Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 29th January 2011, 12:40   #1666
BHPian

Re: The GPS/Maps Discussion Thread (Dedicated Satnav, Smartphones, Tablets, etc)

I have been using MMI for the last 6 months or so. Barring one incident where I was led to the wrong place (opposite direction altogether) the goings been good so far.
Old 29th January 2011, 13:03   #1667
Senior - BHPian

Re: The GPS/Maps Discussion Thread (Dedicated Satnav, Smartphones, Tablets, etc)

Which is the best place from where I can buy Map My India GPS device in Mumbai?

I would like to have a demo of their device & also the best pricing. Do they send their sales executive at your door step?
Old 30th January 2011, 17:50   #1668
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by shankar.balan View Post
basis this thread I recently cross-checked for comparison purposes.
Ive got an N8 with all the relevant maps loaded in it.

I find the speed of response and "live stream" per se, far far better in my Garmin than my Nokia, while driving in city or on highway.

also the size of the screen and the way the garmin is mounted on the windshield makes for a far clearer picture with minimum fiddly fuss. trying to use the Nokia the same way as I can use the Garmin is not so user friendly nor so efficient as per my experience.

I would vastly prefer to use the garmin for actual "live" driving requirements. The Nokia I will use happily to pin point my position while perhaps walking about or if I want to figure out how to get general directions in a strange city.