Old 11th August 2021, 19:25   #6556

Re: The Tata Safari 2.2L Technical / Problems Thread

Originally Posted by Kosfactor View Post
I gather it would be prudent to replace the radiator instead of attempting to clean it.

Out of curiosity, how did they clean the radiator? These days they are replaced instead due to the pipes inside being very small, did they add any radiator flush?
Not sure how they did it. They said they give it outside the Tata service center ( might be some local shop they have tie up with- not sure), and they charged me 2k for it in the bill.
Old 12th August 2021, 18:38   #6557

Hi BHPians,
My 2012 safari dicor shows it's check engine light randomly. It is mostly seen while on inclines or while driving in the rain. The light goes off after switching the engine off and restarting it. There is a sudden power loss when the light comes on and everything becomes normal after the restart.
I called up my service advisor and he says that it is because of water coming into contact with some wire. But as I mentioned, the CEL randomly comes on during inclines too. I also noticed that the CEL is mostly coming on highways after crossing 80kmph ( maybe it's just a coincidence ). Kindly advice on what should be done and what is the reason for this issue . The service advisor talks as though it is a common issue with the safari , but I have owned 2 dicors and 1 storme before this, none of those cars had any such issue.
CountryDriver is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th August 2021, 19:09   #6558

@CountryDriver - During morning cold start - ask someone else to start the vehicle and observe the exhaust as the vehicle idles cold, see if there is any smoking. If its clear, you can rule out the injectors.

Next time it happens, observe the fuel level as well.
Kosfactor is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 12th August 2021, 19:43   #6559

@CountryDriver - During morning cold start - ask someone else to start the vehicle and observe the exhaust as the vehicle idles cold, see if there is any smoking. If its clear, you can rule out the injectors.

Next time it happens, observe the fuel level as well.
Thank you sir,
There is some smoke observed during cold starts, but it goes soon too. Fuel level is mostly near the half mark when the CEL comes on.
Old 13th August 2021, 09:57   #6560

Originally Posted by CountryDriver View Post
My 2012 safari dicor shows it's check engine light randomly. It is mostly seen while on inclines or while driving in the rain. The light goes off after switching the engine off and restarting it. There is a sudden power loss when the light comes on and everything becomes normal after the restart.
Hook up an OBD scanner and read what it says. This sort of behavior indicates intermittent sensor/wiring problem. The triggering of CEL occurs when on an incline and at high vibration suggests intermittent connection. The OBD might tell you where.
Prowler is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th November 2021, 12:38   #6561

Hi BHPians,

My cousin's 2013 Safari Storme, located at Pune has an issue described below, ODO: 67K

Symptoms:
1. More noise from the engine at idle (video attached)
2. Idle RPM fluctuates (video attached @ time-lapse 0:06 sec)
3. No pickup, goes at low speed, wont have any confidence to reach at nearby service station.

Discussion from the 2 Service Centers:
Service Center 1:
Tentative analysis says there could be an issue with injectors, turbo.
Approximate cost of repair - 60 - 70 K INR

Service Center 2 (Authorized):
Tentative analysis says there could be 1 cylinder seized due to overheat
Approximate cost of repair - ~ 1.25 L INR

Current status:
At authorized service center. My cousin was barely able to reach there at a very low speed. Malfunction indication lamp had turned ON.

Please help check with your inputs and suggestions on local service centers from Pune who does trustworthy work on Safari. If the cost of engine overhaul is around 1 lac or whether if it looks inflated by the service center that will help us to get this Safari on track.

Video link:
yogeshnaik is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2021, 09:48   #6562

Originally Posted by yogeshnaik View Post
Service Center 1:
Tentative analysis says there could be an issue with injectors, turbo.
It is likely to be the injectors. Remove the injectors and get them serviced at specialist injector service centers. The cost was about 3-5k each a couple of years ago.
Original Delphi injector costs about Rs.13250/- in Boodmo.

Poor quality fuel affects the life of injectors.
Prowler is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2021, 13:36   #6563

Originally Posted by yogeshnaik View Post
...Symptoms:
1. More noise from the engine at idle (video attached)...
Originally Posted by Prowler View Post
It is likely to be the injectors...
After adjusting timing the noise went off up to 80% as per the mechanic. The timing kit needs to be replaced.

Also found a scratch/crack after opening the top part of the engine. Should be any concern is under observation.
The Tata Safari 2.2L Technical / Problems Thread-1.jpeg  

The Tata Safari 2.2L Technical / Problems Thread-3.jpeg  

The Tata Safari 2.2L Technical / Problems Thread-2.jpeg  

Old 25th November 2021, 22:43   #6564

Need help with figuring out a problem with Safari 4x4 (2011) model.

Problem:
4x4 system is not engaging.

Symptoms:
When I turn the ignition on, both the 4H and 4L lights turn on, then turn off for half- a-second and then turn on again. After that, both the lights just stay on (see img) even while I'm driving the car.

Toggling the switch from 2H to 4H while the vehicle is stationery or while moving at low speeds is not engaging the mechanism. Same with 4L (tried only when the vehicle was stationery.)

Otherwise the vehicle drives good. In fact it is a very low-run well maintained, single owner vehicle which I'm keen on purchasing. Owner mentioned that he has used the 4x4 system only about 4-5 times and it worked. The owner also doesn't know how the system actually works and how to operate I guess. And he also that the vehicle had a rat infestation once. And all these problems only appeared since the rat incident.

Any advice on resolving the issue would be really really appreciated.

P.S: The vehicle is in a slightly remote area. I did manage to take it to a tata service center but they were sounding a bit clueless as they had near zero experience with 4x4 Safaris. I guess a big tata ASC in a big city will be able to diagnose the issue better. But, taking the vehicle to a big city just for diagnosis is not an option right now.

The only options I have is to get a good bargain on the vehicle but also take the risk of getting this fixed on my own. Or simply walk away from the car.

Please help! I'm really keen on buying this car.
Old 26th November 2021, 11:33   #6565

Originally Posted by sdubey23 View Post
Problem:
4x4 system is not engaging.

Otherwise the vehicle drives good. In fact it is a very low-run well maintained, single owner vehicle which I'm keen on purchasing.

Please help! I'm really keen on buying this car.
If the car is mechanically sound and the body is good, go ahead and buy it. Older generation Safaris are vanishing breed. The 4x4 is by Borg Warner and has its own ECU. You need to take the car to a 4x4 specialist. Rats may have chewed the wires connecting various sensors.
Check that the rats have not done any other damage to its electricals. Gremlins induced by rats can be quite difficult to sort out.

You can live without 4x4 and it is rarely used in its normal life.
Prowler is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2021, 17:14   #6566

Originally Posted by Prowler View Post
If the car is mechanically sound and the body is good, go ahead and buy it. Older generation Safaris are vanishing breed. The 4x4 is by Borg Warner and has its own ECU. You need to take the car to a 4x4 specialist. Rats may have chewed the wires connecting various sensors.
Check that the rats have not done any other damage to its electricals. Gremlins induced by rats can be quite difficult to sort out.

You can live without 4x4 and it is rarely used in its normal life.
Thanks Prowler for the response. When I suggested a 40 point check at the local Tata ASC, the owner refused point blank and that too in a manner most of us would consider rude. He was almost unwilling to go ahead with the deal as well at this point as he was scared the 40 point check could potentially open up a can of worms. So, thr shifting statements from the owner and blank refusal to get the car inspected has got me too suspicious. Evidence enough to simply walk away from the deal.
Old 27th November 2021, 22:02   #6567

Originally Posted by sdubey23 View Post
When I turn the ignition on, both the 4H and 4L lights turn on, then turn off for half- a-second and then turn on again...
I had experienced this 2 - 3 times in my 2.2 DiCOR when it was with me. It was related to under body pressure wash or wading through heavy rains, probably wetting the transfer case sensors.

Concorde Pune SA (closed now) had suggested me to leave the truck to fully dry up for 2-3 days and then run it for few kilometres and give full throttle for 15-20s, three four times. I was never convinced of his reasoning but this symptom used to vanish and 4x4 used to engage (and disengage) just fine. Also, many owner carelessly forget that just toggling the switch from 4H -> 2H doesn't disengage the front wheel drive. It has to be driven reverse gear for 5-6 meters for the hub lock to free up fully. This also lead to wear of the 4x4 mechanism.

-BJ
bj96 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th December 2021, 18:04   #6568

My 2009 Safari VX 4x2 this week had full front suspension restoration work completed with replacement of upper and lower ball joints, LH and RH tie rods with ball joints at both ends, track link rod with ball joints at both ends and steering shock absorber got replaced with new.

New air filter and fresh mobil engine oil and oil filter got replaced.

Now its showing Engine light continuously and at neutral rpm is below 1000 and some engine vibration is coming and at neutral when front airconditioner is turned on then rpm is hunting between 800 and 1000 and engine vibration is felt more.

When accelerator is pressed rpm rises above 1000 and vibration goes away but speed is not going beyond 25 km even rpm is around 2500.

With engine service light on Reverse parking is sweat breaking.

Engine work was done by Concorde in 2018, turbo charger was changed but as my Safari was not used much then came Corona, I was using my Tiago more.

Recently last week airconditioner aluminium hose for rear ac unit and ac suction aluminium hose with ac gas charging port was replaced and both front and rear acs are working fine.

What is the Engine Service problem? How at neutral engine rpm can be increased to stay at 1000 with airconditioner on?
Old 30th December 2021, 21:59   #6569

Originally Posted by harimakesh View Post

Now its showing Engine light continuously and at neutral rpm is below 1000 and some engine vibration is coming and at neutral when front airconditioner is turned on then rpm is hunting between 800 and 1000 and engine vibration is felt more.
Fuel injectors, were they replaced earlier ? If not that is one area to look at.
Old 30th December 2021, 22:20   #6570

Fuel injectors, were they replaced earlier ? If not that is one area to look at.
Previous owner seemed to have replaced fuel injectors