Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 28th August 2009, 14:45   #331

Congrats Pavan. Nice restoration project. Enjoyed the end results.
Old 28th August 2009, 21:08   #332

Originally Posted by sats View Post
Stupendous effort, the satisfaction of realising a dream and one that a whole family can enjoy, is priceless.

Even at stand still the bus make me think of one thing only - Tripping 24/7

Enjoi...
Thanks buddy, I am already tripping around my neighbourhood last 24 hrs

Some pics below

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
Congratulations on another project near completed.

Thanks Karl, As they say, It ain't over till its finally over. Detailing will take time.

Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
Congrats Pavan. Nice restoration project. Enjoyed the end results.
Thanks buddy,
Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09581.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09585.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09591.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09593.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09594.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09590.jpg  

Old 28th August 2009, 22:15   #333

Congratulations the car looks smashing! Many happy years of motoring in the ultimate symbol of motoring freedom.
Old 1st September 2009, 15:46   #334

shes real pretty man. Has anyone mentioned chrome hub caps yet?
Old 1st September 2009, 18:04   #335

This VW Microbus looks great !!
Congrats on completing yet another completed restoration !!

One of my friend is also restoring a INDIAN MICROBUS i.e. 1966 Tempo Matador.
Will try for some pics.
Old 1st September 2009, 19:28   #336

good job my buddy , it looks really good !
Old 2nd September 2009, 09:09   #337

Congrats on your bus, pavan!!

I bet she;s a real head-turner now! Next time I'm in Bangalore, I can hop on for a ride in and we can do a rendition of a 70s action movie scene; I would anyways be in the right garb to match it!
Old 2nd September 2009, 09:14   #338

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
Congratulations the car looks smashing! Many happy years of motoring in the ultimate symbol of motoring freedom.
Thank you very much buddy, i am really looking forward for a loooonng ownership with this Bus

Originally Posted by '88tessa View Post
shes real pretty man. Has anyone mentioned chrome hub caps yet?
No my friend, not yet found the chrome hubcaps

Originally Posted by dhrishikesh View Post
This VW Microbus looks great !!
Congrats on completing yet another completed restoration !!

One of my friend is also restoring a INDIAN MICROBUS i.e. 1966 Tempo Matador.
Will try for some pics.
Thank you, Would love to see the Indian Classic Bus(Matador) pics soon.

Originally Posted by Naren4140 View Post
good job my buddy , it looks really good !
Thanks Naren, I still could not detail it like the way you do to your cars.

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Congrats on your bus, pavan!!

I bet she;s a real head-turner now! Next time I'm in Bangalore, I can hop on for a ride in and we can do a rendition of a 70s action movie scene; I would anyways be in the right garb to match it!
Any time buddy, In bangy call me for a Bus ride (he he....)
Old 2nd September 2009, 09:22   #339

Congratulations Pavan on completion of the project.

After seeing your thread I am spotting these buses quite often in movies of 70s,
This Sunday I watched 'Mukaddar ka Sikandar' on TV and saw the VW micobus in red / white parked in background in just one scene. .

Seems they were quite popular in India in 70s

Do you have any information on history of these microbuses were they individual imports or was there any VW dealership in India selling these microbuses ?
Old 2nd September 2009, 23:36   #340

Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Congratulations Pavan on completion of the project.

After seeing your thread I am spotting these buses quite often in movies of 70s,
This Sunday I watched 'Mukaddar ka Sikandar' on TV and saw the VW micobus in red / white parked in background in just one scene. .

Seems they were quite popular in India in 70s

Thank you buddy, lots to be done before its complete

Drove the Bus around 70 kms extensively today Neat and tidy.

There's a small problem, the carb secondary butterfly opens much earlier than it should, but not a major trouble with the running.

Everyday morning i make it a point to drive my kid to school and back, almost 10 kms daily and last 10 days the Bus has run around 250-300 kms without a hiccup(touch wood he he...)

By friday the interior curtains will arrive, looking forward to see how it looks with them.
Old 3rd September 2009, 16:20   #341

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
By friday the interior curtains will arrive, looking forward to see how it looks with them.
Nahi gaadi, Nahi curtains and Nahi --------

Enjoy guruve and many more milecrunching to be done with this bus, now start planning your trips.
Old 3rd September 2009, 18:24   #342

Originally Posted by gowda79 View Post
Nahi gaadi, Nahi curtains and Nahi --------

Enjoy guruve and many more milecrunching to be done with this bus, now start planning your trips.
Bit busy at work since last 2 days.

Just been to the tailor, he's almost finished the curtains job.

Tomorrow morning fixing them. Will post some fresh pics.
Old 4th September 2009, 15:47   #343

Bit busy at work since last 2 days.

Just been to the tailor, he's almost finished the curtains job.

Tomorrow morning fixing them. Will post some fresh pics.
Holiday at office today coz YSR.

Had lot of time to finish some work on the Bus, tinker came home early to start work Since my kid also had a holiday, she starts with some screw-drivers and spanner lol..... Every time she needs to contribute to any work happening on the bus, cant stop her, he he.....

All curtains ON and happy to say, the bus now gives a warm and cozy feeling sitting inside

Each and every work or add-ons being done are just changing the way the Bus looks. Even the customary LEFT HAND DRIVE sticker makes a lot of difference.

Next bit of work is to get the Twin chrome rods for the side and rear glasses, work already in progress, maybe i'll have them installed by end of next week.

Some pics.....
Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09616.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09618.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09619.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09621.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09623.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09625.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09628.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09630.jpg  

Restoration of 1971 VW Baywindow Microbus: Restoration Complete-dsc09624.jpg  

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 4th September 2009 at 15:55.
Old 4th September 2009, 16:07   #344

Holiday at office today coz YSR. Some pics.....
Pavan, I would like to work for your company . Your bus is looking uber cool .

BTW does your vehicle emits some black smoke as seen on the rear bumpers. And also were u able to get more info on the bus I posted in the Volkswagen in India Thread.
Old 4th September 2009, 16:12   #345

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post
Pavan, I would like to work for your company . Your bus is looking uber cool .

BTW does your vehicle emits some black smoke as seen on the rear bumpers. And also were u able to get more info on the bus I posted in the Volkswagen in India Thread.
All banks on leave today buddy. Benefits of working in a Banking sector.

Thanks for your compliment, will spruce up this one some more slowly and steadily. Wish money grew on trees.... he he.

The Bus does not emit black smoke, too little though

The absence of tail-pipe is creating that mess, ordered for a pair of them, will rectify the black spots on the Bumper once installed. : )

I checked out on that VW Caravelle-Diesel, nice one but tooooooo pricey @ 5 lacs, with a cracked windscreen.