially with lower power at disposal and while managing steep inclines. (Turbolag: changing gear shifting patterns - also by using a suitable mode in AT - and some change in throttle input can manage it after getting used to it) 7. Further if they (NA) have sufficient power, they will be easier to drive. Also, being simpler in design, with lesser parts, fewer sensors etc, they have lesser points failure; also as they would need lesser management of factors than the relatively complex management of turbos in such a situation. 8. To see how powerful a vehicle it to take in the loss in power due to elevation can be somewhat tricky. the figures we see are peak figures and are often not the range one usually drives in. More true for NA petrol engines, as the peak power would typically be at a very high RPM. Turbo peak figures too could be misleading as the power delivery is more peaky, and suffers relative to peak power at lower RPMs. Sufficient torque/ton at lower RPMs would be a good factor to consider. All the above said, barring the DPF issue, for occasional use, most vehicles would be able to handle the above heights, despite lower power with due breaks and sensible driving. One might need to be in a lower gear, which would cost fuel and might mean heating up of the engine and other parts thereby needing more frequent breaks. Last edited by Poitive : 23rd September 2022 at 04:58. Reason: Refinement. | |||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank Poitive for this useful post: | BleueNinja, RijuC, shancz |
![]() | #295 | |||
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Oct 2020 Location: Pune
But if you haven't, do check out some insights on the platform/structure in the following threads :
2. Agree and their cars also have a very uplifting feel to them(especially the Asta trims) along with the features on offer making it a hard to resist buy. Case in point being the i10 Nios and the i20. Exudes quality and good workmanship and I hope, going forward, this extends to safety as well. Quote:
2. It seems worse as Tata cars(especially the Harrier/Safari) haven't been trouble free and dealer apathy(which impacts all brands) makes it worse, so the number of complaints increases. Like the recent issue where the ASC was going to change one of the rear seat to change a broken latch/cable and bill the customer. After posting on the forum(maybe some other places too) the seat was replaced free of charge IIRC. This also highlights the cluelessness of TML/ASC in handling which prima facie seems like a simple repair job. Persisting issues with the infotainment system is another issue. But the most unfortunate part, to me, is that quite often Tata sides with the dealers and only on pestering/social media outrage is when the HQ accepts any mistake and makes amends. Although Jeep India is aiming to dethrone Tata from that spot ![]() 3. Absolutely and involuntarily we contribute to the same. But seems like the trend these days is to take it to social media for a quick resolution/last resort and it has its pros and cons which is for everyone, including manufacturers and buyers, to decide. I would always go for a robust internal feedback and redressal mechanism over any media, any day. Quote:
![]() I couldn't believe what I was witnessing. They should've changed the shroud by now. Last edited by shancz : 23rd September 2022 at 13:01. Reason: minor corrs | |||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank shancz for this useful post: | BleueNinja, Poitive |
![]() | #296 | |||
However, tata seems to be working to rectify this. In addition to 1000 kms checkup, TATA arranged a home visit by service folks to see if i have any feedback to share or if i have any doubts/queries or if everything is right with the car, something similar to what VW does. There are regular feedback calls after service/showroom visit. Quote:
![]() I initially had a budget of 16 lacs for myself. I naively thought i will get everything that i am looking for in this price bracket. Boy o boy How wrong i was. XUV 700 AX5 D MT, Safari XTA+ and Harrier XZA (post discounts) were costing me the same (i opted for BH number plate) What you will also see is that variants distribution and those variants are priced as such that you are compelled to move towards a higher variant. I personally feel Kia Seltos and VW Virtus have variants distribution and pricing done right. Harrier with XMA-S has become a better alternative to XUV 700 AX-3. OT: a humble request to esteemed members of this forum, please spare me the "pay up" and "business 101" theory. I ended up paying a lot more than i intended. ![]() Last edited by BleueNinja : 27th September 2022 at 03:32. | |||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank BleueNinja for this useful post: | Knightrider, Poitive, shancz |
|
![]() | #297 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2011 Location: Gurgaon
| Re: Driven - Tata Safari Test Drive (as a substitute/extension of the Harrier TD)
This does my head in. I also could not find a comfortable driving position in my TD of the new Safari. Storme had one of the most comfortable seating for both driver and the rear seat. Why tinker? |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #298 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2018 Location: COK\BLR\MYS
Prices have gone northwards, you will pay a lot more than you intended, that is the reality. Recently a friend of mine suffered greatly at the hands of Acko insurance, it was a case of penny wise - pound foolish. So when you are planning to spend ~20L , choose wisely. A few lakhs here and there won't matter a lot in the 8-10 years that the vehicle stays with you. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Kosfactor for this useful post: | GST, shancz |
![]() | #299 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Oct 2020 Location: Pune
![]() If course I don't expect the ADAS to be available on anything but the top trim but auto folding mirrors and alloys missing on a 20-23 lakh car ! Clearly the times have changed and like I have mentioned earlier in the thread, I have become obsolete ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks shancz for this useful post: | BleueNinja |
![]() | #300 | ||
MX solely exists to get "starting from *" price tag, AX3 exists to get you till AX5. AX5 has to be the "entry" variant to go for if one wants XUV700. The idea behind having ESP in AX5 Diesel but not in AX5 petrol is still lost on me. Anyhow the strategy has worked well for Mahindra because AX7 has been the top booked variant for them and rightly so because it's proving to be bang for your buck. Last edited by BleueNinja : 27th September 2022 at 12:45. Reason: Syntactical errors corrected. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks BleueNinja for this useful post: | shancz |
![]() |