Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 18th September 2012, 17:55   #751

Re: The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al)

Get to china guys and pick up good tabs in $45

http://venturebeat.com/2012/09/15/hardware-is-dead/

Interesting read!
Old 19th September 2012, 12:18   #752

Hello All,

posting on behalf of a friend. he is planning to get a basic entry level tab for tp useage. basic gaming and probably watching movies on his lcd via hdmi out on the tab. he had shortlisted the below 2

1. iBall Tablet PC Slide - i6012 @ INR 7090/-
Source : http://www.ebay.in/itm/ws/eBayISAPI....ht_2894wt_1139

2. Ainol Novo 7 Aurora II @ INR 7990/-
Source : http://www.ainolindia.com/ainol-novo-7-aurora-2.html

Now i found both more or less in terms of specs and all considering his useage. With Ainol's advanatge at resolution " 7 inch IPS display with 1024*600 resolutions" But i personally feel that with iBall having nation wide service centers it would be more beneficial.

Any iBall Slide users? I have not seen either of the 2 tabs in person and my knowledge is based on what ever info given on their respective sites.

Last edited by h@r$h@l : 19th September 2012 at 12:21.
Old 19th September 2012, 22:45   #753

^^^
Your best bet would be the Fronix Aurora II, the tab comes from Pune based Fronix Technology is priced at 6990/- , but currently availiable only on prebooking, deliveries will start on 25th Sept, please google search for fronix aurora II, their entry level fronix star already sold out in15 days
Old 20th September 2012, 10:07   #754

Link for Fronix Aurora II

http://www.fronixtech.com/aurora-II.html

Sprry for the back to back post, yesterday night my net connection was very slow, hence I could not post the link
Old 20th September 2012, 10:40   #755

Has anyone tried the Karbonn Tab-2 ?
http://www.karbonntablet.com/new-kar...-2-jelly-bean/
Old 20th September 2012, 11:05   #756

Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post
Has anyone tried the Karbonn Tab-2 ?
http://www.karbonntablet.com/new-kar...-2-jelly-bean/
Dont Know about the Karbonn smart tab 2, but the earlier one was really bad, had lot of complaints, even this one under user complaints in the link provided by you, do not seem to be going well with the users, add to that Karbonn's after sales service which is pathetic

I feel the Fronix Aurora II offers better sepcifications, and has 42 service centres through out India, wait for some reviews before you order one.
Old 21st September 2012, 19:42   #757

Need help from the experts,

I have a chinese Tablet (Onda MID) running in Android version : 4.0.3 (baseband version 0.8, kernel ver 3.0.8+). I am currently using only wifi. I wanted to use my reliance netconnect+ in this. How do I configure this? I have the USB mini to normal converter to connect the data card.

Rajesh
Old 22nd September 2012, 03:27   #758

I was considering purchasing the Google Nexus 7.
The main uses for the tab will be -

1) Display data from the OBD reader using an app like Torque.
2) Easy viewing and editing of documents on the go.
3) Showcasing designs/photos etc.
4) Watching movies on the go.

Are there any other tablets which will fulfill all my requirements and be more VFM than the Nexus 7?
Old 22nd September 2012, 09:59   #759

Hybrid PC is coming with Windows 8.

The way you want it, laptop or Tablet
Old 22nd September 2012, 10:55   #760

Originally Posted by dadu View Post
Hope these when used as laptops can be rested on your lap and the combination is sturdy enough.

Some of the players have keyboards attached to these and the combination can only be placed on a desk. They should be good enough to place on the lap and should not detach when used as a laptop. Guess that would require some strong coupling between the keyboard and the tablet itself
Old 24th September 2012, 01:01   #761
LDJ

Re: iPad-ed !!!!

Originally Posted by hondafanboy View Post
If you are not a die hard fan of apple or android..and if you can wait for couple more months ..then take a look at this Surface by Microsoft. Its quite different . They could release it at a lower price to catch up.

Microsoft Surface Tablets Unveiled (10.6", 9.3mm, 1080p HD, Windows 8 Pro & RT Models & Much More!) - YouTube
Should You Wait For Surface? - TechExperience
Microsoft Surface vs Apple's new iPad

Bingo!! IMO It seems to me that the ipad can't really climb to new heights if anything it will only be making tiny changes each year but a Microsoft tablet opens windows to all sorts of possibilities that have been extremely limited with the other android tablets and the ipad. The reason most people enjoy Microsoft over Apple is the versatility of their products. The ability to trouble shoot and customize your own device with a windows OS is huge draw for me. Apple is a plug n play device just like it's ipods. It's a device set to give you certain product access limited only to what they provide. Don't get me wrong the Apple products do make organizing your apps, music, etc easier. They have a huge store. For the people who don't know how to use new technology well, that's a plus. With windows products I already know where to go to get what I like to use for free so no need to waste my money on the itunes store. I think it's one reason why Apple hasn't provided usb ports or expansion slots because they like having control over what their users are capable of doing with their device. If I'm paying serious $$$ for a device I want control over what I can put on it and where I can go to get it.

Last edited by LDJ : 24th September 2012 at 01:03.
Old 24th September 2012, 10:23   #762

Originally Posted by slicvic View Post
I have a deal for a playbook, box piece, purchased abroad, for 8000 rupees. Is it a good deal. Shall I go for it?

Thanks for all your inputs, i went ahead and got it last week. (yeah after a long delay in shipment)
Now i put it on yesterday and i cant get beyond the initial setup screens.I get to the point where it has a drop screen to select Country but there is nothing there to pick from.

How do i proceed?
Old 25th September 2012, 12:39   #763

hello all,

a small query on behalf of a friend. he got himself the samsung galaxy tab 2 7" wifi only model from US. got it at a fantastic deal of $200. all was working great until now. today while he was browsing on it there was the power failure and his wifi network at home went off. now afyer the power came back on, his tab is unable to connect to his home network. when he scans for available networks he is able to see all the networks except his. his network is working well as all his other devices are now connecting to the router as normally they would.

out of frustration he even formatted his tab and reset tab & router to factory settings but still no luck.

any pointers?
Old 25th September 2012, 13:16   #764

Re: Which is the best tablet under Rs.20,000.

Originally Posted by KALINGA View Post

Which is the best tablet under Rs.20,000.

My requirement is :-

-- Movie (Should be full HD).
-- Songs.
-- Game (not hardcore).
-- Occasional net surfing (when travelling).
-- HDMI port.
-- Memory card slot.
-- Good After Sales Service.
-- Voice calling / video calling is a bonus.

I have shortlisted MMX funbook pro, iBerry Auxus AX03G, HCL Y2 and Samsung TAB2 7 inch.
Kindly guide me which one is better. Or any other model you suggest.
I bought a MicroMax FunBook Pro 10.1 Tablet from VIJAYA SALES.
It bundles with a TATA Photon 3G Dongle.
Price is 9999. Could not able to get any discount this time.

Till now no issue found except the charger heats up quickly when charging.
Battery backup is very good. WI-FI is excellent.
Tried Highway Rider,Angry Bird and Temple Runner game. Nothing to complain about.

Need to try the Full HD movie and Songs. Waiting for my 16GB memory card to arrive.

Last edited by KALINGA : 25th September 2012 at 13:21.
Old 25th September 2012, 13:51   #765

Originally Posted by dadu View Post
The way you want it, laptop or Tablet
Looks like more companies are coming out with these products.
The Asus Transformer has been around for more than a year now.
Although this has been on Android, so all of your usual Tablet/Phone apps would fit in.

http://www.asus.com/Tablet/Transform...er_Pad_TF300T/

Last edited by Fillmore : 25th September 2012 at 13:53.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com