Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 31st October 2015, 01:49   #676
v12

Re: Restored Fiats (Super Select & Others)

Spotted this Fiat 1500 Spider last week. I believe this car was red earlier and was owned by a forum member.
Restored Fiats (Super Select & Others)-img_20151025_171652.jpg  

Last edited by Rehaan : 8th September 2023 at 00:32. Reason: Small typo :)
v12 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th November 2015, 17:33   #677

Seen on an online buy/sell portal. (I have no connection with the seller)
Restored Fiats (Super Select & Others)-131904549_1_1000x700_fiat1100superselectultadoorsmumbai_rev001.jpg  

Restored Fiats (Super Select & Others)-131904549_2_1000x700_fiat1100superselectultadoorsuploadphotos_rev001.jpg  

Restored Fiats (Super Select & Others)-131904549_3_1000x700_fiat1100superselectultadoorsfiat_rev001.jpg  

Restored Fiats (Super Select & Others)-131904549_6_1000x700_fiat1100superselectultadoors_rev001.jpg  

Restored Fiats (Super Select & Others)-131904549_7_1000x700_fiat1100superselectultadoors_rev001.jpg  

Restored Fiats (Super Select & Others)-131904549_5_1000x700_fiat1100superselectultadoorsmaharashtra_rev001.jpg  

Anwesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th November 2015, 15:08   #678

Originally Posted by SunnyBoi View Post
Saw an exceptionally well maintained Milliecento at Mysore. The front grill was so immaculate, too bad I was on my two wheeler and couldn't click enough pictures. Only one came out well.

Fret not, Sanjay.

Name:  ForumRunner_20151111_150348.png
Views: 1932
Size:  722.0 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151111_150408.png
Views: 1809
Size:  816.1 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151111_150423.png
Views: 1838
Size:  716.8 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151111_150459.png
Views: 1848
Size:  709.7 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151111_150511.png
Views: 1855
Size:  825.9 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151111_150557.png
Views: 1763
Size:  900.3 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151111_150612.png
Views: 1769
Size:  606.6 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151111_150624.png
Views: 1704
Size:  774.2 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151111_150640.png
Views: 1839
Size:  761.6 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151111_150657.png
Views: 1700
Size:  882.3 KB
schakravarthy is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 11th November 2015, 15:12   #679

Originally Posted by schakravarthy View Post
Fret not, Sanjay.
Thanks a lot for the pictures! I hope you noticed the empty brake fluid container and alerted the owner!
SunnyBoi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th November 2015, 17:48   #680

Select spotted by SunnyBoi at Bangalore.

Name:  ForumRunner_20151115_174750.png
Views: 1537
Size:  777.5 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151115_174805.png
Views: 1477
Size:  817.5 KB
schakravarthy is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th November 2015, 08:05   #681

Hi guys,

This MYB 1317 belongs to Dr. Nirmala a senior gynaecologist from Mysore. She lives in Vontikopal, Mysore. You can see the car parked in the corner house near the bus stop beginning of Kalidasa road.

She was my teacher during my undergraduate days in mysore, thats in 1986 - 1992. She used to drive it daily to work. I think she stopped her medical practice now but still drives around Mysore in this beauty. Saw the car in her house last week when i was in Mysore.
Drkannant is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th November 2015, 08:39   #682

Originally Posted by Drkannant View Post
This MYB 1317 belongs to Dr. Nirmala a senior gynaecologist from Mysore.
I remember you showing a pic of the car when we met, doctor! I've been keeping my eyes open ever since. It was only last week that I saw the car and had a chance to snap a few pics. I knew you'd recognise it instantly.

I am truly sorry to hear the loss of Mr. Adhinarayanan. Your car will surely miss him.
schakravarthy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th November 2015, 19:48   #683

Oh!
Initially, I did tell my friend that it was a Safari, but then I recalled seeing different taillights (horizontal ones) and a slightly different rear cover. So, I told him that it was probably a modified President.
You can compare this with our original 1973 Safari.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vintag...-cars-239.html

On our car the passenger door upper corners had a sharp angle, they were not rounded like the Sedan doors. I am blocking the rear door in the photo so this cannot be seen. Also please note that the D pillar rake angle of our car MMB1585 is more pronounced compared to the car here.

The white car here could be a modified President or a Safari built by somebody other than Starline. Maybe the Karnataka dealer.

Happy Motoring,
Old 7th December 2015, 10:34   #684

Spotted yesterday evening at Mysore.

Name:  ForumRunner_20151207_103421.png
Views: 1391
Size:  811.4 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151207_103429.png
Views: 1301
Size:  849.2 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20151207_103443.png
Views: 1289
Size:  794.6 KB
schakravarthy is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th December 2015, 18:17   #685

Spotted yesterday evening at Mysore.
The door mounted rear view mirror spoils the otherwise neat looking car. I believe this is a daily driver.
Old 9th December 2015, 14:26   #686

Originally Posted by KkVaidya View Post
The door mounted rear view mirror spoils the otherwise neat looking car. I believe this is a daily driver.
Agree. Even a more period looking chrome ORVM would have looked better.

On the other hand, the ORVM is probably there because, as you said, it looks like a daily driver. In today's traffic, driving without ORVMs is dangerous.
Old 9th December 2015, 18:20   #687

Originally Posted by Viju View Post
Agree. Even a more period looking chrome ORVM would have looked better.

On the other hand, the ORVM is probably there because, as you said, it looks like a daily driver. In today's traffic, driving without ORVMs is dangerous.
In multi lane traffic ORVMS are necessary but in narrow byelanes it is better not to have it/keep it folded inwards
Old 10th December 2015, 00:00   #688

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
In multi lane traffic ORVMS are necessary but in narrow byelanes it is better not to have it/keep it folded inwards

Never said anything about the mirrors being folded. Just mentioned why I thought he fixed those aftermarket mirrors in the first place.

Anyway, OT ends here. Keep them beauties coming.
Old 10th December 2015, 12:50   #689

Originally Posted by Viju View Post
In today's traffic, driving without ORVMs is dangerous.
Dear Viju - hello after a very long time! Slightly OT, on ORVMs, I still drive all my personal cars with the ORVMs completely closed all the time (my perk car, the Tata Bolt has its ORVMs closed all the time). I never miss the ORVMs, as I grew up around cars that did not have ORVMs in the first place. My driving style in the city is extremely defensive. In today's traffic, things can turn dirty very fast, its just not worth it. Therefore, I regularly get snide remarks like: "kya unkeel, license hai kya" and I actually enjoy giving them blank looks and continue driving even more sedately. .

By the way, during test vehicle evaluation on the test tracks and on life test / HSD (high speed durability) vehicles, it's a completely different ball game altogether! There's no "unkeel" there! But for this, I have practiced for years and years, and I am still learning. I have the best job in the world, that of a professional vehicle evaluation engineer. ENJOY! .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar

PS: maybe I should visit Mysore once, there seem to be a lot of fiats out there! Cute place.
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th December 2015, 14:46   #690

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
PS: maybe I should visit Mysore once, there seem to be a lot of fiats out there! Cute place.
Yes sir, please do. Mysore is the place for these classics, with little traffic to trouble them and one can drive at a leisurely pace. I'll certainly make it a point to meet you, with our family member, KA 22 M 2511. My dad still uses it as a daily driver and I'm proud to have her in the family.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com