Old 10th September 2007, 09:39   #376

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Navin - any specific recommendations? I want to use damping on my firewall too. Can you recommend specific brands to be used on the inside (not planning to do it engine-side as it will require a lot of work to remove the engine and stuff.

PS: Someone was also mentioning some sort of very-high-density rubber-based spray on material for damping. What could that be?
I used AD for teh inside since I had 24 sheets. but you can use Dynamat or it's cousins. Basically butyl is lighter and more effective than asphalt so stick to butyl.
Old 14th September 2007, 19:07   #377

Door Damping Done !

Atlast the material has arrived, I did my installation of Dynamat Xtreme on all doors + hatch. Already feeling the difference of cutting down outside noise, more musical interior, "thhuum" effect of closing the door (same as BM and Merc doors). Will be checking the difference for a week and then decide on the floors and boot for further work. I got a good deal from Vikram (15% discount on MRP), installation is not bad too.

Front door on process !

Back door 90% done !

Last edited by shajufx : 14th September 2007 at 19:14.
Old 14th September 2007, 19:45   #378

Nice job on the dampening. How many sheets you used up? And what is the price? I am thinking of ordering these from US ebay and get it carried by a friend. If its cheaper out here will buy it in india itself.
Old 14th September 2007, 21:10   #379

I used 2 door kits of Dyanamat Xtreme. Each Kit contains 4 sheets. You can find more details here Door Kit I got it done at Carshringar opposite Globus (close to garuda mall). Hatch door was done with the remaining cuttings of the back doors, so 2 door kits served the purpose. It came to Rs.10500/- including installation of 300 bucks.
Old 15th September 2007, 11:36   #380

US ebay would be way cheaper than buying it in India.
Old 15th September 2007, 11:51   #381

Somebody was saying the heavier Wurth is a better bet for firewall damping to reduce engine noise. Can someone confirm this? Once I figure out the brand I'll buy the stuff here and ship it down.
Old 15th September 2007, 12:03   #382

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Somebody was saying the heavier Wurth is a better bet for firewall damping to reduce engine noise. Can someone confirm this? Once I figure out the brand I'll buy the stuff here and ship it down.
Yes, its true, the heavier Weurth is very good, though expensive. Its actually industrial grade damping.
Old 17th September 2007, 13:22   #383

Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
I used 2 door kits of Dyanamat Xtreme. Each Kit contains 4 sheets. You can find more details here Door Kit I got it done at Carshringar opposite Globus (close to garuda mall). Hatch door was done with the remaining cuttings of the back doors, so 2 door kits served the purpose. It came to Rs.10500/- including installation of 300 bucks.
Thats way to expensive than whats available on US ebay. I am planning to order 9 bulk Dynamat extreme sheets for $117 ( Rs.4.7K) that would suffice for my entire car
Old 17th September 2007, 13:27   #384

Do you intend to get them shipped to India directly or someone's carrying them for you?
Old 17th September 2007, 13:39   #385

Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Do you intend to get them shipped to India directly or someone's carrying them for you?
A friend of mine is in Minneapolis right now and is coming back during 1st week october and will be carrying it back. Hope there wont be any customs issue for it?
Old 17th September 2007, 14:35   #386

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
A friend of mine is in Minneapolis right now and is coming back during 1st week october and will be carrying it back. Hope there wont be any customs issue for it?
naah! no ways....unless they percieve it to be a "bomb banaane ka samaan"
Old 17th September 2007, 16:13   #387

naah! no ways....unless they percieve it to be a "bomb banaane ka samaan"
Pantyji now wouldn't that be a Security guys problem rather than the Customs problem?

Old 17th September 2007, 17:24   #388

I got the rear hatch damped with dynamat xtreme. costed me 2300. Check out the pics....the sound has really improved and bass response is much much better. Rattling of the hatch door has stopped. Its worth the money I spent Thanks to shajufx for some advice he gave me

There was a bit of dynamat installed on the front doors too, but only around the speakers and behind the speakers on the door..but unfortunately I do not have any pics :(
Old 17th September 2007, 17:35   #389

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Pantyji now wouldn't that be a Security guys problem rather than the Customs problem?

bhai sahab, security se to pass ho jayega, problem would arise when he opens this in front of customs wala, which in turn, would call security.

I've witnessed this, I had a tough time explaining what exactly is this and whass the purpose. I'd to literally make him understand the logic on the internet and explain him that I was getting it cheaper and hence have brought it.
Old 17th September 2007, 17:38   #390

bhai sahab, security se to pass ho jayega, problem would arise when he opens this in front of customs wala, which in turn, would call security.
Arre, apne bhai sahab Kingfisher ke aage koi plane mein baithe hi nahin hai. Local passenger hain. Only security, no customs. Please excuse his ignorance.