Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 27th October 2010, 10:15   #481

Dont want to repeat what others have said. Wonderful effort and result.
Regarding the tyres, is this the standard size? Would tyres from Tempo Trax be meatier and more stable to ride?
Old 27th October 2010, 10:42   #482

Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
Dont want to repeat what others have said. Wonderful effort and result.
Regarding the tyres, is this the standard size? Would tyres from Tempo Trax be meatier and more stable to ride?
Thank you very much, all you guys who appreciate the work are an inspiration to me

Today i unusually woke up early, to pass time, i went through my dairy where i maintain the costing for restoration. I was more than to see the restoration cost of the Bus to have gone beyond 2.50 lacs.

But well worth the investment, it returns a smile every day i see it.
Old 27th October 2010, 10:45   #483

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post

I was more than to see the restoration cost of the Bus to have gone beyond 2.50 lacs.
Mr. Pavan, could you please give the break up?

I wonder how much my Bus restoration will cost me!!
Old 27th October 2010, 18:15   #484

Originally Posted by EARTHed View Post
Mr. Pavan, could you please give the break up?

I wonder how much my Bus restoration will cost me!!

Alright, nice to know you have a Bus too, Some pics please

The costing is as below, if you need complete split on each and every item, just send me a p.m , will be glad to do so.

1) Metal work and welding - 26000/-
2) Tinkering and Body beating - 18000/-
3) Body preparation for paint - 35000/-
4) Painting material and labour - 32000/-
5) Complete Upholstery - 28500/-
6) Imported mechanical spares(includes brake kits, engine seals, centre seat, and upholstery material and etc.,) - 47000/-
7) Imported main wiring harness - 12675/-
8) Front and rear wiring loop made by local electrician - 15000/-
10) Lubricants, plugwires, lathe charges etc., - 9800/-
11) Mechanic labour - 15000/-
12) Some more spares added recently - 17600/-

Total of Rs. 256575/-

But i am happy
Old 27th October 2010, 19:48   #485

Alright, nice to know you have a Bus too, Some pics please
Hello Mr. Pavan Kadam.
My Bus is currently being restored in Hebbal Motors Works. I bought the Bus for little more than 5L. I will update you with the current resto status when I am back to Bangalore.

I plan to color the Bus with Red and White.

Here are some pics.

All the best and drive safe.

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-imag_0828.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-imag_0829.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-imag_0834.jpg  

Old 27th October 2010, 19:57   #486

Hello Mr. Pavan Kadam.
My Bus is currently being restored in Hebbal Motors Works. I bought the Bus for little more than 5L. I will update you with the current resto status when I am back to Bangalore.

Hey EARTHed,

Congrats, on your New BUY PK is right person to help you, if you need any info on the Bus. Please do keep us updated on the restoration status of your new grab.
Old 27th October 2010, 20:00   #487

Just saw this thread & your restored bus Pavan Saab.

I totally adore & respect you for such amazing restorations. The pics of your garage with your 2 classics looks amazing. What a result for 2 years of patience & hard work.

Kudos to the great man...
Old 27th October 2010, 20:15   #488

Hello Mr. Pavan Kadam.

Here are some pics.

All the best and drive safe.

Do you mean to say that you bought that white coloured Baywindow in that condition for 5 lakhs!!??
was it bought from Goa?
Old 27th October 2010, 20:31   #489

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
Do you mean to say that you bought that white coloured Baywindow in that condition for 5 lakhs!!??
was it bought from Goa?
It was a surprise gift for me from Dad on my first wedding. So I can't comment more on the price.
Old 27th October 2010, 21:36   #490

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post

I totally adore & respect you for such amazing restorations. The pics of your garage with your 2 classics looks amazing. What a result for 2 years of patience & hard work.

Thank You buddy, Its a real pleasure to see you in the classic section

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
was it bought from Goa?
This Bus is from Mumbai, not Goa.

I have seen this Bus last year with a Lawyer , The bus is run only 29000 kms and is BONE STOCK. Supposedly a 2nd owner since 1971.

Well , i rushed to meet Earthed the moment i saw this pic

He's not going to restore it, i got him to drive it out of the workshop to his Uncle's house nearby, Will be getting some nice rubbing polishing by weekend, before it goes to his house at Belgaum.

Nice gift, well, there is no price for emotions.

Enjoy the Bus.
Old 27th October 2010, 22:17   #491

yes, first time. bumped in accidentally & feeling great!
Old 27th October 2010, 22:25   #492

yes, first time. bumped in accidentally & feeling great!
So, when do we see you with a Classic in this section.

You bet, its a big high with this passion. A feeling unmatched.

Best of luck and hope to see you acquire one soon.
Old 27th October 2010, 22:29   #493

Truly said about Pavan and his machines. Raj a hearty welcome from me too here.Next I am sure you will consider adding a classic VW microbus to give the MHawk company.
Old 27th October 2010, 22:30   #494

Pavan: The only 'barely classic' car we had was a 1986 model premier padmini (our first car) restored painfully to stock condition with all original parts in proper working condition.

but sadly, my dad passed that car to a relative of ours.

@ anjan: restoring & maintaining classics require a lot of time, patience & dedication, i am terribly short of it! but one day, i do aspire to buy an old 4x4 jeep & restore it. it wont be a classic (unless i buy a mahindra classic!!!) but thats just one of my wishes!

Last edited by raj_5004 : 27th October 2010 at 22:35.
Old 28th October 2010, 19:05   #495

This Bus is from Mumbai, not Goa.

I have seen this Bus last year with a Lawyer , The bus is run only 29000 kms and is BONE STOCK. Supposedly a 2nd owner since 1971.

Well , i rushed to meet Earthed the moment i saw this pic

He's not going to restore it, i got him to drive it out of the workshop to his Uncle's house nearby, Will be getting some nice rubbing polishing by weekend, before it goes to his house at Belgaum.

Nice gift, well, there is no price for emotions.

Enjoy the Bus.
that bus from the photo appears that it requires a restoration and although agree that ""there is no price for emotions''' a "1971 baywindow offered for sale '' sure has a price and that is the reason for my comment.