Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 18th November 2019, 09:11   #6316
BHPian

Re: Buying, Owning, Driving and Maintaining a car in North America

Quote:
Originally Posted by vj123 View Post
In his case, buying might be a better option as he will easily overshoot 15k miles per year (max mileage option in a lease).
Thanks vj123. I'll discuss the same with my friend and see how things progess.

Quote:
Different brands have different requirements. I was planning to buy a Mustang when i graduated and Ford approved me for a lease (with limited credit history) and not a loan. Some local credit unions will offer auto loans for people with no or limited credit history.
Happy to hear that both Lease and Auto Loans are possible for people with no credit history.

Quote:
Dealers can manipulate customers very easily with any lease. Most dealers would not share money factor and residual of a lease and this makes it really difficult to understand the deal. They would try to convince the customer with monthly payments which is a terrible way of buying any vehicle.
Dealers are Dealers right, be it India or US, they'd obviously be looking to increase their profits, especially with new car buyers.

Quote:
Most Ford offices do not have parking structure or covered parking for employees. I think there is an option of parking closer to few buildings if the person who owns a Ford vehicle. If one puts in some effort and time, you can get better deal than the ones offered to Ford employees.
Thank you. Will know the situation today once he's back from his first day at work.

Quote:
I have not heard huge difference in auto insurance quote between owned and leased vehicle. Auto insurance payments would be in addition to lease payments and can be substantial for few models. I know people who have decided their vehicle models mainly based on auto insurance quotes.