Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th April 2010, 18:41   #541
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 922
Thanked: 378 Times
Default

I am thinking about cutting my Alto's exhaust pipe like the illustration given below:

Advantages that I can think of:
1. When I wade through water, the smoke pipe gets higher clearance (primary reason)
2. I don't need to cut the bumper, as exhaust smoke would be directed to the ground.

Can you think of any disadvantages (mileage drop, more sound, corrosion to underbody because of spreading of exhaust fumes)?
Attached Images
File Type: bmp ExhaustCut.bmp (90.6 KB, 289 views)
jinojohnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 15:03   #542
BHPian
 
sabret00the's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 686
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
how are the Xenos new range products with central locking and power windows? any reviews?
I've been using Xenos central locking for about a year now. No problemo. However you'll have to turn off the car every time someone wants to get off the car. You'll have to lock it as soon as you take out the key and get off the car else it's going to squeak twice after few seconds to remind you that the car is unlocked.
sabret00the is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 16:50   #543
BHPian
 
scorpian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GOA
Posts: 270
Thanked: 112 Times
Default @Srini.

Are you sure disconnecting the IAT sensor would not display the CEL light ??What i have noticed is in my zen it does pop a CEL light and the same is identified when i use a jumper to jump wires in the socket located on the extreme right near the battery,with the jumper in place the CEL flashes a couple of times and i cross check with the chart which shows me which sensor is at fault..
scorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 22:30   #544
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 956
Thanked: 368 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by im_srini View Post
The IAT sensor just measures temperature, you can even pull it out of the intake & it will not cause a CEL !
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpian View Post
Are you sure disconnecting the IAT sensor would not display the CEL light ??What i have noticed is in my zen it does pop a CEL light and the same is identified when i use a jumper to jump wires in the socket located on the extreme right near the battery,with the jumper in place the CEL flashes a couple of times and i cross check with the chart which shows me which sensor is at fault.
Hi Scorpio, I guess I was rather vague, what I meant was that you can pull the IAT sensor out of the intake pipe & it will not throw a CEL. I was trying to say that the stock IAT sensor in a different intake pipe should not cause a CEL (which appears to be the case with lilMonster's Alto). In fact I've run my car with the IAT sensor out of the intake tube - wrapped in insulating foil & even ice (poor man's tri-phase) .

As you've observed, if you disconnect any of the sensors from the harness, you will get a CEL. Which is why lilMonster should be checking the sensor plug & wiring to the ECU.

Last edited by im_srini : 17th April 2010 at 22:31.
im_srini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2010, 21:02   #545
BHPian
 
scorpian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GOA
Posts: 270
Thanked: 112 Times
Default

hmmm,
i will try your poor mans tri-phase......What i did was cut and solder more length of wire and taped it to my a.c suction pipe which is chilled and boom u have the sensor thinking its super cold
scorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2010, 10:46   #546
BHPian
 
lilMonSter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New delhi
Posts: 181
Thanked: 28 Times
Default

Hey,sorry about being MIA but this weeks been hectic at work. i should hopefully upload some pics of the engine bay tomorrow. i'm planning to go and get the air filter re installed with the stock sensor and initial stock tubing like how it's done in the pic you posted. that should help resolve the CEL issue. if it does not then i guess it's back to the drawing board. do you know where i could get the intake pipe and the adapter to fit it to the stock intake tubing which houses the IAT thingie. or would i have to get it fabricated from someone. also i would like to know how much you paid for your CAI. planning to get either the apollo kit or something similar. will keep the KnN as a back up.
lilMonSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2010, 22:08   #547
Senior - BHPian
 
samsag12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: City of Nawaabs
Posts: 1,610
Thanked: 198 Times
Default

Have one serious query regarding the tire type of Pre BS4 version alto. What type of tires did alto came in were they tube ones or tubeless ones? I am talking of 2010 model Alto.
samsag12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 11:08   #548
BHPian
 
lilMonSter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New delhi
Posts: 181
Thanked: 28 Times
Default

alrighty. Got the Filter re-installed this weekend. still have the CEL. am going to take the car to m.a.s.s. this weekend so they can plug in their Diagnostic tool and tell me the reason for the cel. Hopefully this should be resolved by this weekend, otherwise i'm going back to stock setup to see if the light goes.
will keep you guys posted.
lilMonSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 11:31   #549
Senior - BHPian
 
samsag12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: City of Nawaabs
Posts: 1,610
Thanked: 198 Times
Default

Can anybody help me regarding my post no.547. Its very urgent.
samsag12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 12:05   #550
CPH
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 577
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
Have one serious query regarding the tire type of Pre BS4 version alto. What type of tires did alto came in were they tube ones or tubeless ones? I am talking of 2010 model Alto.
They should be tubeless.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 12:15   #551
Senior - BHPian
 
samsag12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: City of Nawaabs
Posts: 1,610
Thanked: 198 Times
Default

OK thanks for clearing my doubts. But why is then New Alto being hyped as its equipped with tubeless radials. If it was there in previous models then why is Maruti listing these unnecessary positive points.
samsag12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 12:58   #552
Senior - BHPian
 
Gansan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 3,427
Thanked: 875 Times
Default

All BS III Altos came with only tube type tyres as standard.
Gansan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 15:47   #553
CPH
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 577
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
OK thanks for clearing my doubts. But why is then New Alto being hyped as its equipped with tubeless radials. If it was there in previous models then why is Maruti listing these unnecessary positive points.
Possibly because sales people have got talking points. I wouldn't necessarily claim that this is a positive point from the users position. In a couple of instances I wish I had tubes at hand.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 22:08   #554
Senior - BHPian
 
samsag12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: City of Nawaabs
Posts: 1,610
Thanked: 198 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gansan View Post
All BS III Altos came with only tube type tyres as standard.
Even i thought the same but asked the question regarding this as my BS3 Alto LXi has tyres written TUBELESS. After seeing this i got confused as to what type of tyres are fitted. Or is it that tube tyres also carry the impression of TUBELESS.
Will post some pics tomorrow for reference.
samsag12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 23:33   #555
Senior - BHPian
 
Gansan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 3,427
Thanked: 875 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
Even i thought the same but asked the question regarding this as my BS3 Alto LXi has tyres written TUBELESS. After seeing this i got confused as to what type of tyres are fitted. Or is it that tube tyres also carry the impression of TUBELESS.
Will post some pics tomorrow for reference.
I am surprised. Was it bought brand new from the show room? If yes, then it must be some kind of limited edition model.

AFAIK all earlier model Altos with tubeless tyres have undergone tyre upgrade after the purhase.
Gansan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modding a Tempo Trax VooDoo Modifications & Accessories 24 25th March 2009 18:51
guys from Bangalore help me (modding accessories) samybravo Motorbikes 3 12th August 2008 15:35
modding the heavens out from esteem veyron1 Modifications & Accessories 30 21st December 2007 16:07
Car Modding in Cochin? psynaps3 Modifications & Accessories 17 9th April 2006 21:57
buying a Zen for modding zen-ith Modifications & Accessories 25 27th February 2006 12:22


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks