Old 28th November 2023, 18:58   #2341

Re: Maruti Jimny Review

Originally Posted by murlidar View Post
See if the video helps
Thank you. I have shared this with the relevant people. BHPian fiat_tarun earlier suggested a sensor reset as well. But it was being difficult to impress upon the the decision makers to go ahead and try that. I will update once I get to the bottom of this.
Old 29th November 2023, 11:19   #2342

Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
K&N or BMC?
Attachment 2535615
Stock
Maruti Jimny Review-1.jpg

BMC & K&N
Maruti Jimny Review-2.jpg

The stock filter in the Jimny sits at an angle, there is a reason for that and it has got to do with airflow. The K&N sits flat, whilst the BMC maintains the angled orientation of the stock filter and also has the same height as the stock filter. The other minor differences are 1) filtering media of BMC is deeper, 2) has larger diagonal area for the filtering media, 3) BMC has 23 pleats which is lesser in numbers than K&N 28 pleats but higher than OEM paper 22 pleats, 4) the injection moulding on the BMC is cleaner without excess material on the filtering media.

This is the second time I am swapping K&N for BMC, first time it was in 2015 with the Polo GT TDI. It was dimensionally larger than the K&N it replaced with better fit and cleaner moulding. Quoting my own post from 2015 below.

Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
BMC Air filter

Bought and installed BMC stock replacement air filter in the car. Why BMC? Because i like the build of BMC filters. Physically its also a bit larger than the equivalent K&N E-2997 which comes for the Polo and on the bottom of the filter there is support like the OEM filter.
Attachment 1420717
Attachment 1420718
Attachment 1420719
The K&N is up for sale, inbox me if interested
Sankar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th November 2023, 16:00   #2343

Originally Posted by Captain Slow View Post
My local Nexa dealer is only providing a discount of 1 lakh and insists getting insurance through them, which adds another 50K just for insurance! They also say that If we want the 1Lakh discount then insurance is a must from their side and I can not take my own insurance.........
Should Hunt across other Nexa dealers ?
Maybe Suzuki has cleared it's factory stock and hence the discounts are drying up. Don't budge on the insurance. It's just hogwash. Maybe they've sensed your real interest and trying to milk you for what it's worth. You must search dealers who have stocks and bait them with curious disinterest. In Chennai, I'm seeing more Jimnys being kept on display and hence assumed that stock is there. I'm also seeing more Jimnys on road lately.
Originally Posted by IB290 View Post
..... But it was being difficult to impress upon the the decision makers to go ahead and try that. I will update once I get to the bottom of this.
I miss the old days when, all you had to do was remove the centre nut in the steering wheel and remove it from its knurling and position it to your convenience.
Nowadays, these sensor resets can be done by FNG itself. If ASS is stubborn, you can exercise this option too.
Neil Roy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2023, 17:15   #2344

My local Nexa dealer is only providing a discount of 1 lakh and insists getting insurance through them, which adds another 50K just for insurance! They also say that If we want the 1Lakh discount then insurance is a must from their side and I can not take my own insurance.
Unfortunately, no additional offers are being offered. Can anyone assist me with this? I'm on the verge of joining the Jimny Gang.
I too have recently purchased a Jimny, Alpha AT, red dual-tone. It will mainly be used by my wife. Before booking, I checked with multiple dealers in my state on what the current offer was and went ahead with the best one.

The final discount that was offered to me was 75K cash discount for the alpha variant since the offer of 1lakh was only being offered on the Zeta variant by all the dealers here in Goa. They even gave me 15K accessories free along with a coupon for 30-liter petrol. Also, the dealer with whom I finalized was completely okay with me removing the optional CCP package too and did not push any accessories as well, and even matched the outside insurance quote that I got with additional addons.

Also, we got our 5year, 65K KMS run, Swift AMT ZXI exchanged and the exchange value offered was good too.

So as already suggested by others, please hunt for offers with other dealers too and make it very clear on the current offer that is being given by the other dealer and that you are also willing to walk away if the deal isn't good or if you are being forced.
C-14 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2023, 17:25   #2345

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

My local Nexa dealer is only providing a discount of

Should Hunt across other Nexa dealers ?
Call Shree from Nexa Hosur road near the BMW Kun. Ask him for a deal.+91 90360 92137
Tell him I asked you to contact him.
shankar.balan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th November 2023, 21:34   #2346

Hello All,

Our smaller cars at home have been Santro followed by Amaze currently - 10 years each, and about 30k km each. Used regularly, but wife's office isn't far. Also, never used for out-station highway drives.
For context the larger cars at home have been CRV followed by GLC currently.

We test drove Jimny AT as we want to upgrade Amaze. This is the only new car on our minds. Plan-B is to go for a used Sonet/Venue Petrol AT with a 3-yr horizon, and then upgrade to a new EV. Our EV mini-research on team-bhp reveals Tata has battery issues, Mahindra isn't able to push numbers, so the only flawless option under 30L on-road is MG ZS EV. In three years there will be more no-compromise options.

Only for Jimny we're willing to abandon our EV plans for a full 10 years. Jimny AT test drive experience -
  1. Nexa experience has been awesome. Thank you Pratham Motors, Sarjapur Rd.
  2. Jimny has all the necessary agility for Bengaluru narrow by-lanes.
  3. Jimny handles infamous pothole ridden city roads without passenger discomfort in front and back seats.
  4. Jimny over-taking has high engine rev, but not as much acceleration - as already noted by many. But it's no worse than our Amaze-manual. In fact, Jimny smoothly goes up in speed.
  5. Jimny rear passenger doors and height are suitable for older family members. This is the reason why Thar is not even an option. Jimny has to satisfy far & near errands requirement with older family members.
  6. So many more positives that others have listed.

Potential deal-breakers:
  1. While driving I hit my elbow many times with the door steering through Bengaluru by-lanes. I'm 5'10" thin fellow. My wife also hit once though she doesn't remember - and she's 5'5". This was like my Santro days. But here I've read many tall owners being very happy with Jimny. Can I say that cramped arm space is easy to adjust to? If I loved my Santro, then I should stop worrying about this?
  2. All black interior makes it look bleak from the back seats. Has anyone tried beige interiors or anything lighter at least for the backrow + the backside of the front seats?

Negatives that aren't deal-breakers:
  1. Poor thigh support in the backrow means only two people can sit comfortably with legs spread out or sideways. If three people sit with legs pointing forward then they'll be quite uncomfortable.
  2. Driver seat doesn't have vertical adjustment, and steering height adjustment is only angular - can't pull it towards yourself.
  3. NCAP rating is not available, but not expected to be better than 3-stars. Obviously we will take this on hilly destinations across high speed highways. 6 airbags is some relief.

Looking for advice on the two potential deal-breakers.
KeeepDriiiving is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th November 2023, 07:22   #2347

Originally Posted by KeeepDriiiving View Post
...[*] While driving I hit my elbow many times with the door steering through Bengaluru by-lanes...
I upgraded to Jimny from Brio MT recently. My other car is X3. Both sufficiently wide and spacious from inside for the driver. In about a week of ownership with Jimny, even I experienced this multiple times. However, lately I am getting used to the narrow space and doing better. I think you will also get used to it. I'm 5'7".

Hth,
-BJ

Last edited by bj96 : 30th November 2023 at 07:32.
bj96 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th November 2023, 08:43   #2348

During the test drives, we tall drivers faced this annoying issue of elbow touching the door panel and right side shoulder rubbing against the B pillar area.

However, after buying the Jimny and driving Jimny for hours together during our long trips, we really forget these issues or adjust our driving style. And we never face (or rather do not sense) these issues.

I drove Jimny for almost an entire day recently

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 30th November 2023 at 09:52. Reason: A word.
RijuC is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 30th November 2023, 11:20   #2349

Can anyone please confirm if the "ladder" which can be mounted on the back tailgate area, is an official Jimny accessory for India retail. I could not see it on their website. Also what would be the cost of this part. Many thanks.
Old 30th November 2023, 18:52   #2350

Ladder is not sold as Genuine Maruti Suzuki Accessory. However many people are selling this accessory.
Since your location is Gurgaon, you call Rohit on 78279 75320 as he is located in Kashmiri Gate. You can even visit his shop & see the quality before buying.
Rahul Lal is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2023, 18:55   #2351

With discussions about significant discounts, declining sales, and the widespread criticism or mockery the Jimny faces online, I began to question if choosing the Jimny was indeed wise. However, my wife maintained that it was the only car that brought a smile during our search, reaffirming our choice. We decided to head towards the hills to think in clearer air and get to know our Jimny even better.

I've always enjoyed long road trips, but as I've aged and my fitness has declined, I've imposed certain rules on myself:
  • Limit driving to 8-10 hours per day.
  • Avoid driving at night.
  • Plan stops and stays as much as possible.
Yet, we broke all these rules on this trip. We chose between Narkanda and Manali, depending on when we reached Ambala. Exhausted from traffic at Pandoh, we opted for Tirthan, a decision we later regretted due to a major traffic jam on the road from Aut to Banjar. The Jimny's compact size and robust automatic transmission were a boon here. The road to Tirthan is narrow, damaged (by landslides and floods), not too steep, but with a few challenging hairpin turns and heavy traffic. Keeping the gear in '2' worked well for the slow 5-15 kmph pace. Hill-hold was particularly effective while dealing with trucks/campers on the tricky sections.

The next day we headed to Manali for a more luxurious/lazy stay. The roads were generally good, except for a few odd stretches. We had lunch at a popular place on the highway before following Google Maps' suggested route to our resort, which turned out to be under construction. After making the incline on the broken/nonexistent road, we were informed by the locals that there’s no road ahead. I switched to 4H to get over the rocky bits. Then, I got to try hill descent control on the steep, loosely surfaced decline. Jimny's small size was really handy in those tight spots. The middle class man in me was delighted to utilize all its features (hill hold, ABS, and 4x4) on this one stretch. (Paisa Vasool).

On Sunday, we left Manali at 12:30 pm, planning to stop near Ambala for the night. We reached Ambala around 7:30 pm and eventually decided to continue to Noida, with as many breaks as needed. The Jimny performed well, keeping pace with traffic and overtaking slower vehicles. But still no match to the headlight flashing Cretas that make night driving a pain. Off topic, but what is it with most Cretas and their owners’ uncontrollable urge to flash the high beam? We reached home at 00:30 after a long and tiring drive.

Learnings and observations:

- This car seems made to take a beating. Rough or no roads doesn’t faze it. In right hands it can reach anywhere and come back.

- It has adequate highway performance (cruising at 80-100 kmph), however, I feel this chassis can handle more power. Just another 20-30 bhp would make this an amazing machine. The overtakes have to be planned on the hills and single lane highways. While my Linea Tjet is like a point and shoot when it comes to overtaking, this one is more like a DSLR.

- My right shoulder and arm weren’t as comfortable in the Jimny as they are in the Linea. There’s no space to rest the right arm if the windows are rolled up. Plus, the window glass buffeting if it isn’t rolled completely up is quite annoying. Don’t know if there’s a way to fix it. I may stick to 8-10 hours (300-400 kms) per day in future.

- Because of sitting higher up and possibly the soft suspension, I felt a more pronounced motion aftereffect (feeling you are moving or swaying after a road trip) than I do in the Linea Tjet.

- It returned respectable fuel efficiency during the trip. I didn’t actively track the fuel efficiency but here’s what the car feels it did. Much better than what I achieve in the Linea Tjet. I generally get 11-12 kmpl on similar trips in the Tjet. Anyone with a lighter foot and more patience can easily get 16-17 kmpl on the Automatic Jimny.

Maruti Jimny Review-img_4761.jpeg

Overall, this trip has reaffirmed the Jimny as a versatile and satisfying purchase. Any flicker of buyer’s remorse about the Jimny has disappeared.

A video of the Gmaps recommended route to the resort:

Some pics from the trip:

Maruti Jimny Review-img_3949.jpeg

Maruti Jimny Review-img_4010.jpeg

Maruti Jimny Review-img_4620.jpeg

Maruti Jimny Review-img_4009.jpeg

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4761.jpeg
Views:	112
Size:	2.41 MB
ID:	2537427

Maruti Jimny Review-img_4748.jpeg

Maruti Jimny Review-img_4747.jpeg

Maruti Jimny Review-img_4744.jpeg

Maruti Jimny Review-img_4741.jpeg

Maruti Jimny Review-ph20231124125141000092.jpeg

Maruti Jimny Review-img_4628.jpeg

Maruti Jimny Review-img_4629.jpeg

Last edited by aah78 : 1st December 2023 at 08:27. Reason: Pictures inserted in-line.
Biraj is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 30th November 2023, 19:57   #2352

Originally Posted by jackofsome View Post
Guys who are using roof racks or roof bars. How loud it can get with them on? If someone is on the fence should he get it? If its livable wanted to know what is the best/ lightest available in the market?
I have the OEM roof bars and there’s a booming noise that sets in around 70 kmph. So, it doesn’t bother much at city speeds but can be an irritant on highway trips. I turn the volume up and try to ignore it as my wife likes them. It kind of adds a visual element to an otherwise plain Jane roof.

Originally Posted by KeeepDriiiving View Post
Hello All,

Potential deal-breakers:[list=1][*] While driving I hit my elbow many times with the door steering through Bengaluru by-lanes. I'm 5'10" thin fellow. My wife also hit once though she doesn't remember - and she's 5'5". This was like my Santro days. But here I've read many tall owners being very happy with Jimny. Can I say that cramped arm space is easy to adjust to? If I loved my Santro, then I should stop worrying about this?
I am a broad person and have faced this issue multiple times. It never bothered me much on regular drives but on my recent trip, I did two 12 hours stretches and by the end of the trip, my right shoulder and arm were aching. Not sure if it can be fixed but I may experiment with adding a cushion to the door handle. Adding an armrest has helped my left arm and shoulder.
Biraj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st December 2023, 07:52   #2353

SECOND SERVICE DONE Re: Maruti Jimny Review

SECOND SERVICE DONE

Got the second service done as have now finished ownership of 6 months (well not exactly but MSIL seems to count from the day the vehicle is dispatched from the factory in their systems).

Very uneventful (as most service centers would get you to believe – just a tick mark service for them) but a very essential service in my opinion.

Got the Air Filter and Front Cap Roof Side Drip (both sides) replaced (I will try a double sided tape on the underside as a sort of permanent fix for this) on request as this is not part of 2nd service schedule. The Service Cost was nil - only paid for parts ordered.

Maruti Jimny Review-trail-drip.jpeg
Maruti Jimny Review-rail-drip-2.jpeg

This is the service that will loosely put fix all potential issues with your Jimny for years to come and also throw up any current issues when done properly. It is a complete examination of the vehicle. Pages 9-3 to 9-5 of the owner’s manual lists all the activities to be carried out. It also states activities on inspection of various components and tightening of bolts to specified torques.

The following are the ones that need torquing and tightening as per the schedule:
1. All chassis bolts and nuts (Tighten).
2. Tighten compressor mounting bolt.
3. FRONT / REAR SUSPENSION : All bolts and nuts (Loose)

A very often neglected part of service and maintenance in our country by both owners as well as service centers is how bolts are tightened. This is also something that I am most particular with on anything I own with wheels on it. Car manufacturers (as well as 2 wheeler manufacturers) provide torque specifications for a reason. Following their guidelines with a torque wrench ensures that you're maintaining your vehicle according to the intended design and engineering standards. Here is why it should not be ignored:

Precision Matters: Cars have specific torque requirements for different components like lug nuts, spark plugs, and engine parts. Using a torque wrench ensures you tighten them to the manufacturer's specifications, preventing under-tightening or over-tightening.

Avoid Stripped Threads: Over-tightening bolts can strip threads, causing potential damage. A torque wrench helps you apply the right amount of force without risking thread damage, ensuring a secure fit.

Wheel Safety: When changing tires, it's essential to use a torque wrench on lug nuts. Proper torque helps maintain the integrity of the wheel assembly, preventing issues like wheel wobbling or uneven tire wear.

Engine Performance: Engine components, especially those involved in combustion like spark plugs and cylinder head bolts, require precise torque settings. Incorrect torque can lead to poor engine performance, leaks, or even damage.

Brake System Integrity: When working on brake components such as calipers, rotors, and mounting bolts, using a torque wrench ensures that everything is securely fastened. This is vital for your safety and the vehicle's overall braking performance.

Consistency in Repairs: If you're conducting repairs over time, a torque wrench helps maintain consistency. This is especially important in professional settings to adhere to industry standards and specifications.

Some torques are mentioned in the Owners Manual provided but a comprehensive list would only be in the service manual (not available to purchase for the 5 door to my knowledge) hence difficult to know. Only the Service Centers would have access to it.

Something that I wanted to most definitely looked forward to was to re-torque the suspension bolts (part of maintaining your suspension warranty as a must do – but again given a by-pass in India from all after market suspension providers). Torque figures were hard to get on my own but stumbled across these and are provided under for the Suspension (these are for the JB74 3 Door but match our JB74LWB version) and also the wheel nuts (this is provided in the owners manual as well) :

Maruti Jimny Review-screenshot-20231201-6.14.168239am.png

Source : https://teamghettoracing.com/vehicle...rque-settings/

For those inclined it gives complete torquing specifications and good to be armed with for cross checking with the service center.

This is for JB74 but matches with the ones available in our Owners Manual.

All in all a very satisfying service. Some bolts were definitely loose and needed re-torquing.

Also good to know that everything was ship shape in my Jimny

The car now drives better - or maybe its just a placebo effect

Hope this helps folks getting their second service done.
ShivC is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 1st December 2023, 09:15   #2354

Originally Posted by Biraj View Post
With discussions about significant discounts, declining sales, and the widespread criticism or mockery the Jimny faces online, I began to question if choosing the Jimny was indeed wise.
Thanks for sharing this. I loved the video with all the stats posted by you. It clears two things to me
1) Jimny is the undisputed mountain goat, period.
2) the suspension is miles ahead of other vehicles in this category. Your recording has such sorted angles without any wobbling, it would be awesome to see similar recording by a Thar, even Hilux if possible in same path. Both are equally capable but the suspension as others have pointed out in similar threads and here also, is best in Jimny.

Thanks for this post, it definitely makes an impression.

Jj

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 9th April 2024 at 14:03. Reason: Typos.
jimmyjagga is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st December 2023, 14:19   #2355

Greetings,

Good news.

The Jimny is now available at 10.74 lacs ex showroom. Details are awaited.

https://www.nexaexperience.com/jimny

My local dealer in Delhi confirms this limited time offer, he has a team meeting today and will know more then.

Happy Motoring..
pinnaclecap is offline   (8) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com