Old 23rd September 2020, 15:02   #211

Re: 2020 Tata Harrier Automatic : Official Review

Originally Posted by samaspire View Post
4) One of the seat adjustment knobs was broken - felt very flimsy.
Wow, this is the third test drive car on this thread, with the same issue. How much money is saved by using cheap plastic for these knobs - 100 rupees?
pseudo_coder is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2020, 17:19   #212

4) One of the seat adjustment knobs was broken - felt very flimsy.
I think this is a common issue faced in some other test drive cars as well. Tata should fix it ASAP.
Old 24th September 2020, 00:45   #213

But now I feel that maybe I was wrong in recommending this car given the over sensitive steering (which I feel is a major safety issue).
Strange, I have not felt that the steering is overly sensitive at higher speeds and mine is BS4. Although, I haven't driven it over 2nd the speed limit warning much.
AmitRavi07 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th September 2020, 05:22   #214

Originally Posted by 330i View Post
I think this is a common issue faced in some other test drive cars as well. Tata should fix it ASAP.
I got my car one week back . I felt the seat adjustment unit sturdy . Again this is a relative feel . As am the lone driver that is going to use the car, fiddling with the unit is going to be minimal .
greyhound82 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th September 2020, 08:43   #215

Originally Posted by 330i View Post
Been using the car for a couple of months now with enough fiddling with the knobs. Never felt it to be cheap. There's nothing to fix there.

If something is broken with force - and a lot of test drivers are new to powered seats - then it's a problem unique to test drive vehicles which can be fixed with the change in sales advisor scripts.

However needless to say, a test drive vehicle should be impeccable.

1) The steering is still very sensitive at highway speeds - I thought this issue had been fixed in the update?

2) The interior plastics are not befitting a 25 lakh rupee car. They feel so cheap.

3) The engine noise over 3000 rpm is very irritating - they could have atleast given it a sportier tone!!
While all the above points are very subjective, I disagree with all of them.

The steering is actually very well weighed at all speeds. No parking issues due to heavy steering or no sensitive issues at high speeds. And I have tried both of these.

Plastics, surface areas - they can always better. Even if we get a leather dashboard, it could still be better in some way or the other.
But never does it feel cheap. Curious - what baseline are you comparing the vehicle to?

NVH is very well contained. And the engine noise is something I really like. Especially in sports.

Like I said. Subjective!

Mod Note - u = you. No SMS language please.

Last edited by Sheel : 24th September 2020 at 13:03. Reason: Merging back to back posts. please use edit option when replying.
ihrishi is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 24th September 2020, 09:18   #216

Originally Posted by ihrishi View Post
1) No parking issues due to heavy steering or no sensitive issues at high speeds.

2)Curious - what baseline are u comparing the vehicle to?

3) NVH is very well contained. And the engine noise is something I really like. Especially in sports.
Trust me, I have been following the Harrier since the beginning and I am a big fan. But, the Test drive of the 1st released car disappointed me. Then I thought things would improve in the facelift - which it has, barring the few exceptions I mentioned.

1) This is the other thing I forgot to mention - heavy steering at parking speeds.
Regarding the sensitive steering, 4 different drivers, driving during the same session, felt the same thing. I, personally, have very steady hands while driving, so it would not be an issue for me.

Question: Has there been / will there be any changes to the steering since the update launched?

2) Their current vehicles are the Creta and the Seltos. The other cars in consideration are the Skoda Karoq and the Hyundai Tucson. So the comparisons lie in that range.

3) NVH under 3000 RPM is really good.

Query about the Warranty:
The 5 years unlimited kilometres warranty - what all does to cover?

Is the Gold AMC worth it?

Running would be about 40,000 km per year
samaspire is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2020, 09:38   #217

With regards to the steering sensitivity, do read the official review on page 1. The 2019 initial batch had a very sensitive steering. A few months later Tata put out a press release that it was improved.

In the 2020 Automatic you can see it's better than 2019 cars but still sensitive:

The steering is no longer as sensitive or twitchy as it was in the '19 Harrier we drove. It's not what we would call dangerous anymore & most owners won't complain. That said, I have to state that it's still a level too sensitive at high speeds. Even a slight touch on the steering results in the car changing direction. Tata should dull the high-speed response even more. I wouldn't have a problem with such a steering in a hatchback or low-slung sedan, but in a large + tall + heavy SUV like this, it can make things unnerving at 120 km/h. Even so, the steering's behaviour is no deal breaker and I was taking the expressway curves a lot more confidently than the '19 media car. Will add that straight line stability is fantastic.
Vid6639 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 24th September 2020, 12:03   #218

With regards to the steering sensitivity, do read the official review on page 1. The 2019 initial batch had a very sensitive steering. A few months later Tata put out a press release that it was improved.

In the 2020 Automatic you can see it's better than 2019 cars but still sensitive:
Tata claimed to have tested the original Harrier for lakhs of kilometers. What good is that if simple issues like huge ORVM and sensitive stearing are not identified and fixed? Normal drivers like us have spotted these issues in a few km of test drives!
pseudo_coder is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2020, 19:27   #219

Originally Posted by pseudo_coder View Post
What good is that if simple issues like huge ORVM and sensitive stearing are not identified and fixed?
Truth be told, that's the first thing I noticed while making a turn in the 2019 test drive car. Re-adjusted my seating position and it was not a bother for me on the return drive. Its been only 6 months since I got my car, but, I have not felt that the ORVMs are an issue, even once. Could be the same thing with testers, one might have gotten used to it.
AmitRavi07 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th September 2020, 09:45   #220

On 18-Sept, I got my Tata Harrier XZ+ Dark edition delivered. I feel that the steering is still lighter. Moreover, it's not lighter similar to what you would feel in Hyundais. It's a bit different. It's lighter but notchy (which ensures you don't overdo it). Don't know how to put in words. I also heard some reviews about steering becoming heavier at lowest speeds like 5 Km/hr. I didn't feel that. I don't have a problem at all while crawling or while parking.

I haven't driven the car on highways so far and plan to do 750 Kms drive next week. Will post an update.
nexus is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 27th September 2020, 11:43   #221

Took a test drive of the Harrier Automatic this weekend, had driven the Compass (Diesel, Limited Plus) last weekend. It wasn't easy to get a TD of the Harrier, the dealer SA didn't seem interested. I had to write to the customer care mail id of Tata Motors to get a TD. I even mentioned this to the Jeep SA, as KHT runs the dealership for both in Bangalore (apart from Prerna Motors). Surprisingly, the person who had come for the TD was decently knowledgeable.

It looks stunning, there's no doubt about that. The sheer size and looks of this car gives it so much road presence which I didn't feel in the Compass. The ride quality and comfort was also better. I found the Compass automatic to be sluggish in pick-up which was not the case with the Harrier. And once you engage the Sports mode, it turns into a different vehicle altogether. Didn't get a chance to take it for a longer drive to test the steering sensitivity issue that some of the others have pointed out. Rear seat was also more spacious and comfortable, while I didn't try it but have a feeling that 3 adults should be able to sit comfortably.

Compass' cabin feels slightly more premium but Harrier is good too.

Somehow when I was in the driver's seat, didn't feel much difference when the sunroof was open as compared to the Compass. Maybe because of the smaller size, the sunroof in compass makes it look bigger/better.

Some of the basic/essential features that I thought were missing - electronic tailgate, one-touch function for all windows (this was there in my 10 yr old hatchback!)

Dealer said that they are offering flat 1 lac discount on some of the XZA models which were manufactured in Feb 20. He confirmed that these are BS6 models. On the top-end trims, he was willing to give a cash discount of 35k (didn't enquire about insurance so some of this discount might be part of the insurance money). I definitely need AT but I am on the fence about the sunroof (and he confirmed that now there is no option to fix the sunroof separately). Does it make sense to go for the Feb 20 manufactured car with the discount?

The one with the discount will not be in the dual tone version. I really liked the red+black version, maybe the dual toning can be done in the after-market? Any thoughts?
rags.singh is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 27th September 2020, 17:23   #222

Originally Posted by rags.singh View Post
The one with the discount will not be in the dual tone version. I really liked the red+black version, maybe the dual toning can be done in the after-market? Any thoughts?
That should be easy to do. That said, a car is something that you will live for quite sometime, avg i think is 4-5 years. I would rather negotiate a bit on 35K discount to get it perhaps to 50, and then also get some discount on Insurance. Today it might feel a bit of stretch, 2 years later not so much, but you will be happy you have the fully loaded car, that tata had to offer at the time of your purchase.
AtheK is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 28th September 2020, 10:04   #223

In love with the Harrier, booked the XZA+ Dark Edition at Prerna Motors, Bangalore.

Completed PDI yesterday. Thanks to the elaborate PDI xl checklist, there is a sense of calm now!
Fingers crossed till I take delivery of the beast in the same pristine condition.

Have a question on the sunroof, would be great to get all fellow Tbhp'ians view on this:

Have any of you experienced issues with the anti-pinch feature of the sunroof? It didnt work in the tTD vehicle, neither in the new vehicle booked for me. It takes a forceful tap with the arm to send the sunroof back on its way.

Is this normal behavior of an anti-pinch?

Thank you!
josephnishanth is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 28th September 2020, 10:56   #224

What's the price difference, and which dealership is this? I think you should definitely go for the panaromic SunRoof model. It's a highlight. You're stretching so much, so why not some more. This feature makes the cabin really airy and creates the 'wow' impression as soon as you enter. I don't trust the after-market sunroof for reliability. Will the cutting be perfect? Will it leak in the monsoons? These are strong reasons to say, 'no'. Have one more TD before you decide.
Originally Posted by rags.singh View Post
I definitely need AT but I am on the fence about the sunroof (and he confirmed that now there is no option to fix the sunroof separately). Does it make sense to go for the Feb 20 manufactured car with the discount?
Sebring is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th September 2020, 11:21   #225

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
What's the price difference, and which dealership is this? I think you should definitely go for the panaromic SunRoof model. It's a highlight. You're stretching so much, so why not some more. This feature makes the cabin really airy and creates the 'wow' impression as soon as you enter. I don't trust the after-market sunroof for reliability. Will the cutting be perfect? Will it leak in the monsoons? These are strong reasons to say, 'no'. Have one more TD before you decide.
I agree with you, it does add to the premium-ness of the vehicle. I wasn't considering fitting the sunroof later on as an accessory. Just checked with the dealer as this information could be useful to others, and they were offering sunroof as an accessory for the 19 model. This is KHT by the way. They were offering 1 lac cash discount on Feb manufactured BS6 XZA (in some colors).

Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
That should be easy to do. That said, a car is something that you will live for quite sometime, avg i think is 4-5 years. I would rather negotiate a bit on 35K discount to get it perhaps to 50, and then also get some discount on Insurance. Today it might feel a bit of stretch, 2 years later not so much, but you will be happy you have the fully loaded car, that tata had to offer at the time of your purchase.
I was thinking that there is a >1lac difference in the prices of the 2 variants, if I add another 1 lac cash discount to it, the overall difference becomes 1.5 lacs (assuming dealer gives 50k discount on the top trim). So it does become a sizeable difference which is hard to ignore. Would also like to hear feedback from the members if there are any downsides to buying a Feb manufactured vehicle.

Originally Posted by josephnishanth View Post
In love with the Harrier, booked the XZA+ Dark Edition at Prerna Motors, Bangalore.

Completed PDI yesterday. Thanks to the elaborate PDI xl checklist, there is a sense of calm now!
Thank you!
Congratulations! Did you manage to get some good deal?
rags.singh is offline   (2) Thanks