Old 15th March 2008, 20:52   #196

Thank you for that, what you say is exactly in line with other advice received.

Actually, it turned out to be the best of several cars we saw, it didn't, at least, need a full set of new tires!

Plans have changed and we are helping her to buy a new Alto.

I'm envious, because nobody ever helped me to buy a car! But that's a good enough reason to do it for someone else, I guess
Old 15th March 2008, 23:42   #197

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
I'm envious, because nobody ever helped me to buy a car! But that's a good enough reason to do it for someone else, I guess
Absolutely! Lucky her
I am by no means an expert now, but I have learnt a few things over the years. I remember I had taken a printed checklist (got it off the net) of things to look out for in a used car. The dealer had acted very impressed then... must have had a nice chuckle at my expense after he had stiffed me!!
New car is always a safer option. All the best!
Old 20th March 2008, 16:43   #198

I just came across a Used Esteem. Car details are

1. Model 2007 September
2. Free Services done 1
3. Asking price 4 L
4 Run 4500 Kms
5. Model VXI
6. Extra Fittings - looks like Leather Seating, a el chepo kenwood music system with 4 speakers.

What would be a good price. The exshowroom price in the invoice shown is 4.56 L and plus another 60 K in insurance and registration.

Car wale says 4.5L is a good price. But considering that Esteems were sold for a discount in end of 2007 i am skeptical.

Would appreciate any and all advices
Old 20th March 2008, 22:47   #199

Used Palio NV 1.2

I am interested in the following used car-
Fiat Palio NV 1.2 sport
Oct-2005, 34000km
Asking price is Rs.2,65,000
Seller says- Excellent condition, fitted with tubeless tyres, K&N filter, sony explode sytem with subwoofer.

The km run is not too much and if he has maintained it in excellent condition as he says may I quote Rs.2,40,000 for this?

Old 21st March 2008, 08:04   #200

2005 Palio NV 1.2 offer

I am interested in the following used car up for sale-
Fiat Palio NV 1.2 sport
Oct-2005, 34000km
Asking price is Rs.2,65,000
Seller says- Excellent condition, fitted with tubeless tyres, K&N filter, sony explode sytem with subwoofer.

The km run is not too much and if he has maintained it in excellent condition as he says, may I quote Rs.2,25,000 for this?
Old 21st March 2008, 11:07   #201

where are all the palioites?
Old 21st March 2008, 11:43   #202

As always, get it checked. Dont go by what he says.

Per Carwale, you are close to the fair value for that car, for those specifications (running, model etc) - but excluding the sub & the K&N.
Old 22nd March 2008, 00:41   #203

Was searching for a pre owned, Automatic car for the wife.
The following were the specifications the car had to adhere to;
1) It should be an A/T (Automatic transmission)
2) It should be a low mileage car
3) It should be sparingly used and in good condition
4) It should have a Bombay Registeration.
6) It should not be more than four years old.

The choice was to be made out of the following cars;

# Honda City CVT (NHC)
# Toyota Corolla
# Skoda Octavia

Found that these were not so easy to come by cosidering ther specifications I was looking for.
To my surprise, there were a lot of Civics available.

After a lot of searching, the following was the outcome;
Either the car was a non Bombay number, or was a high mileage car or it was more than 4 years old.
I test drove a 33K Skoda Octavia Elegance quoting 6.5L but disappeared into thin air when I followed up with him showing interest. I thought if I got the car for around 5.75 it would be ideal.
Then I saw a 2005 end NHC CVT (I realised that, amongst the dealer network, it is referred to as the "Dolphin Shape"
Its a champagne colour with leather and GXI badging ( I thought they were made only in one trim with no leather..maybe this was an after market fitment)The guy was quoting 5.75 and the car had done 19K only. Looks good and has no accident tell tales. Offered him 4.90 and asked him to get back to me tomorrow. Hope it works out as ive seen that low mileage and deals in this category are hard to come by.
During this search I found a silver Skoda RS 2005 done only 14K, in Mint condition and a very attractive price (hint to Richimni, Ranjit,...its cheaper than the Delhi RS by 50K)
Keep watching, hopefully ill start a new thread titled "My Skoda RS" ..soon

Last edited by V-16 : 22nd March 2008 at 00:44.
Old 22nd March 2008, 01:19   #204

Chalo, best of luck with both the prospective purchases Gogiji!

Old 22nd March 2008, 01:22   #205

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Chalo, best of luck with both the prospective purchases Gogiji!

For the second purchase, if it happens, Peter will get a call from my end soooon!!
Also, Pops away for the weekend
Old 22nd March 2008, 01:34   #206

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Also, Pops away for the weekend
No wonder you're feeling so frisky!!!
Old 22nd March 2008, 10:56   #207

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Was searching for a pre owned, Automatic car for the wife.
The following were the specifications the car had to adhere to;
1) It should be an A/T (Automatic transmission)
2) It should be a low mileage car
3) It should be sparingly used and in good condition
4) It should have a Bombay Registeration.
6) It should not be more than four years old.

The choice was to be made out of the following cars;

# Honda City CVT (NHC)
# Toyota Corolla
# Skoda Octavia
@ Gogi, for the NHC CVT, do check out Shaman used cars. Since they are dealers for Ford as well as Honda (atleast honda A.S.S), they have a very good selection.

When I bought my Ikon from them in December, they had at least 2 NHC CVT's available, one Auto CIvic & even a couple of auto Accords.

Prices are fair (as far as dealers go and after a bit of haggling) and I'm pretty pleased with the service.

Let me know if you need a contact person there.

For the Octavia, I had seen several of them at Sai Service, Worli. I wouldn't reccomend them though, because I had a terrible experience with them trying to sell me an absolute lemon.

All the best with your purchases !!

Suhail

Last edited by swale84 : 22nd March 2008 at 10:57.
Old 22nd March 2008, 22:21   #208

Auto be damned!!! Get the RS!!!
Old 23rd March 2008, 19:56   #209

was looking at this link 2002 Opel Corsa 1.6 GSI .. Price 2 sell..

Fully Loaded 2002 Opel Corsa 1.6 GSI for Sale
Year : 2002
Make : Opel
Model: Corsa 1.6 GSI
Color : Silver Metallic
Odometer Reading @ 38K Kms
A/C, Power steering, Power windows, central locking, Auto cop Remote Locking
Blaupunkt Music System, Original Bridge Stone Radial Tyres, Unused additional fifth Tyre Mint Condition. Available for inspection @ RMZ building near SAP Campus, Whitefield on week days. All service records in Garuda/TVS Opel

Showrooms available. Original manual for Car, music system, remote locking etc available.
Asking is 2 lakhs ? , should it not be more than 1 lakh ?

Is 1.6 , a 2002 model worth ?
Old 23rd March 2008, 20:01   #210

Somewhere around 1-1.5L depending on the condition, tops.