Team-BHP > Road Safety
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 28th September 2023, 09:12   #12451
BHPian

Re: Bad Drivers - How do you spot 'em

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Thinking about this, and your earlier post, as I understood it, and the answer is don't. Just don't!

A heavy foot on brake and accelerator costs money. Driving sedately in the right gear doesn't. Do not think that you are saving some money by being in too high a gear, effectively letting your car coast. Never coast. Always be in control.

As a young driver, I think you have misunderstood this, and need to correct yourself urgently.
Well i do agree that i shift to a higher gear to coast, but not extensively. I pick my slots and shift up only when the rpm is too high for the car to be smooth in the lower gear.

Also, simply shifting up to reduce the tightness of the engine also takes up extra fuel because a lot more acceleration is required, or so my dad says.

That said, points noted.

PS: Considering my 6 month experience, i am too chickened out to let the car be in control. I shift up only when tapping the A in the lower gear makes the car jerk forward
Old 28th September 2023, 15:24   #12452
Distinguished - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by shresan23 View Post
PS: Considering my 6 month experience, i am too chickened out to let the car be in control. I shift up only when tapping the A in the lower gear makes the car jerk forward

No no!

You must be in control, and, when needed, a lower gear will help you. Jerky driving is a symptom of inexperience: practice being smooth with your feet rather than avoiding learning the right way by changing up.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th September 2023, 17:07   #12453
BHPian

Quote:
No no!