Old 1st February 2025, 15:08   #106

Re: Kia Syros Review

Originally Posted by Ashy1112 View Post
I too need to change to lower variant. Had initially book HTX
variant (since my leasing limit is 15L, though am okay to pay the extra from my pocket- not sure how leasing will work out in that scenario), now thinking whether to go for HTK plus petrol Manual or i20 Top variant. Personally I liked the smart key with Push button, Leather seats with ventilation and LED headlamps. So now little confused. Good Safety ratings results may favour Syros.

Praying for a early launch of Venue facelift soon.
Depends on your use case. I could even go for the Seltos but we were specifically looking for a sub 4m car as we had our fair share of pains with a 4.5m MPV. Was initially looking at the Sonet but things that worked in favour of the Syros were the spacious and bright interiors(the black interiors in Sonet GTX were a put off), good rear legroom and seat ventilation(this was a must and the only other car in market currently with rear seat ventilation in our budget is the safari which again is a 4m+ car) and easy ingress egress for my senior citizen parents.

On a side note, Kia could have done away with gimmicky features like the 64 color ambient lighting and reduced the price of the HTX+ or provided the 360 cam instead of useless and pointless lighting. This is a family car, not a party bus or a gamer PC!. It might be me but I'd gladly take an UV cut or IR cut glass for the windshield and windows over the completely pointless sunroof which adds no real value given our climatic conditions.
arvind_ravi01 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 15:09   #107

Am unable to wrap my head around the 23 Lakh price tag for a sub 4 meter, pseudo SUV that looks like Wagon-R, and that too with a 1.5 liter engine !

And the spread between the Base and Top variant = OTR price of Base variant probably. This is crazily overpriced for what it offers
Sk8r is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 15:30   #108

TOP Variants are just a no go.

Perosnally wanted to go for the HTX Automatic in petrol but that also goes to 17 lakh on road. Was getting top model Venue for 16.36 Lakh last year with ADAS level 1.

The only model worth going for is HTK+ which comes to around 15 Lakh on road. Will wait and see once I test drive the car and see for myself. But have to say KIA has missed the pricing big time on this one especially for the higher variants.
aditya_reds is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 15:45   #109

Originally Posted by arvind_ravi01 View Post
Depends on your use case. I could even go for the Seltos but we were specifically looking for a sub 4m car as we had our fair share of pains with a 4.5m MPV. Was initially looking at the Sonet but things that worked in favour of the Syros were the spacious and bright interiors(the black interiors in Sonet GTX were a put off), good rear legroom and seat ventilation(this was a must and the only other car in market currently with rear seat ventilation in our budget is the safari which again is a 4m+ car) and easy ingress egress for my senior citizen parents.

On a side note, Kia could have done away with gimmicky features like the 64 color ambient lighting and reduced the price of the HTX+ or provided the 360 cam instead of useless and pointless lighting. This is a family car, not a party bus or a gamer PC!. It might be me but I'd gladly take an UV cut or IR cut glass for the windshield and windows over the completely pointless sunroof which adds no real value given our climatic conditions.
Agreed with all the points, I was looking for Venue SX(o) later changed to i20 owing to rear seat comfort but Syros looked like a perfect alternate if not better. Now the only constraint is the leasing limit. If there was an option to do away with useless Sunroof (for Chennai weather) to save some money I would be glad.
Ashy1112 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 16:39   #110

Originally Posted by sharmanova View Post
Top variant price comes to ₹23 Lakhs on-road in my city.
Virtus GT top end comes less than that.
They have taken an i10 platform to great heights just with creature comforts!!

Last edited by Sheel : 1st February 2025 at 17:28. Reason: Broken quote tag fixed. Thanks.
Petrolcapitis is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 16:47   #111

Kia has already dispatched 5,546 units of the Syros to its dealers in the month of January.
sharmanova is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 17:01   #112

Originally Posted by sharmanova View Post
Kia has already dispatched 5,546 units of the Syros to its dealers in the month of January.
Not sure how many of the booking have or planning to change the booked variant.
Ashy1112 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 18:21   #113
Oxy

Thanks Kia for ruining such a nice product with atrocious pricing.

Guess I will now wait for the EV variant of Syros scheduled to come next year.
Old 1st February 2025, 19:35   #114

If I am in the market for an Automatic.

What the Syros Gets over the Kylaq Signature AT? 15.5 Lakh

These are Useful
  • Sliding rear seats
  • Rear Camera with Dynamic Guidelines
  • Push Button start
  • 12.3 Inch HD Display
  • Rear Disc Brakes
These not that much
  • Bigger Sunroof
  • Auto Fold Mirrors
  • Shark Fin Antenna

What the Kylaq Signature AT gets? 13 Lakh
  • Costs 2.5 Lakh Lesser
  • Electronic Differential Lock (EDL and Extended Electronic Differential Lock (XDS+) Only Jimny has this in Sub 4 mtr cars
  • MQB9 Platform and TSI engine (Multiple award wining engine) and better Mileage
  • More reliable Torque Convertor than the DCT. Ahead in Ride, Handling and NVH
  • LED Head lights Vs Syros Halogen headlights

However, I cannot wrap my head around the fact that I will be paying for a "reinforced" I10 Platform that has never scored more than 2 Stars in a crash test and pay up to 22 Lakh for Gizmos
Kia Syros Review-crash.jpg  

Last edited by BSASLR : 1st February 2025 at 19:38.
BSASLR is offline   (45) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 19:58   #115

Originally Posted by BSASLR View Post
If I am in the market for an Automatic.

What the Syros Gets over the Kylaq Signature AT? 15.5 Lakh

These are Useful
  • Sliding rear seats
  • Rear Camera with Dynamic Guidelines
  • Push Button start
  • 12.3 Inch HD Display
  • Rear Disc Brakes
These not that much
  • Bigger Sunroof
  • Auto Fold Mirrors
  • Shark Fin Antenna

What the Kylaq Signature AT gets? 13 Lakh
  • Costs 2.5 Lakh Lesser
  • Electronic Differential Lock (EDL and Extended Electronic Differential Lock (XDS+) Only Jimny has this in Sub 4 mtr cars
  • MQB9 Platform and TSI engine (Multiple award wining engine) and better Mileage
  • More reliable Torque Convertor than the DCT. Ahead in Ride, Handling and NVH
  • LED Head lights Vs Syros Halogen headlights

However, I cannot wrap my head around the fact that I will be paying for a "reinforced" I10 Platform that has never scored more than 2 Stars in a crash test and pay up to 22 Lakh for Gizmos
Very valid point! I was thinking about searching for the crash ratings of all K1 platform vehicles. Thanks!
How much reinforced? Can it go from 2 stars to 4 stars ? Only the crash results can answer. KIA needs to get their ratings out sooner. It can be make of break deal for many buyers. A poor results can make people cancel the book vehicle at the same time. A good rating can make the people thinking to cancel the booking to hold on to the booking.

I have already started to think of other options with good features and decent space within 15L range.
Ashy1112 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 22:35   #116

I’m not sure what to make of the pricing. Seems to be very very expensive for a sub 4m car. Why would someone not go for a Kaylaq or a nexon or a Windsor?

I was looking to get Kaylaq and then Syros after it was launched as the car is good. Wagon-R or a mini defender? But pricing has put me in a fix.

Windsor is as good for everything interior and intracity and suburb travels; size is not as big an issue it is made out to be. Nexon LR for someone with long highway runs maybe. Kaylaq for maybe someone with low running?
Old 1st February 2025, 23:19   #117

I wanted the Diesel, but it's way too overpriced for a sub 4m car. The Nexon is offering better value.
wheelspinner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 23:58   #118

I was a bit worried if my choice of XUV 3XO AX5L was a mistake until I saw the pricing of the Mid - Top variants of the Syros. I remember some saying how can someone justify spending over 15L for a Sub 4m car and Kia has taken it to a whole different level. The reviews on ride quality was a bummer too. What good is a spacious rear seat if they cannot provide a comfortable ride? Those corner placed headlights and taillights are a cause for concern in the cities as well. If length was no concern for parking reasons or ground clearance for gigantic speed breakers, people should not overlook really good sedans like the Honda City at the price of Syros' top variants.
nuew is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2025, 01:37   #119

Originally Posted by AnkitShroff View Post
The top variants are overpriced by a good 2 lacs in my opinion, lower variants are the ones that are VFM.
Originally Posted by Sk8r View Post
Am unable to wrap my head around the 23 Lakh price tag for a sub 4 meter, ...
...This is crazily overpriced for what it offers
Originally Posted by Oxy View Post
Thanks Kia for ruining such a nice product with atrocious pricing.
Originally Posted by aadiaksh View Post
I’m not sure what to make of the pricing. Seems to be very very expensive for a sub 4m car.
Originally Posted by wheelspinner View Post
I wanted the Diesel, but it's way too overpriced for a sub 4m car.
Originally Posted by arvind_ravi01 View Post
HTX+(O) D AT comes to ~18L ex-showroom translating to around 22.5L OTR in Chennai.
Originally Posted by mgoel View Post
Kia is not interested to pass benefit of < 4m to customers, it will rather use it to garner more profit !!
Not only Kia (Sonet&Syros), but even Mahindra (3XO), Hyundai (Venue), Skoda (Kylaq) and others are really over priced. When I say over-priced, in my humble opinion, no Sub-4-meter car should be priced more than 15.5 lakh on-road. Give only the features that can be given on that price point. Even Baleno has features like 360 degree parking camera and none of these "SUVs" which costs 15 lakhs have it! Sonet even doesn't have a fully digital instrument cluster at that price point! I think it was Hyundai who first pushed the price point beyond 15 with Venue?. Then others followed.

Anyway, At least it's good that the AX5 variant of Mahindra 3XO still almost feels like a top variant unlike others.
LakeWalker is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2025, 08:54   #120

Top variants are ridiculously overpriced. It costs close to 22.5L in my city. One could get way more poweful and bigger scorpio n diesel automatic / xuv700 petrol automatic mid variant at this price point. What was KIA thinking?
HarKag is offline   (6) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com