Old 8th October 2007, 22:49   #31

I think it is a waste of thread and time. If we thought things happened just because a bunch of guys wrote about it....
Old 9th October 2007, 00:03   #32

Well then a bunch of threads here ought to be scrapped,because things don't happen always. we all get some info,and talk about it.Doesn't necessarily need to materialize.
Old 9th October 2007, 04:52   #33

cmon guys we're not expecting it to come to india..but its still a good thread showcasing a good bike.....absolutely loved it......
Old 29th October 2007, 18:28   #34

The global production base of the 250R is Thailand.Don't we have a free trade agreement with Thailand?? That would mean if Kawasaki decides to sell the Bike here,there wouldn't be any customs duty!! I don't know if I'm a 100% sure about this though.What do you guys think?
Old 13th February 2009, 16:48   #35

Bajaj to launch the ninja 250r in mid May for around 2.5-3 lacs
Also planning to launch KTM bikes around that time.

Bajaj to roll out KTM bike by May- Two-wheelers-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times

- ve points about the baby ninja according to me . .
1. Just 26 hp after paying 3 lacs ?!
2. 130 rear tyre ?! C'mon even the Fz16, costing one fifth, has a broader rear tyre !!
3. Fuel efficiency (as tested) of around 50 mpg / (claimed) 60 mpg !!
Even my 15 yr old CBR 600 with a 100 hp used to give me around 20 kmpl under normal riding conditions. Which comes to around 45 mpg.

Last edited by bikefreak : 13th February 2009 at 16:49.
Old 13th February 2009, 17:01   #36

Originally Posted by bikefreak View Post
Bajaj to launch the ninja 250r in mid May for around 2.5-3 lacs
Also planning to launch KTM bikes around that time.

Bajaj to roll out KTM bike by May- Two-wheelers-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times

- ve points about the baby ninja according to me . .
2. 130 rear tyre ?! C'mon even the Fz16, costing one fifth, has a broader rear tyre !!
Even my 15 yr old CBR 600 with a 100 hp used to give me around 20 kmpl under normal riding conditions. Which comes to around 45 mpg.
Completely agree with you. IMHO, this pricing is would be the biggest factor for the success of this bike in India. Quite some time back I had read about it being priced around 1.4 and I thought it was a good strategy as R15 was just launched then. Of course, the 2 bikes are in different segments, but then it does matter when you want the number of bikes selling to be considerable.
Old 13th February 2009, 17:15   #37

3 L is too much. How I wish they bring back the Comet. Absolute VFM it was!
Old 13th February 2009, 17:26   #38

wait and watch

Sorry but the article and the one which appeared in TOI, looks like as though to get more eyeballs for "entry-level XCD 135cc". And this is supposed to be a CBU, why I wonder and they are going to come out with a KTM before a ZZR thats completely nuts. Wait and watch, thats the name of the game, at 3Lakhs it is about 6KUSD. hmmm...
Old 13th February 2009, 18:20   #39

How I wish they bring back the Comet. Absolute VFM it was!
A lot of people at that time said it was overpriced. Sigh if only they would have realized how VFM it was, we would have seen more of them on roads
Old 13th February 2009, 18:45   #40

Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
3 L is too much. How I wish they bring back the Comet. Absolute VFM it was!
The Aquila was even cheaper!!

But I think they were both subsidized by Kinetic which means its was overall a net loss. Its was done only for image boosting and selling more means more and more losses.
Old 13th February 2009, 19:21   #41

shortly this bike will become very common on the roads like any other bike, better to pick an R6 or CBR instead if you have the mullah of course
Old 13th February 2009, 21:17   #42

Originally Posted by owaiskm View Post
shortly this bike will become very common on the roads like any other bike, better to pick an R6 or CBR instead if you have the mullah of course
i was eagrly waiting for the ninja lounch, but the new price tag is pulling me down. 3 lakh thats very high for a 250cc bike.
i guess better i go and get a R15 right now rather than waiting this lord ninja if the price tag will be 3 lakh. ( may be 2 R15 )
Old 13th February 2009, 22:17   #43

Originally Posted by bikefreak View Post
1) 26 bhp is the standard on the 250cc engine.
2) I checked the specs on the version available in the US, and it says the same thing. 130 rear tire.
3) As far as I know, the 2008 Ninja 250 had a mileage of close to 65 ( some even said 70 mpg).
Old 14th February 2009, 00:57   #44

Originally Posted by owaiskm View Post
And how does that matter? Good products sold at reasonable or cheap prices will become common if there is the market for it.
Old 14th February 2009, 06:01   #45

Is this bike going to be available anytime soon or is it coming at all? because I had enough of waiting to get a Twin cylinder proper bike, and if Bajaj is building this so much for build quality.