Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 28th March 2010, 19:33   #151

Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Wow, just seen this thread. Was guessing a gypsy [blame those FB] and here comes the CJ.
=======
Waiting for the rain
Thanks Jothi, and your company in the morning awesome.

Originally Posted by sreerajunnithan View Post
I was there when Raju opened your valve cover. Spring was so weak that i could press it down with my finger.
======
I would suggest you to change all four together if you have the luck to procure 4 brand new springs.

--Sree--
Yup Raju mentioned your hands on DwArF, to me. Yes the hunt is on for a full set of springs if possible. I will be dropping a PM to UBS also.

Originally Posted by JeepCaptain View Post
Jaggu, For Hurricane parts I think Delhi is the best not kerala. Contact bhpians renegade, harjeev or diesel_maniac, they can give you contacts or get you parts.
Shibu
Thanks Shibu, will note this down. Right now Gogi is helping me with the hunt in Mumbai. Need to send him an email with the list now

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
Jaggu, it would be interesting to know this discrepancy.
========
Gurus please correct me if I am wrong.

Spike
I will not debate with you on such things. Some more urgent work happening, including valve spring. Then only i can proceed to fine tuning.

Originally Posted by 14000rpm View Post
never realized the ICON CJ3B was already on the radar. I put up a thread on the ICON CJ3B. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...j3b-build.html
LOL yes, ICON is the inspiration for my color combo.

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear all - dwell angle for D4 family of distributors as used in all old generation vehicles is 60 degrees (cam profile is same for all).
==========
Please DO NOT use radio suppressor kit.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Thank you! Behram! its always a pleasure to read the info that you share. This one will definitely be implemented. Will revert back if i need any further clarifications.

Once again your guidance is much appreciated.

Ok, so ill be back soon with a small report of todays activities with DwArF, can be titled Kabhi Khushi Khabhi Ghum
Old 28th March 2010, 19:51   #152

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post

I will not debate with you on such things. Some more urgent work happening, including valve spring. Then only i can proceed to fine tuning.
Jaggu bhai, this is not about any argument, i just wanted to know (for my clarity) what is the right spec. Please share this once the final tune up is done. OK?

Spike
Old 28th March 2010, 21:05   #153

KKKG a fun weekend with DwArF and our friends

Saturday afternoon and i rush from work to Rudra's house, pick him up and drive to the garage. Vehicle is ready, took a test drive. The axle chatter was much better, greasing had fixed it to an extent but a combination of old and new parts could be sorted out only to an extent. Since its not a show stopper we didn't bother much.

Bigger issue was the valve spring (one silly spring on exhaust side), replaced by previous garage with god know what, but it simply doesn't help. At idle and very high rpm the valve starts competing with Sivamani. Mech is trying to source a second hand one from scrap yard and am also spreading the word. Only Popular auto said they will check with there kerala counterparts and get back about new springs. So if any of you have info or access please help

Parked snowhite at Rudra's and drove back late night to my house. DwArF was behaving much better, all the chatter watter had come down. Even the engine was feeling peppy. Meanwhile i had a chance to have a rough calculation of the FE and it was close to 7-8 hmmm i wouldn't complain if its more than 5 kmpl! This with one cylinder misbehaving.

Khan, Rudra, Redliner and myself had decided we will do a trial run this weekend. So it was the Sarjapur pit that would be the test track. Meanwhile Amit aka iceman and mjothi decided they also want to be part of this testing session. 6 am meeting was set up and for a change all arrived on time!!
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr1.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr2.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr11.jpg

We even skipped breakfast so that we could start and finish early, before the sun goes on full blast mode. Amby and Chevy followed the Spidey and 2 CJ's.

Redliner decided to enter the first pit and while i waited in Q, Khan, Jothi, Amit and Rudra decided to walk him through the track. So unfortunately no pics.

Then i followed and by that time Rudra had found a cozy spot and had started shooting away with my camera, well ol man forgot the memory card for his bazooka!!
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr3.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr5.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr6.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr7.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr8.jpg

The hurricane engine was superb, i used 4L 1st gear and was crawling (this vehicle doesn't need any crawler set!). Engine was ticking away lil above idle and once in a while i would just dab the throttle to get me over the heavier inclines. I just love the effortless way in which this engine even with 3/4 output, preformed. Only the final climb out of the pit, i decided to use 4L 2nd gear for the momentum. The clay had dried up and the NDMS were powdering it and skidding away to the glory. Decided to do it in reverse direction and that also went smooth.

Issue no 1: Come out and open the hood for a customary check and i see that the radiator hose is tearing up! Thankfully its superficial but will soon need attention. Redliner shares his escapades with radiator hoses and i decide, enough is enough and lock the unpleasant site inside the bonnet.

Solution no 1: Get better quality hose, swift d intercooler hose comes to my mind. Its long enough, almost same dia, flexible enough and can hold temp well. Thoughts please?

Meanwhile i see a parrot green MM550 racing towards us, it was Swastik Viji and his friends. This is recently done up vehicle and they also dropped in for a trial. This was one of the best thing that happened today, apart from the first OTR run for DwArF. More on this later.
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr9.jpg

Amit decides to take Spidey for a spin and with a full load of passengers. Apparently some of them wanted to check the rear seat comfort (its a virtual experience, since there is NO rear seat). But Spidey being spidey, hops over all the obstacle and then retraces the path, as if it was just another spin around the basement parking.
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr12.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr13.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr14.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr15.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr16.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr17.jpg

MM550 decides to do the trials, and man thats another awesome machine. The ease with which it tackles obstacles is something to be seen.
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr19.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr20.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr21.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr23.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr24.jpg

I really can't understand what happens to all of us, when we are with these 4x4 machine's, that we decided breakfast is not important, so it was decided to move on to pit no 2 which is further inside. Place has changed and lot of digging up has happened on the edges. Lucky for us the entry point was intact. I zoom in, yes the stupid habit of using clutch happened and zoomed into a 10 feet ditch lol. Nothing happened coz i realized my folly immediately and corrected the action.
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr25.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr26.jpg

All this action took a toll! Something has been dislodged inside the tank and DwArF sputters and stop, first instinct blame it on mechanical pump. Switched over to electrical pump but no use. And the electric pump is making good amount of noise. Pulled the fuel pipe out from carb and checked, no fuel coming in. Smart me assumed somebody will carry tools and had drove in with not even a single screw driver in hand. Same was the scene with other, except tow ropes we had nothing on us.
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr27.jpg

Not really, Viji had a Swiss knife! and he immediately made use of it. I first pointed to mechanical pump and he removed the chamber/filter cover to find a darn cotton waste bit inside. Don't know if its a mistake or somebody smart has installed it earlier to filter! Anyways removed it, used a kerchief to clean the residue, still no go. Then we decided to check out the fuel filter, removed the end towards electronic pump and fuel is not flowing out, as it should. Next step remove the tank end and we finally trace the culprit. The tube is clogged! big time. Viji does some breathing excercise and what not, but no chance. Finally i think he did a scuba dive breath and it cleared the pipe and fuel started flowing out, like a water fall.

Screwed back the tubes etc and engine pur's to life at first crank.

Issue no 2 Tank/Mech fuel pump/Carb needs cleaning.
Solution no 2 Complete clean up, so i thought! Read on for more details.

Cont.. so dont reply and spoil the fun now!
Old 28th March 2010, 21:30   #154

Ah! So this is what you guys were doing while I was learning my ropes with iMac.

Too much fun, just too much fun happening here...
Old 28th March 2010, 21:31   #155

Such is a jeeper's life, rather the weekend!

I decide to keep the revs up for a shortwhile to rule out any battery discharge and i see all moving away from DwArF, turns around and i see that MM 550 is beached! Big time! Pushing, shaking and Viji is still wheel spinning! Earlier driver has really managed to make it a monument inside the pit.
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr30.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr31.jpg

Redliner offers a tow and moves forward to position and after some serious circus, is postioned. Tow rope is attached and full throttle, but CJ is just sliding away and the MM just sitting on top of that mount. We get a bright idea to dig, and out comes the spade and handle from DwArF. Only to realize that the darn handle is a show piece which will not fit the spade!!
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr28.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr29.jpg
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr33.jpg

Amit and Rudra are watching all this from top and suddenly Amit comes down and places a bet to get the vehicle untangled. He had a simple plan, load as many as possible at the rear, so that atleast one axle gets the traction and then tow. All aboard!! and with some rocking and tugging, finally the MM is out!
Got Jeep! CJ3B Hurricane.-28otr34.jpg

We then proceed back to pit 1 to pick up the car and i realize that DwArF has lost idle, well not surprising since some gunk would have gone and chocked the idle jet. Open the hood, fiddled with idle and idle air screw and no improvement. Left the idle a lil high, for me to manage the drive back. Second gear seems to slip off to neutral once in a while i was downshifting and engine died off.

Issue 3 & 4: idle and gear slip.
Solution 3 & 4: clean up and check the shifter mechanism, maybe overhaul the whole box since some leaks are seen on it.

Return drive was pretty much uneventful, except that i was enacting a break dancer inside the jeep. Accelerator, brake and clutch, sometimes all together, sometimes in sequence! to keep the engine running. Remember no idle lol

I decided that i would open the idle jet and clean it up in the afternoon. Its a simple straight forward job, just one spanner required. But then decided that i would take it to garage and sort out all the issues reported today. Call up the mech and informs him ill drop the vehicle in an hour, since weekdays would be difficult to manage. Start's on half a crank but idle is conked. I drive 2 kms and stops at first signal, start again and move on, and 100 mts after that the engine goes phutt phutt phutt!!

Lucky road is wide, i find a cozy tree to halt, and i know what the issue is. Try electronic pump, nope no change in behavior. Pull petrol tube out and suck, blow, drink petrol but nope, no flow! darn pipe is clogged again!! Call up the mech ready to beg him, but before i do that, he offers to come. Thank god! So i sit and wait with hood up and passing traffic giving me and DwArF the looks.

I see a good samaritan pull over with the bike. He comes over and offers help? I say thanks but no, my mech is on the way. So he then asks are you part of jeep thrills, my eyes twinkle, heart races and I reply: YES!

He: What's your handle?

Me: Jaggu.

He: Am Kittigadu.

And we shake hands and hit it off! Krishna offers to bring his immaculate MM to tow me. But since its already 30 mts since i phoned my mech, i decided to wait for him and we continue our conversation about jeep and common friends.

My mech soon arrives and sends his person underneath to remove the pipe. Pipe is removed and lol no petrol coming out??! Vehicle has 3/4 tank petrol, but no flow from tank, even without tube??!! Tube is clean and clear but something has come and sat on the orffice of the tank. They tried to poke but no luck.

My mech decides that he will use an alternate route to pull petrol from tank and drive to garage. Alternate point being the filler cap side, but we dont have long hose. But then he suddenly remembers the coolant tank hose, pulls it out. Blow it dry of residue, plug it to the electric pump. Borrows some cloth from Kittigadu to fix the tube and seal the mouth. Uses some plastic cover to tie the whole set up.

Crank the engine and first shot she fires up. I hand over the list of issues to him and will be meeting him this week sometime.

Krishna offers to drop me back home on his bike. Had some good fun with the jeep and now she is back at the garage

But more than the jeep, its the jeepers that make the whole experience worthwhile. Be it Khan who helped me with the hunt. Viji who without even asking offered the mechanical help, and got back DwArF from the pit, or be it Kittigadu, who just pulled over and gave me company, while i was stranded helpless on the side of the road.

3 Cheers to all of them and their jeeps!

Update finitoooo, from a petrol breather!
Old 28th March 2010, 21:33   #156

Jaggu bhai, this is not about any argument, i just wanted to know (for my clarity) what is the right spec. Please share this once the final tune up is done. OK?

Spike
Spikee i meant in a good way ok!

You seriously want me to experiment? I can do that for you, but please give me sometime coz of the above update i need timeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!
Old 28th March 2010, 21:57   #157

Dear Jaggu - SO SIMPLE YAAR! You have a 20 litre military jerry can in your Jeep. Keep it filled & use it when required. And yes, for using it to bypass the main tank and reach home, please keep at least 20/30 ft of ordinary "6-rupees-per-foot-wallah-pilashtic ka" pipe in your Jeep. I have been in such situations innumerable times in my Fiats and have also gotten out of them in a jiffy. Connect a pipe here, insert it into a plastic jerry can in the dicky there and off I go! I have done Mumbai / Pune / Mumbai like this very nonchalantly, stopping to top up a small 10 litre jerry can every 70 kms or so (with the wifey fuming of course!).

In your case, it is very clear - DO NOT WASTE TIME, EFFORT AND MONEY. YOU WILL HAVE TO CHANGE THE FUEL TANK. MAY GOD HELP YOU FIND ONE! If you don't get a petrol tank (the material of the petrol tank is terne plate which does not get deteriorated after coming in contact with petrol), as a last resort you may use a diesel tank (which is ordinary sheet metal), but be prepared for a maximum of 1 year of effective life only.

After you have changed the tank, cut this one open. You will be amazed at the amount of muck that will come out.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 28th March 2010, 22:02   #158

Dear Jaggu - SO SIMPLE YAAR! You have a 20 litre military jerry can in your Jeep. Keep it filled & use it when required.

In your case, it is very clear - DO NOT WASTE TIME, EFFORT AND MONEY. YOU WILL HAVE TO CHANGE THE FUEL TANK. MAY GOD HELP YOU FIND ONE!
Yes sir, lesson learned! Now i know what to do and what all to carry And yes my worry is the same with diesel tank, though if things are not working with this tank, that will be the only immediate option.

Does diesel tank's have a return line also? Then its a minor good news to me

EDIT: Any idea if other cars like omni/ m800 tank would fit? If its new gen fiber ones its better! Need to take some dimensions!

Last edited by Jaggu : 28th March 2010 at 22:07.
Old 28th March 2010, 22:11   #159

Spikee i meant in a good way ok!
You seriously want me to experiment? I can do that for you, but please give me sometime coz of the above update i need timeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!
I took it in good sense only. Don't experiment with your Jeep, but do share your experience (as always) when every thing is done. Any more pics of the DwArF in action?

Spike

P.S. With a CJ3B isn't it easy to troubleshoot things? Once set nothing can go wrong. What say?

Last edited by SPIKE ARRESTOR : 28th March 2010 at 22:18. Reason: add info
Old 28th March 2010, 22:39   #160

Redliner offers a tow and moves forward to position and after some serious circus, is postioned.
I aim to please, sir Believe me, I was ready to jump out

My steering is so warped, I think my steering play is between the earth and the moon. There is hardly any direct steering feel or contact between me and the ground.

Unfortunately, this has been the case since day 1. So, I am afraid this is the first thing that needs to be sorted out pronto in the coming week.
Old 28th March 2010, 22:48   #161

Any more pics of the DwArF in action?

Spike

P.S. With a CJ3B isn't it easy to troubleshoot things? Once set nothing can go wrong. What say?
Nope no more pics since Mr Sen was missing his beloved cam, shooting was minimal. And yes so far things are kinda simple with the jeep when it comes to trouble shoot. Trouble starts when i try to procure parts lol

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
I aim to please, sir Believe me, I was ready to jump out

My steering is so warped, I think my steering play is between the earth and the moon. There is hardly any direct steering feel or contact between me and the ground.
Please spent that 7k INR to get a brand new steering box and assembly, trust me it makes a hell lot of difference and i have experienced it myself And we need roll over bars and seat belts!
Old 28th March 2010, 23:27   #162

Dear Jaggu - diesel tank will have return line connection as injectors / pump both throw out overflow fuel, but this will be suitable for a banjo connection. Just use a banjo with 2 brass washers freely available in any store and connect with the "pilashtic" pipe.

Good luck. You need to go below the vehicle, come up, conjure up something, try it, go down, discard it, come up, conjure up something else till you get the "perfect fit". My mind works at the speed of a bullet train. Please train your mind to think similarly. If you want a good CJ3B with a good hurricane engine, this is the only way. Very few people will understand this.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 28th March 2010, 23:30   #163

It is indeed a troublefree machine.

It was a bad idea to run the jeep with a faulty exhaust valve. This will damage the Head to a large extent, leading to more wait and expenses.

As per Jaggu's find on the fuel tank having return line, even a petrol jeep tank has the return line.

You dont need to change carb for having unburnt fuel drive back to the fuel tank. Use a simple "Y" adapter at the carb's fuel intake tap, run the other line back to your fuel tank, problem solved.

P.S. = Kindly make use of copper pipes (Commonly used AutoLPG kits copper line) for you petrol lines. One decant can be used inside the tank so as to not pick up dirt in the tank. Even using 2 fuel filters also will help. If using an electric fuel pump, have it installed below the tank, makes replacement an easy job and it will not get hot. Some mechanics have them installed in the engine bay, thats a nasty idea.

Also dont remove fuel line from the carb to check fuel flow. This can prove fatal, as the exhaust manifold is just below the carb, a little contact can lead to fire.

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 28th March 2010 at 23:32.
Old 28th March 2010, 23:43   #164

man i missed out on all the fun.. looks like you guys had a blast. So how many days more work on the Dwarf jaggu??
Old 28th March 2010, 23:51   #165

Dear Jaggu - diesel tank will have return line connection
========
My mind works at the speed of a bullet train.
You are sometimes a tease and i got your point, will do. These will be mostly weekend projects accomplished myself, after proper research and parts procurement. Your posts have opened up my mind

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
It is indeed a troublefree machine.

It was a bad idea to run the jeep with a faulty exhaust valve. This will damage the Head to a large extent, leading to more wait and expenses.
=============
Also dont remove fuel line from the carb to check fuel flow. This can prove fatal, as the exhaust manifold is just below the carb, a little contact can lead to fire.
Yes Pawan, hunt is on for the spring and damage would have happened by now, since its been running this for long. Ill just push it as much as possible with a new spring till i need to go for a full rebuild :(

Petrol jeep tank has return fuel lines? Mine doesn't have I do have copper pipes and electronic pump is sitting next to tank after the filter (read as not inside the bay).

DB has given instruction on return line in detail and right now am not worried since the mechanical pump is working fine.

Fuel line removal was done as a act of frustration and no we ensured line was away from the manifold since it sits on the other side

Originally Posted by hgnishanth View Post
So how many days more work on the Dwarf jaggu??
No clue and don't care, as long as i can get things sorted out before monsoon. Thats when the real fun starts, right now all the off-roaders are hibernating inside their cave's. Thanks to the heat.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com