Old 12th May 2018, 19:36   #481

Re: TVS Apache RR 310 launched at Rs. 2.05 lakh

Originally Posted by PrasannaDhana View Post
Is this some kind of a joke? Chain sprocket 15000 rupees! God bless TVS.
Don't see any reason why it should be so expensive, when its all manufactured in India. Its a shame if it is indeed so high - these rates are comparable to the CKD 300s - even more incase of parts like the chain sprocket.

BMW 310s parts might be priced at a premium to this too.

PS - And the 15k chain seems to be the most defective part as per owner complaints (like Athek).

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 12th May 2018 at 19:39.
Old 12th May 2018, 20:16   #482

Don't see any reason why it should be so expensive, ).
Exactly!

When you are trying to get a foothold in a new segment, and are pretty successful at the start, why do you want to mess up the reputation by pricing spares so high?? TVS should think.

If I buy Apache rr for touring/70km a day office commutes, and if I have to spend 15k per 15000km, that is just absurd. Makes the running cost go up by 1rs/km. And factor in service costs and cost of spares in case of a crash. I see a lot of middle class buyers shying away from RR310 just because TVS is greedy.
Old 14th May 2018, 18:46   #483

PS - And the 15k chain seems to be the most defective part as per owner complaints (like Athek).
Is this some kind of a joke? Chain sprocket 15000 rupees! God bless TVS.
https://www.rushlane.com/tvs-apache-...-12269690.html
Well the same link has an update (mostly updated recently) with the prices as quoted by another Bangalore based owner with the Chain Sprocket cost at around 6800/-. None of the prices quoted in the article are official and are picked off of videos from owners on YouTube as per some paragraphs in the article. So unless we hear otherwise, best to take these with a bagful of salt. Rushlane is not very reliable when it comes to news like this and are mostly clickbait as evidenced with earlier examples in other threads I guess.
abhinav.s is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2018, 19:49   #484
OSH

Brake pedal falls off a 600 kms run TVS Apache RR 310

Mr. Dutt; the owner says the quoted in a facebook post :
I’m literally in shock for what just happened to my bike. I was riding in traffic and suddenly the back brake of the bike just fell to the ground. One of the bolts connecting the brake pedal broke in half. I have ridden this bike for only 600 Km and I have never ridden it past 90kmph. Has this happened with anyone else or am I the first victim ?
Source : Cartoq

Last edited by OSH : 22nd May 2018 at 19:59.
OSH is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2018, 20:12   #485

Originally Posted by OSH View Post
Brake pedal falls off a 600 kms run TVS Apache RR 310
Thats another biggie, after the infamous chain issue!

Totally shocking to see such issues in a bike that was tested all over the country over several months.

Hopefully the bike was not part of any falls or hits earlier? Anyone news about this from the 310 owners groups?
Old 22nd May 2018, 22:56   #486

To their credit - TVS seems to have provided a quick resolution to the issue by replacing the broken part with a piece taken from a new showroom bike. (Hopefully a TD vehicle and not one waiting delivery).

TVS Apache RR 310 launched at Rs. 2.05 lakh-img20180522wa0051.jpg
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2018, 00:01   #487

This certainly is a surprising and thankfully a potentially deadly incident has been averted by good fortune. Imagine if the owner had instead encountered an emergency braking situation and then realized that he had no rear brakes! I do hope TVS does the required root cause analysis to find out why a bolt had broken in half in what is still a virtually brand new bike.

On the bright side, at least now we know that the Apache 310 wont be lacking in character!
neil.jericho is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2018, 08:56   #488

Originally Posted by neil.jericho View Post

On the bright side, at least now we know that the Apache 310 wont be lacking in character!
Character? LOL!
What am I missing here?
Old 23rd May 2018, 09:18   #489

What am I missing here?
An obvious dig at the fans of some other Indian manufacturers.

Where -
Parts falling off / Not working = Character.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2018, 09:55   #490

I forgot to mention this as well yesterday, while TVS has done a good job with the speedy resolution of the issue, as CrazyDriver mentioned, I do hope they havent had to take it off another customer's new bike and potentially delayed delivery of that vehicle. Customers are already irate with the long waiting times.

Character? LOL!
What am I missing here?
An obvious dig at the fans of some other Indian manufacturers.

Where -
Parts falling off / Not working = Character.
Hey, I am one of the above mentioned fans of another Indian manufacturer. Ive had bolts break (due to relatively high speed highway riding so of course Im not going to blame RE) and a small useless part fall off but hey its all part of character development and Im grateful for the adversity showered on me! Incidentally this happened to my bike last week when the side stand spring fell off. This is why I always carry an extra set of ear plugs!

TVS Apache RR 310 launched at Rs. 2.05 lakh-20180519_101956.jpg
neil.jericho is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 25th June 2018, 22:07   #491

Originally Posted by R-Six View Post
Hey AtheK, thanks for sharing the pic.

But now am more interested to see more pictures of that matt black beauty in the picture you posted. Sorry for going OT, but being a GT owner, couldn't resist asking for more.

If the owner is okay with the sharing them online, you may post them on the modified bikes/cars thread.
Sorry buddy I did not get time to shoot the video, finally it's up, you can watch it here.

Attended wmd 2018 yesterday and was a blast to ride with around 40 apache riders.
TVS Apache RR 310 launched at Rs. 2.05 lakh-img20180624wa0198.jpg  

TVS Apache RR 310 launched at Rs. 2.05 lakh-img20180624wa0057.jpg  

TVS Apache RR 310 launched at Rs. 2.05 lakh-img20180624wa0145.jpg  

TVS Apache RR 310 launched at Rs. 2.05 lakh-20180624_083546.jpg  

Last edited by AtheK : 25th June 2018 at 22:16.
AtheK is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 26th June 2018, 00:00   #492

Not to be negative but going through this thread and then remembering the starting experiences of threads for other bikes on various forums since couple of years, it logically appears that the niggles and issues are just not worth it. Only novelty on the Rr310 appears to be the new looksand nothing else. I think everyone would be much more happier and less stressed out buying just about any other bike in similar budget available including the Cbr250r, Dominar, RC wins, etc. Yes, even the infamous Bajaj's don't have these many issues. Just my two cents.
pixantz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2018, 10:35   #493

Guys I think we are unnecessarily bashing this brand too much. 1st gen anything is known to have its crop of problems. But honestly these niggles are not serious and even if it is, it has been very rare with the Rr 310.

On top of this TVS must be credited for immediately hearing out their customers and pro actively attending to these issues. I am one such customer.

To be honest I love my bike as a first time biker and I feel safe under TVS. I can’t say this with much other manufacturers.
stanjohn123 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th June 2018, 12:16   #494

Originally Posted by pixantz View Post
Dominar, RC wins, etc. Yes, even the infamous Bajaj's don't have these many issues. Just my two cents.
Both have issues on their own. Dominar even recently had a major coolant leakage issue reported, and the KTM's fancy console still remains a nightmare.

Once the RR310 chain issues are resolved - it will be a brilliant package without doubt. Nothing comes close to it in terms of raw appeal - not even the hyped BMW cousin IMO.

Speaking of which - Will the old warhorse Ninja 300 be any threat at the rumoured price of 2.75L? Its a butter smooth twin and might get ABS, but looks dated now compared to the Indian Panigale from TVS.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 26th June 2018 at 12:20.
Old 26th June 2018, 14:26   #495

Both have issues on their own. Dominar even recently had a major coolant leakage issue reported, and the KTM's fancy console still remains a nightmare.

Once the RR310 chain issues are resolved - it will be a brilliant package without doubt. Nothing comes close to it in terms of raw appeal - not even the hyped BMW cousin IMO.

Speaking of which - Will the old warhorse Ninja 300 be any threat at the rumoured price of 2.75L? Its a butter smooth twin and might get ABS, but looks dated now compared to the Indian Panigale from TVS.
Ninja won't come at 2.75, rumoured price drop is 1 lac, so it will still be around 3.5-3.6 OTR, If they do end up giving abs at that price it will be a worthy contender.

Also as you rightly mentioned, bike does not have too many issues. The chain rattle will hopefully get fixed someday, again that is felt only on bad roads. On plain roads it's pretty good. This bike is definitely here to stay.

Last edited by AtheK : 26th June 2018 at 14:32.