Old 20th July 2022, 17:00   #511

Re: Mahindra Scorpio-N Review

The ScorpioN was brought in our office premises so that people can have a look and feel and take a test drive. The first reaction from many of my office colleagues, who are not auto-enthusiasts and were not aware about the new Scorpio was that "I do not want to test drive a Scorpio; its a bare bones car typically used for rough roads and is not for urban commute". After seeing and taking a test drive, the reaction was "Why did they name it Scorpio? Its a much better product"

I test drove the top end diesel automatic. The seating comfort was good and I could get my driving position easily. The "Zip" mode was good and had linear power delivery. The "Zoom" mode had significant power and passengers felt jerks while accelerating; thus its not for city commute and should be used in highways only. The front camera, wireless charging, sunroof were some of the creature comforts which was liked by everyone, mainly because no one expected those in a Scorpio. Overall a very competent car; name could have been different. But in the end, my colleagues were confused, why not buy the 700 rather than this?
subhro1988 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 20th July 2022, 17:00   #512

Originally Posted by ask99 View Post
And in this the Mahindra theory of relativity, the ScorpioN Z8L variant seems to be providing rather poor value for money.
If we do feature to feature comparison, ScorpioN will always lag compared to XUV700 and justification of its value by feature it offers is not fair as well (like many other vehicles like innova, Thar). Its value proposition lies on many other things which XUV can't provide to its "target consumers".
Old 20th July 2022, 17:29   #513

What is with Big daddy's door closing mechanism?
We had a hard time closing the door of Scorpio N with all window glasses rolled up.

The usual way of closing the door was never locked in one try like ordinary people.

Had to smack/whack it to close it properly; my wife had a hard time closing it from the inside.

Initially, I thought it was a particular vehicle issue(display), but I also faced a similar problem in a test drive vehicle at Sireesh Auto, Hosur road.

I think this issue is because of air pressure buildup in the cabin.
We did not face this issue at another dealer where windows were rolled down.

I am sure Mahindra would have incorporated the air vent to release cabin pressure.
Then why such an issue? Did anyone else face this problem?
KumarS is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th July 2022, 17:48   #514

Originally Posted by subhro1988 View Post
The ScorpioN was brought in our office premises so that people can have a look and feel and take a test drive....... But in the end, my colleagues were confused, why not buy the 700 rather than this?
Because of Vitamin M My situation : i love 700 and like Scorpio N. But with my supply of Vit.M,i'l have to push myself to start loving ScorpioN. Probably same with your colleagues (M=Money)

Last edited by Ram78 : 20th July 2022 at 18:00.
Ram78 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th July 2022, 18:25   #515

Originally Posted by Ram78 View Post
Because of Vitamin M My situation : i love 700 and like Scorpio N. But with my supply of Vit.M,i'l have to push myself to start loving ScorpioN. Probably same with your colleagues (M=Money)
If Vitamin M is a problem, then the Devil M -- mileage -- is sure to provide a lot of Toxic M -- Migraine.

I expect plenty of used Scorpio Ns on OLX within a year when buyers realize what a gas guzzler it is, just like it happened with Hector Petrol.

Someone in the forum has tested and calculated a ~36% difference in mileage between 700 and N. Take this into account, and the difference in the cost of ownership is not as big as you'd think.

Last edited by naru80 : 20th July 2022 at 18:29.
naru80 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th July 2022, 19:21   #516

Originally Posted by naru80 View Post
Someone in the forum has tested and calculated a ~36% difference in mileage between 700 and N.
I believe it is my report on the Choosing an SUV thread which is being talked about. This 36% can be easily misunderstood. It was 36% and then after factoring some other things came down to 24% and also had assumptions. A part of which is quoted below, but I think the complete post (report, rather) should be read to get a better sense of things.

Originally Posted by Poitive View Post
The MID showed the following:
  • Mahindra XUV700: 14.3 Kmpl
  • Mahindra Scropio-N: 10.5 Kmpl
A direct comparison implies (14.3-10.5)/10.5 = 0.36190 which is approximately 36% higher distance in the XUV700 as compared to the Scorpio-N for the same amount of fuel.

We need to factor in some things and will use some estimates for better understanding:
There are subjective ways to estimate the calculate the above. One being:
Based on the above, a comparison implies (12.055-9.725)/9.725 = 0.2395 which is approximately 24% higher distance in the XUV700 as compared to the Scorpio-N for the same amount of fuel for a 2WD ScropioN for city use.

D6. Should I Buy it?

That said, I had expected the FE of the Scorpio-N to be significantly lower as also mentioned, with reasons, a few posts before the above-quoted post.

~~~~~~
Edit:

Originally Posted by KumarS View Post
What is with Big daddy's door closing mechanism? ...
@RijuC also mentioned other issues with the doors after the above-mentioned Scropio-N report.

Originally Posted by Arinmech View Post
If we do feature to feature comparison, ScorpioN will always lag compared to XUV700 and justification of its value by feature it offers is not fair as well (like many other vehicles like innova, Thar). Its value proposition lies on many other things which XUV can't provide to its "target consumers".
Very much agree. They are different sorts of vehicles, and intended at different sections (thought with some overlap). Tried to cover that in some detail in the longish report quoted before.

Originally Posted by ask99 View Post
...I went ahead and made a quick feature comparison chart...
A very helpful chart, mate; thank you

Last edited by Poitive : 20th July 2022 at 19:37. Reason: Added Edit, refinement.
Poitive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th July 2022, 20:06   #517

Originally Posted by Poitive View Post
This 36% can be easily misunderstood. It was 36% and then after factoring some other things came down to 24% and also had assumptions. A part of which is quoted below, but I think the complete post (report, rather) should be read to get a better sense of things.
Oops, it was really long, just skimped through it. Thanks for the clarification.
Old 20th July 2022, 20:28   #518

Eagerly waiting for the price unveil of the ScorpioN AT and 4WD variants tomorrow. Any guesses on the premium for AT and 4WD variants?

M&M generally keeps a flat increment for these variants from the respective MT 2WD variants, without regard to where in the price spectrum it falls. I.E., the premium for 4WD Z4 over 2WD Z4 is the same as that for 4WD Z8L over 2WD Z8L. It is a fair practice that many of the other automakers do not follow and they tend to base the premium of affordability/ willingness to pay (a buyer at the 20 lakh mark is willing to pay more than one at 12 lakh mark for the same feature upgrade)

I expect the premium for AT to be 1.2 lakhs or so over the MT and that for the AWD to be 1.5 lakhs or so over the respective 2WD.

Have any press meets been scheduled?

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 20th July 2022 at 20:30.
84.monsoon is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th July 2022, 21:20   #519

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
Eagerly waiting for the price unveil of the ScorpioN AT and 4WD variants tomorrow.
Well aren't we all?

Any guesses on the premium for AT and 4WD variants?
I have a Z8 AT 4WD in my cart and would love if Mahindra can price it at 19.99 ex-showroom. It is a 2.5L premium over Z8 Manual. Let us see what Mahindra announces tomorrow.
acquillew is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 09:57   #520

We had a hard time closing the door of Scorpio N with all window glasses rolled up.

The usual way of closing the door was never locked in one try like ordinary people.

Had to smack/whack it to close it properly; my wife had a hard time closing it from the inside.

Initially, I thought it was a particular vehicle issue(display), but I also faced a similar problem in a test drive vehicle at Sireesh Auto, Hosur road.

I am sure Mahindra would have incorporated the air vent to release cabin pressure.

The doors are really super light weight and I guess they don’t have enough heft to compress the air while closing when all windows are rolled up. Speaks volumes of the engineering might of Mahindra. You will find such things throughout the car. From bottle holders that can’t be used when the doors are locked to the hand grab handle rubbing your knee to the rear seats dangling loosely in the tumble down mode and so on.
Traveler is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 10:42   #521

This could be because of the plastic covers that Mahindra has used to cover the seats. Most likely those are the culprits in either blocking the release vents or coming between the thick doors and car seats as there is very small space between the seats and doors.

Eagerly waiting for the price unveil of the ScorpioN AT and 4WD variants tomorrow. Any guesses on the premium for AT and 4WD variants?

M&M generally keeps a flat increment for these variants from the respective MT 2WD variants, without regard to where in the price spectrum it falls. I.E., the premium for 4WD Z4 over 2WD Z4 is the same as that for 4WD Z8L over 2WD Z8L. It is a fair practice that many of the other automakers do not follow and they tend to base the premium of affordability/ willingness to pay (a buyer at the 20 lakh mark is willing to pay more than one at 12 lakh mark for the same feature upgrade)

I expect the premium for AT to be 1.2 lakhs or so over the MT and that for the AWD to be 1.5 lakhs or so over the respective 2WD.

Have any press meets been scheduled?
Mahindra's usual pricing strategy is to charge 1.6-1.7 Lacs extra for AT and 1.2-1.3 Lacs for AWD. So we are looking at anywhere between 2.8-3 Lacs premium for AT 4WD variant over MT variants.

Originally Posted by acquillew View Post
Well aren't we all?

I have a Z8 AT 4WD in my cart and would love if Mahindra can price it at 19.99 ex-showroom. It is a 2.5L premium over Z8 Manual. Let us see what Mahindra announces tomorrow.
Lets see if they can price Z8 AT 4WD below 20 considering Z8 MT is at 17.49 Lacs. 19.99 Lacs sticker price would be good pricing strategy at least for initial 25K bookings. Fingers crossed.
TSIched'Out is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 11:16   #522

Originally Posted by subhro1988 View Post
But in the end, my colleagues were confused, why not buy the 700 rather than this?
Yes, thats right.The urban office goers who will do off-roading once in a blue moon should opt for XUV700.I don't see any Thar in my office parking space for the same reason.I own XUV700 myself and the boy inside me always want to exchange it for ScorpioN
Gaddibuddy is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 14:32   #523

Any idea when are they announcing the prices for the AT/4WD ? is there a specific time given.
Old 21st July 2022, 15:03   #524

Originally Posted by revv_maniac View Post

Any idea when are they announcing the prices for the AT/4WD ? is there a specific time given.
I spoke to Randhawa Motors (Mumbai) and they are expecting the announcement by evening. I was surprised that they didn't follow the 11AM slot for this one.
atluri_rkc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 15:27   #525

Originally Posted by atluri_rkc View Post
I spoke to Randhawa Motors (Mumbai) and they are expecting the announcement by evening. I was surprised that they didn't follow the 11AM slot for this one.
Here in Ahmedabad, I have been told that prices will be announced after 5 PM today.
acquillew is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com