Old 8th April 2011, 11:39   #706

Re: Indica Vista - list of Known problems

Originally Posted by @Chaand View Post
I am having this issue with the black plastic rails which are on the roof of the car. They seem to be coming out. Can anyone suggest whats to be done. Is this a DIY or should I leave it to the TASC folks. Pls help.
This was an issue with 2008/2009 make of Vista's its been sorted out(Actually the length was a problem). Its a manufacturing problem should be covered under extended warranty, get it replaced from TASC.
Old 8th April 2011, 12:08   #707

Originally Posted by kartikk View Post
Hey, anyone has got hold of Center Armrest for the Vista? I've been searching for it in JC Road, Blore and all I get is black color which wont fit in Vista (looking for beige, dont remember the manufacturer but its chinese make.) or a crude local make. I really feel the need of one. Any pointers would help.
I got this in Mumbai - for around 650/700 bucks. This was a chinese make. I did not like the fit and finish of this and did not pursue it. But may make a trip to Milan Subway this weekend to get this done.

Originally Posted by kartikk View Post
This was an issue with 2008/2009 make of Vista's its been sorted out(Actually the length was a problem). Its a manufacturing problem should be covered under extended warranty, get it replaced from TASC.
Mine is June 2010 manufactured.

Last edited by @Chaand : 8th April 2011 at 12:16.
Old 8th April 2011, 12:39   #708

Hi Foby,

Congratulations on your new baby and wish you lot and lots of miles and smiles with it!

ICE from outside reseller would void warranty only if any wires are cut or the electricals tampered with. But thesedays, the ICE fitters dont cut wires. Instead, they use clips to dig into the wires and get power/connectivity.

New Mag wheels on existing tyres wont void warrnty. Not sure of upsizing though. Better get that checked out.

All the best!

Thank you Chaand

I am also nonna get a Yellow Nanao for Dad by this week end .
Old 8th April 2011, 13:15   #709

Mine is June 2010 manufactured.
You should get it replaced, I have a Feb 2010 Vista and dont have any problems with the odo reading 23K

Do let me know of the armrest and shares some pics whenever you get it done.

Last edited by kartikk : 8th April 2011 at 13:16. Reason: missed
Old 11th April 2011, 10:29   #710

@Kartikk

I couldnt go armrest shopping this weekend, but will try to do that during the course of this week. I also saw a few models of armrests available on ebay India retailing for around Rs. 1500.

In the meatime, I am also listing down the issues I have and need to get fixed during the third service which is due soon.

Has anyone noticed a jump in FE after the third service (whihc includes the oil change). Just curious.
Old 20th April 2011, 14:11   #711

I had lost one of my wheel cap last week. Got it replaced from TASS and it cost only 370 rupees. Only Tata prices it so low, other manufacturers make a killing out of it.
While i was there, got the fluids and air filter cleaned up at the quick service bay for free.
Very satisfied and running at 25K in 2 years
Old 23rd April 2011, 15:27   #712

First problem with my 8 month old Vista

Today, I experienced the first problem with my eight month old (9000 kM) run Vista.

Was planning to go down to the nearby mobile store by car at around 10.00 AM today. Inserted the key, turned it and waited for the glow plugs to go off. Then, tried to crank the engine. It cranked for a moment or so and then fell silent. This was not normal as the car usually starts in one crank. Tried again. The key turned, but there was absolutely no sound. Repeated this 4-5 times, but still the same.
I had a hunch that the battery was the culprit, but had not experienced such symptoms earlier. I then decided to call Tata Roadside Assistance in any case. Called them and the call was answered in one ring. After identification, I told them the problem and the issue with the car. They asked for my address and said that I will get a call the regional hub in 10 minutes time. I did not get any call in 10 minutes, but instead got a text message from them informing that the problem had been logged and the complaint number was also provided.
In around 40 minutes, the Roadside Assistance van reached the car. The mechanic tried to crank the engine once, but still the same issue. Immediately he claimed "Battery Dead hai!". Then they took out a spare battery from their van and tried to jump start the vehicle after connecting the new battery. Still no response from the car. Next, he shifted the transmission to reverse and pushed the car. Did this twice. Then they again tried to jumpstart. This time the engine came to life. They let it idle for 5 minutes. Switched off the engine and disconnected the extra battery, and then again tried to start the car. This time also it started. Then they checked the voltages with a voltmeter. It seems that the alternator was charging the battery without any issues. But the battery was being drained out too soon. They kept the car idling for a few minutes and then I took the car for a short spin outside.

I have been told that there is an issue with the battery and not the alternator. I now need to approach the TASC at the earliest and get this rectified as the car is under warranty.

After that, I waited for an hour and then restarted the car. No issues right now.

I use the car for around 40 KM everyday. Even yesterday, I had used the car yesterday for around 30 KM as well. In the Vista, once you switch off the ignition and pull out the key, power to all electrical devices is killed. Only the immobilizer works.
In such case, what caused this battery drain.

Positives of the episode:
1. The much battered Tata Roadside service was very punctual and exceeded my expectations as far as punctuality was concerned
2. The mechanics were courteous and polite and answered by questions patiently

Mods: Trust that this is the right section to post an issue. If not, then kindly move the thread accordingly.

Note from Support: Threads merged. Please continue the discussion here. Thanks

Last edited by .anshuman : 26th April 2011 at 13:33. Reason: See note in post. Thanks
Old 23rd April 2011, 16:02   #713

Re: First problem with my 8 month old Vista

... In the Vista, once you switch off the ignition and pull out the key, power to all electrical devices is killed. Only the immobilizer works.
In such case, what caused this battery drain.
The parking lights could still be ON. Were they?. Could be the cause of batteries draining out.

Well, OEM batteries sometimes behave strangely. Use the car for the next few days and see if this issue crops up again.

As a precautionary measure, check the sp. gravity of each cell of the battery from the neighborhood battery walla.
Old 23rd April 2011, 16:25   #714

Do you have any remote security system installed in your car? Sometimes aftermarket accessory installments can cause wiring issues and cause battery drainage. Make sure you didn't left any lights turned on. Battery conking off so early is highly unlikely. But since your car/battery is in warranty you shouldn't be much worried.
Old 23rd April 2011, 17:57   #715

Originally Posted by dhanushs View Post
The parking lights could still be ON. Were they?. Could be the cause of batteries draining out.

As a precautionary measure, check the sp. gravity of each cell of the battery from the neighborhood battery walla.
They weren't.
How will checking the specific gravity help?

Originally Posted by bluevolt View Post
Do you have any remote security system installed in your car? Sometimes aftermarket accessory installments can cause wiring issues and cause battery drainage. Make sure you didn't left any lights turned on. Battery conking off so early is highly unlikely. But since your car/battery is in warranty you shouldn't be much worried.
There is a factory shipped remote security system.
What flummoxed me is that the even if the battery was 'dead', the power windows, music system indicators, tail lights etc were fine.

The car+battery are in warranty, but I am not sure, when this issue will crop up again.
Old 23rd April 2011, 18:54   #716

How will checking the specific gravity help?
That way you can identify if any particular cell is dead or less charged. Cell wise defect can be identified if any.

To me this is the problem of the starter solenoid and not the battery. I would suggest getting that checked.

MileCruncher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2011, 22:53   #717

As milecruncher said, it might be starter solenoid problem, have DIY test. If the car does not start, not even cranking or any sound. Then open bonnet and short circuit the two wires(contact) in solenoid of starter using an big screw driver or like. Just make two terminals connect by using it for a second, if it starts then it is 100% starter solenoid problem, you have to replace solenoid.

If it did not start, then the carbon brush in starter might not have contact with armature. These are two possibilities.

since i had same problem in lancer with problems specified by you, then me too thought battery was culprit. but its not. check once and reply.
Old 23rd April 2011, 23:46   #718

Thanks for the help. My questions.

If it was a solenoid issue, then
1. How did the jump start actually start the car?
2. How come I could successfully start the car during subsequent tries (after the battery was charged).

I am not in a position to take the car to the TASC till coming Saturday. So lets home, it doesn't trouble me too much.
Old 24th April 2011, 12:19   #719

My answers in bold below:

If it was a solenoid issue, then
1. How did the jump start actually start the car? Jump starting has nothing to do with solenoid. Solenoid switch controls the operation of the starter motor.The actual mechanism of how jump starting works is beyond the scope of this post.
2. How come I could successfully start the car during subsequent tries (after the battery was charged). Your stater solenoid switch had got stuck and it got unstuck later on. This could be an absolutely one time issue or may crop up later as well. Just keep a lookout and if it happens, just short the solenoid ends with a screw driver.
I am not in a position to take the car to the TASC till coming Saturday. So lets home, it doesn't trouble me too much.
Its not a critical problem and you now know the solution to the problem as well. So nothing much will happen in a week.
Old 25th April 2011, 23:29   #720

The issue reoccurred today.
I had driven around 20 KM yesterday, and was hoping that I had finally seen the back of this issue.
However, tonight after I got back from work (I did not drive the whole day today), I tried to crank and faced the same issue once again.
Got half a crank. After that the car was silent.
I shifted to reverse and pushed the car like the mechanics had done.
Then tried cranking it again. But no luck :(

@Milecruncher: When exactly is the starter solenoid located. I know I am asking for too much, but a picture will help.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com