Old 9th August 2016, 18:10   #391

Re: Fiat Linea - Various niggling issues? Post your experiences here.

My Feb 2009 MJD emotion pack Linea diesel, done 90k kms had a water leak problem and due to the settled water car had major fungus everywhere including some electrical system like stereo system and the lcd display behind the steering.

My query ........is there a way i can get this repaired and will it start working? Or i need to replace it? Replacing will cost me 14-15k at the dealer end who will replace the entire speedometer unit. There are few local guys who are ready to do it at 6-8k only by changing the lcd display and not the entire speedo.
My music system was not working and i gave it to a local music system repairing guy and he only did 'carbon cleaning' and it has started working perfectly. Is there a way to clean some moisture or fungus regarding this lcd problem and will it again start working by doing so?

Pics attached, the lcd has stopped working, rest other things are working all fine.

Fiat Linea - Various niggling issues? Post your experiences here.-cam01133.jpg

Fiat Linea - Various niggling issues? Post your experiences here.-cam01134.jpg
Old 9th August 2016, 19:10   #392

Originally Posted by Prash View Post

Pics attached, the lcd has stopped working, rest other things are working all fine.
Hello Prash,

From what I read about this issue in a different forum, the only possible solution seems to be replacement of the MID, however if you can check with the guys who have helped you with the ICE issue, the solution would be very helpful to many.

Sharing the link related to this issue from another forum.

https://www.teamfiat.com/threads/lin...-issues.13539/

Pradeep.
pdma is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th September 2016, 14:53   #393

Strange issue with my 2009 1.3 Multijet Emotion pk

I had run nearly 54000 kms so far and the problem i am mentioning here started 6 months back.

Beginning of issue
Whenever i drive over pot holes or speed breakers the audio system will switch off for a moment and then it will continue as usual. Happened probably once or twice a week. After a month the frequency increased and the sensors also started giving warning signs for a moment and they will be back to normal (ABS , engine warnings). Sent car to Ramkay fiat Perungudi for First repair and the car came back saying some loose connections behind audio.

Issue becomes Major
Car ran good for a week maximum and the same issues started again. Then Probably after 2 months from the start of entire issue, one day when i was driving suddenly the ac also switched off and came back. Since i was in highways i drove without stopping and in 5 minutes the entire power in the car was out, AC stopped, Power windows stopped working, but the engine was still running, but the vehicle was not responding to throttle inputs. I stopped the car on side and waited for 5 minutes and then restarted and the rest of journey was without issues. Sent car to Ramkay fiat Perungudi for Second repair and the SA sat with me and saw the issues. But they couldn't find any error codes in the scan and hence confused. They kept the car for 3 days and sent it back saying they fixed some loose connections.

The car was fine for a month and then the issue reached next level. The car started switching off while running and will restart immediately with a sudden jerk. The car was sent to Ramkay fiat Perungudi for Third repair and there were new SA's and they started again on the loose connection side. I asked them to clean the wiring in dashboard area completely andthe car ran fine after that for probably 1 or 2 weeks.

Then the whole ordeal is back again now. I dont want to go back to fiat service center now as they made it clear that they dont know what the issue is. Can someone here throw some light on this or any suggestions on why this is happening?
msk_kapoor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th October 2016, 23:47   #394

Originally Posted by msk_kapoor View Post
Try running the car for couple of weeks with music system power supply disconnected. (ideally from fuse box and from battery, if any after market amp/woofer connected). Also disconnect the microphone from power that is located at front row cabin light. There is likely that some live wire is getting grounded/short that is causing this issue. Try to isolate the same.

Last edited by ampere : 21st October 2016 at 00:19. Reason: Reduced quoted post
Old 21st December 2016, 12:33   #395

Battery Drain Issue :

I have a 2012 Linea Diesel, run 30K approx [ yes, very low odo reading ].

Got the OEM Exide battery replaced in Sep 2015 with same Exide battery.

Now since last 6-7 months, I am observing some very faint dashboard indicators ( instrument panel ) of 3-4 signs glowing and flashing mildly after key is taken out. I think this indicates that some where there is a leakage in circuit. Showed it to Fiat dealership, their only solution is replace the entire instrument panel @ cost of 18K. Thy have no clue why its happening.

Now, the car is run daily for 10-12 kms total . last 3 days i was out of station and then when i tried to start yesterday morning , battery was having just 9.3 V ( the exide batmobile came). Car was started by them, kept ON in parking for 30 mins. Battery was showing 12.5V then. Went to office by bike , and came back at night 10 PM

Got a multimeter, checked battery voltage , it was showing @ 12.4V. Car started fine.

now today morning @ 8 am , again checked , battery was showing 11.4V [ so dropped from 12.4V to 11.4V in 10 hrs. Car started fine though.

Just want to understand , even if there is such small leakage in the car ( which I am guessing by seeing the faint indications), can this be more of a battery issue ? cell getting weakened or any mfg issue from exide ? Its still in warranty so wanted to take action quickly based on your inputs. How to deal with the Exide dealers for such warranty cases ?
Old 21st December 2016, 14:14   #396
h14

I believe something is definitely draining the battery and I doubt this happening due to a faulty battery.

Do you have any aftermarket electrical or electronic accessories installed? Something like amp/aux lights/horns etc? Do share with us if at all you have installed anything else additional on the car.
Old 21st December 2016, 14:55   #397

Originally Posted by h14 View Post
I believe something is definitely draining the battery and I doubt this happening due to a faulty battery.

Do you have any aftermarket electrical or electronic accessories installed? Something like amp/aux lights/horns etc? Do share with us if at all you have installed anything else additional on the car.
Nothing aftermarket or even additional fiat accessories added.
Old 21st December 2016, 15:22   #398
h14

Originally Posted by Amazing View Post
Nothing aftermarket or even additional fiat accessories added.
Fine then. So FASS can't blame you for any such factors. Try try visiting some private electrician who has knowledge on modern cars. I'm sure they will be able to trace where the leak is happening. Sometimes even if the grounding isn't proper the battery would discharge.

Another option is once the battery is fully charged (12-12.5 v atleast) note the numbers using volt meter. Then disconnect the cables and leave overnight and measure again in the morning. If the voltage is equal or marginally lower (~.5), then you can deem the battery to be fine. Else, then battery might be at fault.
Old 12th February 2017, 21:57   #399

Originally Posted by msk_kapoor View Post

I had run nearly 54000 kms so far and the problem i am mentioning here started 6 months back.

Beginning of issue
Whenever i drive over pot holes or speed breakers the audio system will switch off for a moment and then it will continue as usual. Happened probably once or twice a week. After a month the frequency increased and the sensors also started giving warning signs for a moment and they will be back to normal (ABS , engine warnings). Sent car to Ramkay fiat Perungudi for First repair and the car came back saying some loose connections behind audio.

Issue becomes Major
Car ran good for a week maximum and the same issues started again. Then Probably after 2 months from the start of entire issue, one day when i was driving suddenly the ac also switched off and came back. Since i was in highways i drove without stopping and in 5 minutes the entire power in the car was out, AC stopped, Power windows stopped working, but the engine was still running, but the vehicle was not responding to throttle inputs. I stopped the car on side and waited for 5 minutes and then restarted and the rest of journey was without issues. Sent car to Ramkay fiat Perungudi for Second repair and the SA sat with me and saw the issues. But they couldn't find any error codes in the scan and hence confused. They kept the car for 3 days and sent it back saying they fixed some loose connections.

The car was fine for a month and then the issue reached next level. The car started switching off while running and will restart immediately with a sudden jerk. The car was sent to Ramkay fiat Perungudi for Third repair and there were new SA's and they started again on the loose connection side. I asked them to clean the wiring in dashboard area completely andthe car ran fine after that for probably 1 or 2 weeks.

Then the whole ordeal is back again now. I dont want to go back to fiat service center now as they made it clear that they dont know what the issue is. Can someone here throw some light on this or any suggestions on why this is happening?
Finally the car is fixed after replacing the entire wiring kit from ignition at a cost of 15000. But Ramkay service center perungudi chennai took nearly 35 days for this since they didn't know the part number and ordered wrong kit couple of times. After escalation to Fiat things got sorted.

But happy that my car is back to normal and did a 1800km highway trip without any issues
msk_kapoor is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th February 2017, 13:53   #400
Lij

My new Linea 125s has a couple of issues which I hope are minor. Delivered last month and run close to 500kms. I'll be taking it to the FASS this weekend as they have a part which was agreed to be replaced during delivery (specifically the chrome part on the boot where LINEA is written), so would like to know if anyone here has already faced these issues and have a ready solution.

1. Noise from around the front right suspension which goes "Punk-punk" over small undulations on road surface. On smooth tarmac there is no such noise.

2. The disc breaks are squealing, when I had visited the FASS just after the delivery the SA told me its because the disc breaks are new and will bed-in in about 500 kms. Is this really the case?
Old 15th February 2017, 14:05   #401
h14

Originally Posted by Lij View Post

1. Noise from around the front right suspension which goes "Punk-punk" over small undulations on road surface. On smooth tarmac there is no such noise.
Hard to judge the noise you are experiencing. So cannot comment much on this
Originally Posted by Lij View Post
2. The disc breaks are squealing, when I had visited the FASS just after the delivery the SA told me its because the disc breaks are new and will bed-in in about 500 kms. Is this really the case?
Definitely not the case. The squealing will happen for aftermarket pads and not for OEM pads and that too on a new car (read new rotor).
h14 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2017, 19:34   #402
Lij

Hard to judge the noise you are experiencing. So cannot comment much on this
When I went for a test drive with the FASS guy, this noise was reproduced only twice and was very faint, not as much I hear on the roads I travel daily. As per them the torques are fine and didn't find anything loose with the suspensions so nothing to worry. As expected noise is still there.

I am not exactly sure if the noise is from the front suspensions or the steering assembly, but it comes when the front right tyre goes into small undulations on road surface. So will have to take it back and do a longer test drive to reproduce it.

Definitely not the case. The squealing will happen for aftermarket pads and not for OEM pads and that too on a new car (read new rotor).
As per FASS everything is fine with the brake pad and rotor and they did "clean" it. So during the test drive while receiving the car the squeals vanished. By the time I reached back home (~ 25kms) the squeals returned!! Just to add the squeal comes during slow braking and at the fag end of applying the brakes when the vehicle is about to stop.

I believe the brakes are covered under warranty till 5k or 10k kms. Here the FASS tried to charge me for cleaning them saying brakes are wear and tear parts and not covered in warranty and I can check the owners manual. I argued and told that I'll have to speak with FIAT customer care especially for an issue which was present even before completing 500 kms, the SA quickly called his supervisor and confirmed that it is indeed covered!!

OT - They took over an hour get the invoice printed as the SA wasn't sure under which heads all these work needs to be put in!!
Old 22nd February 2017, 20:43   #403
Lij

@Mods, sorry for back to back posts as the edit time window expired, kindly merge with above post.

After a bit of searching found similar issues mentioned on Team-BHP itself, here.

Looks like my issue is similar to what kaushik_s had and in his case the resolution was cleaning of the callipers explained very well by paragsachania here. So will have to ask the FASS guys to do the same.

On the other hand this link mentions that the noise is usually considered normal with semi-metallic pads.

Q: SOMETIMES MY BRAKES MAKE A SLIGHT GRINDING OR GROANING NOISE THAT ONLY HAPPENS AT VERY LOW SPEEDS. ARE MY BRAKES GOING BAD?
A: Only a complete brake system inspection by one of our brake specialist can give you the truth, however the particular noise you are describing is generally considered normal, particularly on vehicles with semi-metallic pads or most front wheel drive cars. The noise is simply a vibration that can be more felt than heard coming from the front disc pads. On slower stops, the brakes aren't applied fully, which allows them to vibrate against the rotor surface. Usually no service is required as the noise is unavoidable.

Noob question - is the Linea's brake pads metallic or ceramic?
Old 28th August 2017, 11:53   #404

I have a Tjet and have been experiencing the infamous "check engine light" issue.

It started 2 months back; I was on the Bangalore NICE road coming back from Mysore, and was doing a spirited run, at a speed of 120+. After sometime I noticed the check engine light coming on, slowed down and stopped. Started the vehicle again after a few mins, same light was on. Took it back home slowly and gave it to Fiat (through wheelswisdom's managed car servicing) for checking.

Aadya motors identified a turbo hose leakage, corrected it and gave it back.

Yesterday I did another long trip (first one after the issue was corrected). I was maintaining a speed of 100-110 throughout, and closer to Hosur got into another spirited run where the speedo clocked above 120. Immediately after that, the check engine light has come up again.

Having heard not-so-great stories about Fiat ASS, I am not too sure if they would be able to identify or correct the exact cause (I am counting on wheelswisdom guys more actually)

Any idea what could be the issue ? Is there anything that I can ask them to check ?
Old 28th August 2017, 15:21   #405

Originally Posted by singleton View Post
I have a Tjet and have been experiencing the infamous "check engine light" issue.
Get the speed sensor on the gearbox checked. The connector could be loose or the speedo sensor gear might be on it's way out.

Last edited by GTO : 25th February 2018 at 18:19. Reason: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Thanks!