Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 7th September 2012, 11:24   #736

Re: The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al)

A comparison of all popular tablets in the market currently if anyone is interested. Image is watermarked so credit to the website.
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al)-tablet-war.jpg
Old 7th September 2012, 13:15   #737

Originally Posted by rohan_iitr View Post
How is the Micromax Funbook Alpha different from the original Funbook ?

It seems Micromax is using their customers for the alpha and beta testing.

I will wait till they come up with a final production ready version.

Rohan
The Micromax Alpha is based on the Allwinner A13 chip, The A13 chip does not support HDMI output, hence The Micromax Alpha will not support HDMI. The Alpha is priced at 5999/-

The other Options in the market with the same specifications are

The Fronix Star priced @ 5490/-
Veedee D13 priced @ 4999/-
Old 8th September 2012, 10:33   #738

The Price war seems to have intensfied in the Budget tablet market, Veedee has now introduced a 1GB DDR tablet named as Veedee E10 for a price of Rs.5490/- on Veedeedirect

http://www.veedeedirect.com/product/...-id-44254.html

Its also availiable on ebay @5990/- with a 16GB Memory card free.

Dont know how the product is as there are no reviews on it
Old 13th September 2012, 14:18   #739

Which is the best tablet under Rs.20,000.

My requirement is :-

-- Movie (Should be full HD).
-- Songs.
-- Game (not hardcore).
-- Occasional net surfing (when travelling).
-- HDMI port.
-- Memory card slot.
-- Good After Sales Service.
-- Voice calling / video calling is a bonus.

I have shortlisted MMX funbook pro, iBerry Auxus AX03G, HCL Y2 and Samsung TAB2 7 inch.
Kindly guide me which one is better. Or any other model you suggest.
Old 13th September 2012, 14:26   #740

I too have similiar requirements and i picked up XOOM MZ 601 from US for 400 USD . it meets everything other than after sales service. just using it for WIFI tethering to browse on my laptop .

As for funbook and other goes, pls note that they will work with USB dongles ( tata ) . see if you can manage with dongle,s protruding out from side .
Old 13th September 2012, 16:05   #741

Originally Posted by KALINGA View Post

-- Songs.
-- Game (not hardcore).
-- HDMI port.
-- Memory card slot.

I have shortlisted MMX funbook pro, iBerry Auxus AX03G, HCL Y2 and Samsung TAB2 7 inch.
Originally Posted by .sushilkumar View Post
I too have similiar requirements and i picked up XOOM MZ 601 from US for 400 USD . it meets everything other than after sales service. just using it for WIFI tethering to browse on my laptop .

As for funbook and other goes, pls note that they will work with USB dongles ( tata ) . see if you can manage with dongle,s protruding out from side .
I would suggest that you consider Samsung Tab 7. It doesnt have HDMI out but over all a very good tablet. It has calling facility too.
Old 16th September 2012, 01:13   #742

Re: Which is the best tablet under Rs.20,000.

-- Songs.
-- Game (not hardcore).
-- HDMI port.
-- Memory card slot.

My vote goes to Samsung Tab2, as I have both in my house, funbook is good but you'll miss the 3G and calling feature in it.
As your budget is 20K, I don't think you should struggle with any other brand/product.

Go for Tab2 and you'll love the freedom of having best Tab in your hands.
Old 16th September 2012, 03:00   #743

Guys, need your help in picking up a <10K tab. I am a noob in this direction. My requirements are below.

Need wi-fi + 3G [via dongle will do, hv a Photon+] - MUST
PDF / Word / PPT / Excel required [could be installed later I guess] - MUST

Browsing net / mailing etc.
If I can get the latest OS installed from company, well & good.
Decent storage [don't mind external memory]
Will be used to work on some web applications and report churning, so I guess a good resolution is desirable as well (?).
Preferably 7".
Am sure I will use it for gaming too, but nothing hard core. Some nice games to keep me busy, that's it!
This will be a stop gap arrangement till I get my laptop in some time [6 months].

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 16th September 2012 at 03:02.
Old 16th September 2012, 08:01   #744

I've been loaned a Kohjinsha SA1F00. It's a real tiny laptop. No cd rom, but it runs windows xp & has decent ram. Output through VGA facility exists.

Now my problem is I want to reinstall windows xp. The external webcam & some drivers are not being recognised.

Do i need a plug and play CD rom for this or USB installation of OS is possible.?

It's the size of todays netbooks, but its a fully functional laptop.
Old 16th September 2012, 10:59   #745

Originally Posted by Ford5 View Post
Now my problem is I want to reinstall windows xp. The external webcam & some drivers are not being recognised.

Do i need a plug and play CD rom for this or USB installation of OS is possible.?
First source out the drivers for the webcam/missing HW if they are not common (i.e., not part of windows XP install disk) before u go ahead with re-installation. You can install the missing drivers for the detected hardware without having to re-install the OS (if you have them with you).

Install of WinXp via USB should be possible by making a boot USB (search on the internet for ways to do it). Just cross check that the laptop can boot from the USB by looking into its bios (it should, but just a check).

Edit: my response was based the mention of "laptop". Is this a tab running windows?

Last edited by null : 16th September 2012 at 11:01. Reason: Edit
Old 16th September 2012, 16:29   #746

Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
I would suggest that you consider Samsung Tab 7. It doesnt have HDMI out but over all a very good tablet. It has calling facility too.
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
My vote goes to Samsung Tab2, as I have both in my house, funbook is good but you'll miss the 3G and calling feature in it.
As your budget is 20K, I don't think you should struggle with any other brand/product.

Go for Tab2 and you'll love the freedom of having best Tab in your hands.
Thank you very much for your suggestion.
I have almost finalize the SAMSUNG Tab2 P300. The price is around 19,400 rupees in pune.

Currently you can not find a white tab2 in pune.I think the white one is most popular. Even flipkart/Samsung showroom do not have the white model right now. This model will be available in next 1 week.

Otherwise HCL Y2 is also a good one. Except it do not have the Android market access. This is a drawback for this model.
Old 16th September 2012, 17:42   #747

Originally Posted by null View Post
my response was based the mention of "laptop". Is this a tab running windows?
It falls in the category of UMPC (ultra mobile pc) & it runs on Microsofts tablet PC OS. So do tablet PC's boot of the USb? My results turned out negative...
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al)-kohjinsha_01sa1f00v.jpg  

Old 16th September 2012, 22:54   #748

I have almost finalize the SAMSUNG Tab2 P300. The price is around 19,400 rupees in pune.

Currently you can not find a white tab2 in pune.I think the white one is most popular. Even flipkart/Samsung showroom do not have the white model right now. This model will be available in next 1 week.
I just picked up the Grey one yesterday for 19, 700 from the ezone in Phoenix mall. They also had the White one available.

Incidentally, I also have the One X and comparing a 1.2 ghz dual core to a 1.5 ghz, both running ICS 4.0.4, one with Touchwiz and one with Sense, I can't really fault the lower power in the tab. A bit of lag, I can live with. I hope it doesn't get worse when its app-loaded. And Touchwiz v. Sense, really Sense is waaay better looking and has better looking widgets and Touchwiz is on par with the functionality of Sense so these should never be more than a minor consideration.

I need to find a good case for it but cant seem to find too many contenders. Any help there?

Last edited by thewhiteknight : 16th September 2012 at 22:58.
Old 17th September 2012, 03:12   #749

Was reading thru Blackberry pages and apparently there has been a mega sale for Playbook in Canada 2-3 days back - $99 for 16GB & $118 for 32GB. This was mainly done by Staples to match Walmart's price and they are out of stock! Looks like pre-ordering is still ON and they have some pieces in some of the stores. Can't buy it online as of now.
Old 18th September 2012, 02:14   #750

Otherwise HCL Y2 is also a good one. Except it do not have the Android market access. This is a drawback for this model.
White is available on tradus.
And looks available on flipkart too, however flipkart is not loading properly at this hour.