Old 18th June 2012, 20:38   #166

Re: Audi Q3 : Official Review

Originally Posted by elantracrdi05 View Post
Was on the Gurgaon-Faridabad road on Saturday evening at about 6:30 pm. Saw 10 Q3s traveling in a convoy coming towards Gurgaon. They all had Q3 written in a bold font across the sides. I guess it was a promotional event to get people to experience the cars.
This convoy does rounds on Faridabad road everyday. I even noticed one of the black Q3 was damaged, they were driving it with deflated Airbags hanging out.
Old 18th June 2012, 20:49   #167

Hello Anshuman

I think there is Audi event going on just pass the Faridabad Gurgaon Toll ( under construction ) . They must be doing some off roading stuff in the village beside to Faridabad Gurgaon Toll . I have seen Audi flags hosted there . Will click a snap of that place and upload here .

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
This convoy does rounds on Faridabad road everyday. I even noticed one of the black Q3 was damaged, they were driving it with deflated Airbags hanging out.
Old 19th June 2012, 00:52   #168

Ha! I love that Q3.but given the duties and taxes here it is way too expensive. It may set you back by about 29 to eo lacs on rosd abroad, but to ay 44 lacs here for the same thing is criminal.
Gurgaon has 4% registration charges

So our OTR for the base model stands at : 27 (Ex showroom) + 1 (Insurance) + 1 (Registration) + Audi Secure (0.32) = 29.32

Pretty much the same as the on-road price you mentioned abroad.
Old 19th June 2012, 06:24   #169

I bangalore it costs 44 lacs on road for the top model - which is really the desirable one.
Excise duties are higher.
Taxes and Insurance will surely be higher than what you have indicated in your post. Even in Gurgaon/ Delhi that is so worth checking.

Originally Posted by JishD View Post

So our OTR for the base model stands at : 27 (Ex showroom) + 1 (Insurance) + 1 (Registration) + Audi Secure (0.32) = 29.32

Old 19th June 2012, 10:36   #170

Originally Posted by JishD View Post

4% is for cars below 10 lac, above 10 lac it is 6% and it is 8% above 20 lac. So Audi Q3 falls under 8% bracket.
Old 19th June 2012, 10:45   #171

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
4% is for cars below 10 lac, above 10 lac it is 6% and it is 8% above 20 lac. So Audi Q3 falls under 8% bracket.
I stand corrected - so it'll still be 27+2.16+1+0.32 ~ 30.5 OTR for the base.

What is the probable resale after 5 years as per the luxe experts ? 16 ?
Old 19th June 2012, 10:50   #172

Originally Posted by JishD

I stand corrected - so it'll still be 27+2.16+1+0.32 ~ 30.5 OTR for the base.

What is the probable resale after 5 years as per the luxe experts ? 16 ?
After 5 years of use at an average running of about 15000 to 18000 kms a year, I guess one can knock off a comfortable 40 to 45% of the original on road price.
Question is always going to be who owned it and how he/ she looked after it.

If one is keen on pre-owned luxe, it would be better to find a car like this early , with a good owner and keep following it till the owner is ready to sell, keep saving at the same time and when the moment is ripe, just do it!

But again, who knows what the scene will be 5 years down the line?
Old 19th June 2012, 14:30   #173

After 5 years of use at an average running of about 15000 to 18000 kms a year, I guess one can knock off a comfortable 40 to 45% of the original on road price.
Question is always going to be who owned it and how he/ she looked after it.

If one is keen on pre-owned luxe, it would be better to find a car like this early , with a good owner and keep following it till the owner is ready to sell, keep saving at the same time and when the moment is ripe, just do it!

But again, who knows what the scene will be 5 years down the line?
My thought process was like this :

Pick it under Company Lease Scheme for 4 years ( Insurance + Regn free)
Interest : 15%
EMI : 68.5 k / month
Total Outflow : 32.88 L + 5.37 L ( at the end of 4 years, for possession) = 38.26L

Tax savings = 11L approx ( 30% of 32.88)
Salvage value = 16L (end of 4 years)

So you actually end up losing extra 11.26L in 4 years > 2.5L /yr approx

Suddenly doesnt look so bad ....oh wait, I have rent to pay, a family to feed, clothes to buy et al !!
Not to forget you're definitely locked into the company for 4 long years....talk about digging your own grave in these times

Last edited by JishD : 19th June 2012 at 14:32. Reason: Locked in
Old 19th June 2012, 14:36   #174

Originally Posted by JishD

My thought process was like this :

Pick it under Company Lease Scheme for 4 years ( Insurance + Regn free)
Interest : 15%
EMI : 68.5 k / month
Total Outflow : 32.88 L + 5.37 L ( at the end of 4 years, for possession) = 38.26L
Save your money for 5 years at the rate of 35grand a month and buy an almost new-used example outright!

Last edited by mobike008 : 3rd September 2012 at 15:05. Reason: Dont quote entire post for one line reply
Old 20th June 2012, 21:38   #175

I take the pahari route that connects Faridabad with Gurgaon to work, for the past week or so I have been noticing a group of 15 to 20 Q3s being lead by a Q7 driving as a group. Today there were a couple of folks with audi Q3 sign boards standing on the road and after about 5 minutes of drive the unmistakable Q7 being followed by a convoy of Q3s.
I am not sure whats cooking because the vehicle is already on road, but surely an excercise Audi's engaged in. Apologies for not having any pics but will post some once I see them again.
Old 20th June 2012, 22:10   #176

I daily take Faridabad-Gurgaon road from sector 56 on to DLF phase 3(touching MG road) and I see convoy of Q3s daily for past 3 days traveling on the same route as I do. Today evening, I saw three black Q3s. One of them had #17 sticker on front windshield.

Is there any event going on?
Old 21st June 2012, 10:06   #177

10 Q3s in a promotional convoy. What will Audi do with those 10 cars once they are done with the promotion bit? Definitely not unload them on unsuspecting customers. Or is it ~3 crores down the drain (surely not)?
Old 21st June 2012, 11:53   #178

To all those who had been wondering what Audi had been doing with the Q3 near Gurgaon: Here is some coverage from IAB on the mild Offroading event which they had been doing!

Video - IAB mildly off-roads in an Audi Q3

Behemoth
Old 25th June 2012, 22:37   #179

Can anybody just confirm whether Audi Q3 has Haldex or Torsen ?
To the best of my knowledge, Audi Q3 has Haldex and not Torsen like in Q7 and Q5.

A few sources mentioning Audi Q3 had Haldex:
Torsen or haldex ? [Archive] - AudiWorld Forums
Offroad (Evoque vs Q3 vs X1) | German Car Forum

Not sure about reliability of second link, but first one seems genuine. Wikipedia also mentions Q3 having Haldex.
Old 25th June 2012, 23:01   #180

Originally Posted by aaggoswami
Can anybody just confirm whether Audi Q3 has Haldex or Torsen ?
To the best of my knowledge, Audi Q3 has Haldex and not Torsen like in Q7 and Q5.

A few sources mentioning Audi Q3 had Haldex:
Torsen or haldex ? [Archive] - AudiWorld Forums
Offroad (Evoque vs Q3 vs X1) | German Car Forum

Not sure about reliability of second link, but first one seems genuine. Wikipedia also mentions Q3 having Haldex.
The Tiguan, Yeti and Q3 being sisters under the skin so to say, would most probably share the same clutch system for their 4WD.
Hence my guess would be Haldex rather than Torsen in case of Q3.

Last edited by shankar.balan : 25th June 2012 at 23:07.