Team-BHP > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th December 2012, 12:27   #511
BHPian
 
Catalyst_delhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Noida/Coimbator
Posts: 344
Thanked: 156 Times
Default Re: Onboard diagnostics plugin with amazing features

Quote:
Originally Posted by bharanidharang View Post
Disclaimer: Not sure if this is already posted. Please merge or delete

http://technabob.com/blog/2012/12/06...s-car-monitor/

Features look amazing. i am sure there are many uses for this. Will this work in India.
This will work on Fords for sure. Most of the OBD "dongles" do not have issues with a Ford. I have had good sucess with Renaults as well. Maruti not so good.
Catalyst_delhi is offline  
Old 8th December 2012, 20:05   #512
Senior - BHPian
 
silversteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Electri-City
Posts: 2,263
Thanked: 2,025 Times
Default Re: Onboard diagnostics plugin with amazing features

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catalyst_delhi View Post
This will work on Fords for sure. Most of the OBD "dongles" do not have issues with a Ford. I have had good sucess with Renaults as well. Maruti not so good.
Older (Maruti)Suzukis yes. But the newer ones work well. 2011 and later models work just as fine as the others.
silversteed is offline  
Old 9th December 2012, 16:40   #513
BHPian
 
Catalyst_delhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Noida/Coimbator
Posts: 344
Thanked: 156 Times
Default Re: Onboard diagnostics plugin with amazing features

Quote:
Originally Posted by silversteed View Post
Older (Maruti)Suzukis yes. But the newer ones work well. 2011 and later models work just as fine as the others.
Thanks Silversteed! Most of my friends ask if their car can connect , now i know. What did maruti change to make the OBD work?
Catalyst_delhi is offline  
Old 9th December 2012, 17:51   #514
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,427
Thanked: 1,176 Times
Default Re: Onboard diagnostics plugin with amazing features

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catalyst_delhi View Post
Thanks Silversteed! Most of my friends ask if their car can connect , now i know. What did maruti change to make the OBD work?
They went from a proprietary protocol to a standard OBD2 protocol and this was when they introduced the K series engines.
vikram_d is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2012, 21:46   #515
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 252
Thanked: 18 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Guys, can you help me in locating the OBD-II on my 2009 Getz? Below the steering wheel found this which doesn't look like OBD-II:
Attached Thumbnails
OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars-20121209_200308.jpg  

pamishra is offline  
Old 9th December 2012, 23:35   #516
BHPian
 
archat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 840
Thanked: 472 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by pamishra View Post
Guys, can you help me in locating the OBD-II on my 2009 Getz? Below the steering wheel found this which doesn't look like OBD-II:
This is the fusebox.
archat68 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 10th December 2012, 09:26   #517
Distinguished - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 4,593
Thanked: 12,075 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Is anyone from bangalore ready to lend me an OBD device, just to check if it works with my cars, so that I can go ahead and by one for myself? I am looking for the scanguage type of devices. Even an ELM device would be good enough if I can look at data from my laptop. If any BHPian could lend me his device, I shall just plug it into my car and if it works, I will place an order for the same thing. I dont think it will work in my SX4 BS3 version, but I want to ensure it works at least in my wagonR. I dont want to order a product without knowing whether it works and then end up with a non compatible device.

EDIT: How about this one? http://www.amazon.com/ScanTool-42300.../dp/B002PYBZJO
Think it is a good deal is it not? Given that one will get the software bundled, the cost seems to be fine. Any inputs?

Last edited by audioholic : 10th December 2012 at 09:40.
audioholic is offline  
Old 10th December 2012, 10:18   #518
Senior - BHPian
 
mercedised's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,171
Thanked: 292 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

What device/cable tobe used for Tata Safari Dicor 3.0L?
mercedised is online now  
Old 5th February 2013, 14:22   #519
BHPian
 
madhuperiasamy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 61
Thanked: 78 Times
Default Re: Suzuki Ritz Diesel ABS OBD Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kannan View Post
mtnrajdeep, I have attached the OBD port of Suzuki Ritz Diesel (ABS). It's same as yours.

Going through this forum to identify compatible OBD Hardware and Software.
Can you tell me where I can find the OBD port in the Ritz ( VDI ABS) 2011 Oct Model
madhuperiasamy is offline  
Old 5th February 2013, 14:35   #520
Senior - BHPian
 
silversteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Electri-City
Posts: 2,263
Thanked: 2,025 Times
Default Re: Suzuki Ritz Diesel ABS OBD Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuperiasamy View Post
Can you tell me where I can find the OBD port in the Ritz ( VDI ABS) 2011 Oct Model
Note the area I've marked:

Name:  Maruti_ritz_interior_india.JPG
Views: 21070
Size:  92.7 KB

Probe with your hands, and you can find the OBD port there. Difficult to see it clearly unless you make room for yourself and bend down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
...I dont think it will work in my SX4 BS3 version, but I want to ensure it works at least in my wagonR...

EDIT: How about this one? http://www.amazon.com/ScanTool-42300.../dp/B002PYBZJO
Think it is a good deal is it not? Given that one will get the software bundled, the cost seems to be fine. Any inputs?
The one in the link is fine. It looks like an ELM327 clone. Maybe you can search for ELM327 on eBay and get one. The K series engines are OBD-II compliant, AFAIK. So, it depends on when you bought the Wagon-R

Last edited by silversteed : 5th February 2013 at 14:42.
silversteed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2013, 10:39   #521
BHPian
 
SalsaCorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: bangalore
Posts: 30
Thanked: 4 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Hi i have an ELM 327 OBD 2 connector, please let me know where can we meet this weekend and do some R&D. i stay in ramamurthy nagar
SalsaCorp is offline  
Old 7th February 2013, 19:37   #522
BHPian
 
madhuperiasamy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 61
Thanked: 78 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SalsaCorp View Post
Hi i have an ELM 327 OBD 2
Salsacorp
Please specify to whom this message is directed. Else you can send a direct message to the concerned BHPian by passing the forum.
madhuperiasamy is offline  
Old 8th February 2013, 10:25   #523
BHPian
 
d_himan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 839
Thanked: 882 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

After getting very excited initially seeing loads of real time data, I discovered the best practical usage for me.

Have the ELM 327 bluetooth permanently hooked on to the OBD II Port of my i10 AT.

I use Torque Pro on my el cheapo android phone to display:

a. Ambient Air Temperature - that roughly tells me what the temperature outside is

b. Fuel Efficiency (Instant, Trip, Distance to Empty).

This sorts out the one big problem I had with the car - no good MID.
d_himan is offline  
Old 1st March 2013, 19:51   #524
BHPian
 
madhuperiasamy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 61
Thanked: 78 Times
Default

Finally got my OBD II dongle from Amazon. Smooth link up of my Maruti Ritz to my Galaxy Note running Android ICS.
Attaching a screenshot of the Torque app with the car in idling.

Name:  ForumRunner_20130301_195052.png
Views: 3189
Size:  276.6 KB

Last edited by madhuperiasamy : 1st March 2013 at 19:59.
madhuperiasamy is offline  
Old 1st March 2013, 21:01   #525
BHPian
 
rajanprash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 109
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuperiasamy View Post
Finally got my OBD II dongle from Amazon. Smooth link up of my Maruti Ritz to my Galaxy Note running Android ICS.
Attaching a screenshot of the Torque app with the car in idling.
Hi, could you provide us a link of the same. Also is this on a Ritz petrol or Ritz Diesel??
rajanprash is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2021, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks