Old 11th February 2024, 13:10   #2926

Re: Maruti Jimny Review

Making of a Jimny:

The Maruti Suzuki plant was set up back in 1983, but today, it’s home to the company’s most modern line.
Spread over 300 acres

Located in Gurugram; 15km from Delhi International Airport

Employs 13,000 people

Runs 16 hours in two shifts

150 rain water harvesting wells and a lagoon with a capacity of around 49,800 kilolitres

Has a 5MW solar plant
Maruti Jimny Review-_jimny-factory-web-resized._001.jpeg

Link:

Last edited by GTO : 15th February 2024 at 10:52. Reason: Trimming it down to 1 image
volkman10 is offline   (36) Thanks
Old 11th February 2024, 18:17   #2927

Originally Posted by dearchichi View Post
Can you summarize it's utility as a tourer, with respect to comfort in the front and rear rows while being seated for long hours and ability to overtake easily on single carriageways? I don't much mind the lack of power if it's comfortable enough for the front row occupants and reasonably so for the rear seat ones, and isn't scary to perform overtakes with.

Thank you. Front seats are comfortable and cushioning has a bit of firmness. The seats are slightly smaller and heavier folks might find bit uncomfortable. For shorter folks lack of seat height adjust might be a problem. Personally everyone in family found front seats comfortable even on 7-8 hours drive. Yet to add armrest which I believe will help. Rear seat base is a bit smaller while recline angle is good. Again for shorter folks/kids this is fine but may not be so for taller folks. Leg space is limited too. Overtaking is not a problem in most situation. However if you looking for close calls, I would avoid risky overtakes in Jimny. To me every overtake has to be planned irrespective of the car. Being new car I had avoided pedal to metal driving. Another aspect, don’t compare Jimny with likes of fast turbo petrols or powerful diesels w.r.to power on tap. This is not a car that can set the street on fire.

Originally Posted by jimmyjagga View Post
I have a question here, how and much do you feel the difference when driving Fortuner and then Jimny. Does it affects your driving habit, do you feel the need to adjust. Plus was the price only motivation, I mean any reason why you did not consider Thar. My apologies if my questions are bit personal I am finding my self in a similar situation and want to understand the perspective better.

thank you
Thank you. Jimny and Fortuner(or even Hilux) are very different and no comparison at all. On open highways Jimny doesn’t have the grunt of the large diesel or cannot maintain same speed. The Jimny though excels when it comes absorbing bumps/bad patches. Jimny easily has the best suspension setup among the body on frame vehicles I have driven.

I love the new Thar and Mahindra has done an amazing job. I had a Thar DI earlier and new gen Thar is just amazing. Compared to Jimny, Thar has much better engine gearbox, road presence. My other cars serve this purpose and positives of Thar were not a requirement for me. Jimny has its positives compared to Thar, like compact dimensions, practicality, comfort etc. pricing was just icing on cake, which helped to seal a deal.
PrideRed is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 11th February 2024, 20:02   #2928
mxx

I bought a Jimny in December.

Unlike a lot of people here, I was not a Jimny/Gypsy fan and did not think much of it till it was launched here in India. However, once it was launched and the I found it very interesting product. First of all, I loved the design. Since this thread started, lot of my teambhp time was on this thread. Even when there are no new posts I would go back and admire the pics in the older posts. It has fun written all over it. I found it a very practical, capable and fun car with proper 4x4 kit - and all that under 20 lakhs. I felt that was a good deal. How many cars are there in India that fits this description? Other than Jimny, only Thar I guess.
That brings us to the next question, why not Thar? There were a few reasons
1. I felt that Thar was not as practical as Jimny. The extra 2 doors and usable boot space with the second row up was a huge deal for me.
Then there is the compact dimensions. It is a boon in India. I have traveled to many places in southern states of India. There are many places off the highways in the villages were the roads are very narrow and for that reason I always liked cars with smaller dimensions than large SUVs. Even in cities, it is easier to maneuver in traffic.
2. I did not like the Thar's ride. There was too much movement even on not so bad road. Not just about comfort. Some time back I had lower back pain and it took a lot of time and treatment to fix it, and I did not want a car with bad and bouncy ride. Also I could not feel that confidence in higher speeds. The ride quality is night and day difference between both cars.
These are personal preferences. Thar is not a bad car by any definition. Like Jimny, it is a breath of fresh air among all the "built to template"/"built to please everyone" kind of cars flooding the market.
I also feel that Thar is the only car that can be compared with Jimny. Comparing Thar/Jimny with all other crossover/pseudo-SUVs is missing the whole point of these 2 cars - which is fun, go anywhere vehicles.

Coming back to Jimny, I was impressed by the car and was actively considering purchasing the same in 2024 December. If I am buying new, I always buy in December because the deals are always good. However, with the massive discounts I decided to advance my purchase to 2023 December. More than the discounts, the real reason I bought it now is FEAR. Fear that it will suffer the same fate as S-cross - which was discontinued when sales did not meet Maruti's expectation. Discount was a bonus for sure. I regret that I did not buy Abarth Punto while it was on sale. I regret I did not buy Polo 1.0 GT Tsi when it was on sale. I did not want to add another one to the list.

Before I continue, I would like to discuss something. I see many posts from owners who purchased Jimny without discounts. Few things about that
1. I strongly feel that the Jimny is a great value even in the non-discounted price. As I had mentioned above I was planning to buy before I knew of any discounts. I am sure, the people who purchased at its original price also felt it was good value, which is why they bought in the first place. Yes, it does feel bad. But what has happened has happened, we cannot change it. So, enjoy the car
2. If it is some consolation, the prices are back to what it was. So, resale wont be hit.
3. There is no car in India under 20 lakhs that is so unique and exclusive (atleast for now). In these 1.5 months I have had random strangers including ones using German luxury brands come up to me and inquire about the car.

So far no major modifications are done to my car. In fact I think the critics in Jimny threads helped me keep my expectation so low, that most things are above my expectations.
Only few things I have purchased are
1. Center console storage tray
2. Rear defogger protectors
3. PVC spare wheel cover
All from Harman Impex. They seem to have a good catalogue of products for Jimny (both cosmetic and functional).
Contact: +91 98210 10164 (they will send you catalogue over whatsapp if you request it)
Disclaimer: I do not have any interests (neither personal nor commercial) with the above mentioned business.
I am sharing this because I saw a lot of stuff in catalogue that was not posted in this thread before.

Apart from this I got ceramic coating done from Esperto care care (near bilekahalli) - cost me around 27k for 3 years. Found them from this teambhp thread : https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/banga...bangalore.html (Car detailing, ceramic coating, PPF & wraps - Esperto Car Care (Bilekahalli, Bangalore))

The 2 cons that actually bother me:
1. 40L fuel tank is too low for this car. Specially when you consider what it is built for. Go anywhere - as long as you carry extra fuel canisters with you.
2. Thud from rear suspension when you go over speed bumps

Last edited by mxx : 11th February 2024 at 20:05.
mxx is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 11th February 2024, 21:12   #2929

Hi folks
Update on my Jimny alpha manual purchase.Covered around 500km
Ordered a Throttle tuner from Australia, EVC got it for 11K with 5K as import duty.Installation was simple plug and play.
Four modes : AC- most useful for all situations
Ultimate stage 1 to 9; 9 being the most responsive, Jimny behaves like my Ecosport ecoboost
Eco mode 1 to 4, best for off roading and gets the best mileage in highway.
Factory mode: stock tune.
Overall Im delighted at this product and makes the drive more enjoyable.
The only thing that bothers me with the spirited performance is the body roll which is difficult to manage with the stock suspension.Guess a stiffer suspension as in Bilstein will be really helpful.If any one has done similar upgrades kindly share.Mind you, Im talking about using Jimny as a daily driver and the comparison is with the likes of ecosport and all and not for pure off roading.
The other day I got a pdf of the Jimny owners manual forwarded by the nexa advisor which is a nice keep for easy referral.
Happy motoring
Maruti Jimny Review-whatsapp-image-20240210-23.15.28.jpeg  

arunedwin is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 13th February 2024, 21:19   #2930

Jimny becomes the least sold Maruti model in Jan

News article

Last edited by moralfibre : 14th February 2024 at 01:38. Reason: Source link fixed
vinair is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th February 2024, 08:20   #2931

Originally Posted by vinair View Post
Jimny becomes the least sold Maruti model in Jan

News article
They (Maruti) tried discounting Jimny to turn up the sale volume, still looks like a long way to go for it. I still think it is a good vehicle, with not so good pricing. I wonder if they will ever think of releasing the famous 3-Door version, with optional soft top variant in India. Considering not much R&D is required on this, since it is their global selling icon for decades. Does any one have any information on the release of 3-door version in India.

Jj
Old 14th February 2024, 20:19   #2932

Lovely short trip to test the capabilities of Jimny. You are lucky to kiss the snow as you stay near to snow point . We the Kolkata guys only have the option to North sikkim or Zuluk. By the way nice and crisp travelogue with detail..
Travelmania is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2024, 23:11   #2933

Originally Posted by arunedwin View Post
Hi folks
Ordered a Throttle tuner from Australia, EVC got it for 11K with 5K as import duty.Installation was simple plug and play.
Would you mind sharing the website you ordered this from?. I might be travelling to NZ in couple of months, so thinking about getting this shipped from Australia.
4x4master is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2024, 19:23   #2934

Originally Posted by 4x4master View Post
Would you mind sharing the website you ordered this from?. I might be travelling to NZ in couple of months, so thinking about getting this shipped from Australia.
4x4modsaustralia.com.au
Old 16th February 2024, 13:30   #2935

Originally Posted by arunedwin View Post
Hi folks
Four modes : AC- most useful for all situations
Ultimate stage 1 to 9; 9 being the most responsive, Jimny behaves like my Ecosport ecoboost
Eco mode 1 to 4, best for off roading and gets the best mileage in highway.
Factory mode: stock tune.
Overall Im delighted at this product and makes the drive more enjoyable.
I'm new to the forum and have recently got the Jimny Zeta AT. Not happy with the initial pickup like most of the folks here, so planning my first mod to be a throttle controller.
I see a lot of people in the forum buying the wind booster which I guess is easily available. Wanted to check if any of it is any better than the other and why did you choose to order from Australia when the wind booster is readily available in India.
Also, anyone here who has instead installed performance air filter, headers etc to get than additional boost.
Old 16th February 2024, 20:31   #2936

Originally Posted by CorporateMonk View Post
I'm new to the forum and have recently got the Jimny Zeta AT. Not happy with the initial pickup like most of the folks here, so planning my first mod to be a throttle controller.
I see a lot of people in the forum buying the wind booster which I guess is easily available. Wanted to check if any of it is any better than the other and why did you choose to order from Australia when the wind booster is readily available in India.
Also, anyone here who has instead installed performance air filter, headers etc to get than additional boost.
Guess wind booster is equally effective.Not sure which is superior.I just followed ‘ Guru’ from Motoroids.Hes a BHPian too.Watch his youtube video.Thers a better model from Ultimate9 which is EVC X,costly(22K approx),got bluetooth connectivity and more modes like valet and all.The only area of concern abt these for me now is, should we dismantle it before giving for service and the maruti guys will make a “scene” of it!!.People who have already given the car for service can explain on it.Thanks
arunedwin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2024, 12:46   #2937

First service and modifications update -- Alpha A/T:

First service:

I went for the service at exactly 1000 kms on the odo. Changed the oil and the service centre had stock of FS 0W16 Ecstar engine oil. They were more than happy to accommodate my request. Total bill came up to Rs.18xx. The Jyote Motors Nexa service in Kolkata is one of the best service centres I have experienced. I was skeptical going to Maruti service for the first time in my life, but was totally surprised.

Observations on the car:
1. It can indeed be a city slicker if you want it to be. Nimble, loves tight spaces, small footprint and great visibility overall.
2. I thought after all the reviews that it is indeed very slow overall as a vehicle. But when I started living with it, it made me realise first that its adequate. However the revelation was once I bought the Windbooster. I know this topic has been discussed to death. However still here is my perspective - the only reason in general reviews say its slow is because the throttle response is deliberately muted (most probably due to this being an off-road vehicle as if the throttle is spiky in tricky situations should be a bane rather than a boon). After installing the Windbooster and testing all the modes I have settled for 'Sport+' with intensity level at 6. The lag is gone, and it drives just like an usual car. You won't be left wanting in most situations. Its a fantastic little thing. Bonus is when you go off-roading, just toggle back to 'Normal' mode and you are good to go.
3. 100 kmph with cruise control is relaxing. Its not busy at all to the contrary where there were scepticism about highway cruising.
4. Fuel efficiency in mixed cycle of 50% city and 50% highway is hovering around 11.5 kmpl. I do think this will go up a bit.
5. The ride quality is superlative and most importantly silent. Good roads, no problem, bad roads no problem, no road no problem. One issue though is on sharp speed breakers, the rear suspension is bouncy.
6. The A/C is pretty amazing.
7. The steering is hard at parking speeds. Getting used to this. Takes 5 secs more of your time while parking in tight spots.
8. The turning radius is a non issue most of the time, except for tight U-Turns.
9. Overall build is light but sturdy.
10. The brakes are spongy, and its strictly adequate, EBC says they are looking at replacement brake pads for the Jimny. Lets see when can I get a set of the same. But the good part is there is negligible nose dive compared to other 4X4s.
11. The attention its getting is still high. Most of times its an irritant, some times you feel nice.

Enjoy the couple of pictures:
Maruti Jimny Review-img_6499.jpg

Maruti Jimny Review-img_6501.jpg

Now coming to the modifications:

Exterior:
1. DRLs which double up as indicators. Looks stunning with the OEM level detailing:
Maruti Jimny Review-white-drl.jpeg
Maruti Jimny Review-indicator.jpeg
2. Fog lamps - Brand - Maxxlink - currently set at only low beam, compliments the headlights fantastically. I will look to add the high beam functionality as soon as I get an installer who will reliably say that he will do it.
Maruti Jimny Review-foglights.jpeg
3. Matte tactical grille.
4. Roof wrap (bear in mind there will be bubbles which will need to be sorted out if you plan to do this at the beginning because of the ribbed roof.
5. Rear LED tail lights - word of caution- do ask them before buying if there are resistors inbuild for the rear indicators, otherwise it will hyper flash. This was the case for me and it got sorted when I added resistors for both indicators - 6 Ohm 50W varieties.
6. Farad Lock nuts - I am yet to install, post the install will remove the stepney cover.
7. This stunning 4X4 sticker
Maruti Jimny Review-sticker.jpeg
8. Others include front bumper skid plate and side claddings which I have chosen to install out of the complete Thunder Kit that we got for free at the time of purchase.

Interior:
1. Driver side cupholder cum phone holder from Amazon JP. I love the tactile feel of this item.
Maruti Jimny Review-cupholder.jpeg
2. Centre storage space from Amazon JP. The complete thing is rubberised and hence no rattles even if you keep metal items on it. Great find this.
Maruti Jimny Review-centralstorage.jpeg
3. Passenger side storage bag. Looks uber cool according to me.
Maruti Jimny Review-bag.jpeg
4. Armrest. Very good quality and totally serves my purpose with a nifty storage space. Blends with the interior as well.
Maruti Jimny Review-armrest.jpeg
5. Sun blinds from official accessories catalogue from Nexa. Also purchased their boot mat. Both good quality products.
Maruti Jimny Review-window-curtain.jpeg
6. GFX mats
Maruti Jimny Review-gfx-mats.jpeg
7. Upgraded the cabin lights to white LEDs.
Maruti Jimny Review-cabin-light.jpeg
8. Rear ceiling storage for nick knacks. I have bought the storage net from Nexa and then fixed it as on the picture below. For this you would need the luggage hooks that are available from 4Xforza.
Maruti Jimny Review-ceiling-storage.jpeg
9. Key cover
Maruti Jimny Review-key-cover.jpeg
10. Windbooster
Maruti Jimny Review-windbooster.jpeg
11. I have chosen to install the seat covers, tan attachments for the grab handles, the illuminated door sill guards and the front door appliques.

Really happy with the overall outcome. I will soon go for a Dashcam and get the doors damped. Oh am I smitten after hearing the Fujitsubo axle back exhaust? You bet.

Last edited by jackofsome : 17th February 2024 at 12:51.
jackofsome is offline   (42) Thanks
Old 17th February 2024, 16:23   #2938

Originally Posted by jackofsome View Post
First service and modifications update -- Alpha A/T:

First service:

I went for the service at exactly 1000 kms on the odo. Changed the oil and the service centre had stock of FS 0W16 Ecstar engine oil. They were more than happy to accommodate my request. Total bill came up to Rs.18xx. The Jyote Motors Nexa service in Kolkata is one of the best service centres I have experienced. I was skeptical going to Maruti service for the first time in my life, but was totally surprised.

7. This stunning 4X4 sticker
1. Driver side cupholder cum phone holder from Amazon JP. I love the tactile feel of this item.
Attachment 2573673
2. Centre storage space from Amazon JP. The complete thing is rubberised and hence no rattles even if you keep metal items on it. Great find this.
Attachment 2573672
Attachment 2573669
Hi thank you for this information, your White Jimny with the tasteful mods looks very classy.
I had also sent my Jimny to the Okhla service center in Delhi for its first service, 2 weeks ago but they refused to change the oil and filters. And said it would only happen in the 3rd service. Is there a SOP that is followed across dealerships ? I am closing in on 3000 kms driven and want to change the oil, filters etc, as i am sure it will improve the driving experience and mileage.

Could you share the links for the cup holder,storage unit that fits near the gear level and passenger side storage bag please. Does the cup holder block the right AC vent in anyway ?

Thank you & safe driving.

Kundan.
Ksingh544 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2024, 18:59   #2939
mxx

Originally Posted by CorporateMonk View Post
What I could understand from this thread:
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modif...er-review.html (EVCX Ultimate 9 Throttle Enhancer Review)

is that even EVCX is available in India, and you dont need to order from Australia. However, wind booster is cheaper than EVCX while having similar performance (judging from many youtube videos that I have seen).
mxx is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th February 2024, 05:14   #2940

Originally Posted by jackofsome View Post
1. DRLs which double up as indicators. Looks stunning with the OEM level detailing:
3. Matte tactical grille.
5. Rear LED tail lights -
4. Armrest. Very good quality and totally serves my purpose with a nifty storage space. Blends with the interior as well.
7. Upgraded the cabin lights to white LEDs.
Congratulations @jackofsome on the Jimny, and I definitely echo some of your observations. I picked up mine on 12-Dec during the "Great Discount Sale" and have happily covered over 8500km in this short time. I had given my vehicle for the first service at Sky Automobiles, Bhubaneswar and they refused to change the engine oil. I had also called Jyote Nexa at Bhubaneswar but Sky was faster to respond so I went to Sky. I was quite happy with their quick service (went in by 2pm and was out by 5:15pm) while I was closing a few work related emails in their customer lounge. The SA's knowledge on the Jimny was rudimentary though.
My fuel economy on the stock Jimny with a 70%Highway and 30% City use is at 13.79kmpl using the full tank to full tank method.
It definitely is an attention grabber-more so on the highways.
Coming to the mods- could you please let me know where you got the DRL, LED rear lamps, armrest, front grille, LED cabin lamps and the passenger storage bag?
Just a quick question - wouldn't the passenger storage bag foul with the deployment of the passenger side airbag in case of a frontal collision?
I have driven the Jimny around a few ghat roads in Karnataka between Dharmasthala and Belur (read as no roads in some sections) and it just sailed through without a blip while most cars were huffing and puffing. It did not give me an opportunity to engage the 4X4 yet.
Meanwhile, I am planning a 15 day trip to Sikkim in April, (tentatively around 20-April to 5-May) where I hope to have some fun in the 4X4 mode. I would plan my return via Kolkata (to visit relatives and friends) and would love to catch up on some "Adda" over chai- if possible.

Happy driving!!
MobileThunder is offline   (9) Thanks