Old 16th November 2012, 15:35   #271

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Originally Posted by KINI View Post
Guys,need your help here.We need a new car and we need it fast.
Budget:10-11Lakhs.
Running:25k kms/year.So Diesel!!
Requirements:Safety,Adequate power,High GC,Reliability.
Road conditions:City,highway and giant crater filled "roads."
The car replaces a SX4 ZXI.

Punto 90HP:Not TD'ed yet.Will do.But the same concerns I had for Linea remain.And yeah,love the shape.

Punto 75HProve for 3kms or so yesterday.Didn't like the centre console design and ofcourse,the infamous glovebox alignment.Zero turbolag,loved the steering,decent power,adequate for the city.How about the highways??Can it overtake effortlessly??Ofcourse same concerns as Linea.
Since you are ready to go for the Punto hatch, why not consider the i20 diesel. What you'll like in the i20 :-

- Top notch quality both inside and outside.
- Probably class-leading equipment list (auto headlamps & wipers, keyless entry, reverse camera, electric folding ORVMs)
- Fast and fuel-efficient diesel engine. Smooth 6 speed gearbox.
- Amongst the more spacious hatchbacks.
- 5 star safety rating. Upto 6 airbags, all-wheel disc brakes, ABS & EBD.
Sommos is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2012, 15:38   #272

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

"Too high on maintenence",please elaborate.Do you own one??Thanks!!

Replies in bold
I don't own one, 2 of my team mates do own Polo and a Vento each. The maintenance cost every 6 months is around 6000 for Polo and around 7000 for Vento. Their monthly run is around 2000 kms.

I own a Petrol Verna (Fluidic). Paid Rs. 1300 after 10,000kms (1st year maintenance). Compare that with Polo's Rs. 6000 after 10,000kms is scary for me.
junkishya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2012, 15:50   #273

I know this is not the right place to suggest this but i am going to go ahead. After owning new cars if i have to get a car at 10L pricepoint, i will boldly start looking at used market where Accord and Civic have exceptional depreciation.

These cars are hardly run and by pure mathematics the cost of buying, maintaining and running the cars will actually turn out exactly same or slightly lower than a new diesel.

Also the segment is completely different than rapid or vento and the feature list is far far better than the Rapid or Vento.

We started looking for a i10 and now i am seriously searching for a Honda Accord Petrol of almost similar cost knowing its absolutely safer and stronger at that price point.

Just 2 worthless paise.
VW2010 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2012, 18:02   #274

Originally Posted by Sommos View Post
Since you are ready to go for the Punto hatch, why not consider the i20 diesel. What you'll like in the i20 :-

- Top notch quality both inside and outside.
- Probably class-leading equipment list (auto headlamps & wipers, keyless entry, reverse camera, electric folding ORVMs)
- Fast and fuel-efficient diesel engine. Smooth 6 speed gearbox.
- Amongst the more spacious hatchbacks.
- 5 star safety rating. Upto 6 airbags, all-wheel disc brakes, ABS & EBD.
i20 was rejected because we already own a getz petrol and we have the following concerns
1.Don't want 2 Hyundai's(for that matter any mass market brand) home.
2.The SX4 was significantly cheaper than the getz to run and repair despite it being from a segment higher.
3.Hyundai A.S.S is becoming more crowded and the quality of work wasn't as good as what it used to be earlier.
4.i20 has a soft suspension na??So underbelly will scrape under loads!!

Vento TDI owners could you share your service costs??
Any good Fiat service centres in Chennai??
The race is down to Linea and Vento.

Last edited by KINI : 16th November 2012 at 18:05.
Old 16th November 2012, 19:26   #275

Vento TDI owners could you share your service costs??
Any good Fiat service centres in Chennai??
Did you read mikon's ownership thread, I posted above ?

VENTO TDi
1st Service - Rs 7200
2nd Service - Rs 9200
3rd Service - Rs 8300
F150 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2012, 19:40   #276

Originally Posted by KINI

I would suggest you to have a look at Fiat Linea. It has the looks to die for, a brilliant chassis with the best-in-class ride & handling. The communicative steering is a joy to use & the 16 inch turbine alloys are an absolute beauty!!
Yes, the Linea is less powerful than the Vento but I still feel it is VFM. If you are ok with the Fiat image you will certainly enjoy the car. Fiat service is not as bad as it is made out to be. They honour warranty without questions asked as I've experienced. I'm also skeptical about VW *SS.

Happy car shopping :-)
Rufus_M is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2012, 19:48   #277

Budget:10-11Lakhs.
Running:25k kms/year.So Diesel!!
Requirements:Safety,Adequate power,High GC,Reliability.
Road conditions:City,highway and giant crater filled "roads."
The car replaces a SX4 ZXI.

Finally we don't want to sell off the car for peanuts after 4years/1Lakh kms!!
Kindly suggest a car that can withstand the kind of heavy running that we do.My dad is a very careful driver and my SX4 at 90k is still running perfectly on its original clutch.The only reason we are changing the car is because of rising petrol costs.We didn't envision this kind of running when we bought the car then

If you're interested in the used car segment you could get your hands on something like the old Skoda, Laura or even a Jetta. All of which are superb mile munch- ers. You could get them for under 10 lakhs BUT they will all probably be high on mileage and service costs.

Since you mentioned you guys enjoy driving and also since I feel the quality of each drive is the major factor which translates into how an ownership experience will be, I'd say you go for either the Vento or the Duster. The Vento is an absolute pleasure to zip around as well as for long drives. I haven't experienced the Duster yet so no comments on that! Both of them should age really well if they're well taken care of. Resale value shouldn't be a big problem either for a well maintained vehicle.

Ford's build quality is highly doubtful, especially if you need a workhorse for mile munching. Also they suffer from resale value. (telling from experience with a Ford Ikon here). Be warned. After reading your posts I believe the car is going to be used by your father. If that's the case, the new Fiesta would be thoroughly enjoyable owing to its superb and light steering, coupled with one of the best suspension setups and a fuel efficient and decently powered engine. The interior quality is decent though not in par with the likes of the Vento or Verna.

Steer clear of any Hyundais!!! Their suspension setup is really REALLy unbearable!!

You could look at the Optra Magnum. Its got a comfy suspension tuning, lots of space and a potent engine(with turbo lag!!) but service intervals are too short.

I'd say you choose between the Vento, Duster and the new Fiesta. And do keep in mind not to compare these cars with your Cruze in any way while test driving them (saying this cuz i did the mistake myself a couple of times! )! Cheers!

Last edited by Vivek Jayan : 16th November 2012 at 20:02.
Vivek Jayan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2012, 21:10   #278

Originally Posted by F150 View Post
Did you read mikon's ownership thread, I posted above ?

VENTO TDi
1st Service - Rs 7200
2nd Service - Rs 9200
3rd Service - Rs 8300
Just came home.Will do now,thanks

Originally Posted by Rufus_M View Post
I would suggest you to have a look at Fiat Linea. It has the looks to die for, a brilliant chassis with the best-in-class ride & handling. The communicative steering is a joy to use & the 16 inch turbine alloys are an absolute beauty!!
Yes, the Linea is less powerful than the Vento but I still feel it is VFM. If you are ok with the Fiat image you will certainly enjoy the car. Fiat service is not as bad as it is made out to be. They honour warranty without questions asked as I've experienced. I'm also skeptical about VW *SS.

Happy car shopping
I'm not brand conscious.The only thing that is holding me back from the Fiat is the interior design and engine power.But VW A.S.S is a concern.

Originally Posted by Vivek Jayan View Post
If you're interested in the used car segment you could get your hands on something like the old Skoda, Laura or even a Jetta. All of which are superb mile munch- ers. You could get them for under 10 lakhs BUT they will all probably be high on mileage and service costs.

We don't buy pre-owned cars.Anyway,Skoda A.S.S here in Chennai is scary,that's why I ruled out the Rapid in the first place.I like it more than the Vento!!

Since you mentioned you guys enjoy driving and also since I feel the quality
of each drive is the major factor which translates into how an ownership experience will be, I'd say you go for either the Vento or the Duster. The Vento is an absolute pleasure to zip around as well as for long drives. I haven't experienced the Duster yet so no comments on that! Both of them should age really well if they're well taken care of. Resale value shouldn't be a big problem either for a well maintained vehicle.

Duster is a no-brainer but for the waiting periods.Haven't spoken to the dealers yet.The variant with safety features out of budget

Ford's build quality is highly doubtful, especially if you need a workhorse for mile munching. Also they suffer from resale value. (telling from experience with a Ford Ikon here). Be warned. After reading your posts I believe the car is going to be used by your father. If that's the case, the new Fiesta would be thoroughly enjoyable owing to its superb and light steering, coupled with one of the best suspension setups and a fuel efficient and decently powered engine. The interior quality is decent though not in par with the likes of the Vento or Verna.

Agreed.Love the new Fiesta.

Steer clear of any Hyundais!!! Their suspension setup is really REALLy unbearable!!

Hyundai cars are brilliant for city driving!!

You could look at the Optra Magnum. Its got a comfy suspension tuning, lots of space and a potent engine(with turbo lag!!) but service intervals are too short.

Production of the Optra has been stopped.Plus don't want two cars of the same brand home

I'd say you choose between the Vento, Duster and the new Fiesta. And do keep in mind not to compare these cars with your Cruze in any way while test driving them (saying this cuz i did the mistake myself a couple of times! Cheers!

Yeah I need to keep that in mind

What car have you zeroed on??

Last edited by KINI : 16th November 2012 at 21:38.
Old 16th November 2012, 23:00   #279

@ KINI : Yes Hyundais are brilliant for city driving until you find a broken patch of road. They literally crash into them and the rear passengers almost always end up being thrown around! This will happen even if you stop the car before the pothole and drive over it at seriously slow speeds! I'm saying this from daily experience as we own a new gen i20! The car is good except for the horrible suspension. I even felt motion sickness while driving through a curvy section on a highway! We are deeply regretting our choice now. We wanted a spacious hatchback for the city and thought a car with a soft suspension would be good but it turned out to be a real headache! Our Ford Ikon easily glides through the above mentioned potholes at speeds above 20 kph while the i20 always crashes into them, even at walking speeds! And the Ikon's suspension is supposed to be hard!! Also I feel that the "quality" is only superficial. The car does seem to be built to a price upon close inspection and feels quite "brittle" or delicate. I don't feel as confident driving the i20 as I do with the Ikon. Driving the Ikon is so rewarding and the car is really mature in its mannerisms. I think every man will find a good driver's car a boon to own and drive- especially if he loves driving. The "softer" Hyundais are better suited for the fairer sex in my opinion as they will appreciate the lightness of the pedals and steering etc.
You should also realize that cars which handle well are many times safer than cars with wobbly or unsettled handling. Our family's car ownership experience over the past 30 years taught us that if a car has good handling, good ride quality and a strong and efficient engine, any "drawbacks" will end up being unnoticed or overlooked. Being a Cruze owner I'm sure you know this yourself. The Cruze has some drawbacks like low rear headroom, "lack" of interior quality, as some people say: "no thud when you close the door!", turbo lag and so on. But in the end of the day you just don't care cuz driving that thing around everyday is so much more rewarding and exciting than any other car in its segment. Cheers!

Last edited by Vivek Jayan : 16th November 2012 at 23:04.
Old 17th November 2012, 10:42   #280

Originally Posted by Vivek Jayan
@ KINI : Yes Hyundais are brilliant for city driving until you find a broken patch of
I have limited experience with the present generation Hyundais.My Getz Prime is not as bad as you suggest.I only wish the steering had more feel.But then the car is driven mainly in the city on decent roads so we have no complaints.

But I did experience the suspension bottoming out under heavy load in my friend's pre-facelift i20!!

Anyway,that's OT I'm going to test drive the Vento in a few hours.Has anybody in Chennai had any issues with GC??

Last edited by KINI : 17th November 2012 at 10:53.
Old 17th November 2012, 12:19   #281

Linea:Going to test drive very soon.Do Fiat's age well??We don't want a niggly car!!Does the suspension last when driven on bad roads often??Don't like the shape.I know,wierd!!

Vento:Not TD'ed yet.Loved the interiors.Pricey but service costs are more of a concern.Don't wanna spend 15k for every service.Heck my Cruze was cheaper!!Does the car age well??
As i own a 2012 Linea, I can tell you that the USP of this car are (a) Solid build, rightly called by GTO as "a tijori on wheels", and (b) the ride comfort and the handling is best in the segment and the perfectly calibrated HPS always makes you feel connected to the car and sticks to tarmac like a leech. The 1.3 ltr. engine of the Linea has been pointed out by most to be the weak point of the car but I can tell you the true character of this car is evident on the highways and it is not a fun to drive in the city. Another point that Rafus has mentioned here is the Fiat honours it's warranty and don't make a fuss on replacement of parts.

The Vento on the other hand has a stunning diesel engine often called the torque king of the C segment. The car has a mature suspension that gives a balanced ride and handling. The main sore point is that the VW dealers sometimes behave in an arrogant way.
Sommos is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2012, 12:38   #282

Originally Posted by Sommos

As i own a 2012 Linea, I can tell you that the USP of this car are (a) Solid build, rightly called by GTO as "a tijori on wheels", and (b) the ride comfort and the handling is best in the segment and the perfectly calibrated HPS always makes you feel connected to the car and sticks to tarmac like a leech. The 1.3 ltr. engine of the Linea has been pointed out by most to be the weak point of the car but I can tell you the true character of this car is evident on the highways and it is not a fun to drive in the city. Another point that Rafus has mentioned here is the Fiat honours it's warranty and don't make a fuss on replacement of parts.

The Vento on the other hand has a stunning diesel engine often called the torque king of the C segment. The car has a mature suspension that gives a balanced ride and handling. The main sore point is that the VW dealers sometimes behave in an arrogant way.
+1 to your views. You've summed it up well. Fiats have a very good build quality. Also they are quite heavy when compared to the competition. This works in both ways, positive as well as negative.

Positive because of the 'feel' & build quality. My mom finds it hard to close the doors of my Punto in one try :-)

Negative because it affects FE. Not very significantly though as I've found out.

OT: My name is Rufus, not Rafus :-P
Old 17th November 2012, 13:33   #283

Originally Posted by Sommos View Post

From the real world and Team-BHP feedback,Sales and A.S.S for both VW and Fiat is a hit and miss here in Chennai.But the next key aspect here is resale value.We just sold our SX4 petrol for very less.So we are very keen that our next car should have decent resale value(Resale value is not the only criterion but one among the important ones).That is where I THINK the VW will pip the Fiat.

I have TD'ed the Punto so I have a fair idea as to what to expect from the Linea.The discount season is on so I believe we can bag the Vento for not much more than the Linea.The Vento comes will better engine,better interiors and better looks(my opinion).We are actively looking at the Vento TDI Highline as of now!!

Just spoke to the broker whom we sold the SX4 to,he mentioned that the Linea suffers from poor resale value.

Last edited by KINI : 17th November 2012 at 13:50. Reason: Additional info
Old 17th November 2012, 13:41   #284

That is where I THINK the VW will pip the Fiat.

I have TD'ed the Punto so I have a fair idea as to what to expect from the Linea.The discount season is on so I believe we can bag the Vento for not much more than the Linea.The Vento comes will better engine,better interiors and better looks(my opinion).We are actively looking at the Vento TDI Highline as of now!!
Good choice. VW will get a better resale value than a FIAT.

Below the quote from the I booked my car thread. JPM is from chennai or thanjavur

Originally Posted by jpm View Post
Upgraded to Vento HL Diesel from CL.

Candy White - INR 11,59,610 OTR incl. EW
less insurance - INR 41,497
less Corp Discount - INR 8,000
Final OTR after discounts - INR 11,10,113
F150 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2012, 15:56   #285

Originally Posted by Rufus_M View Post
OT: My name is Rufus, not Rafus :-P
Extremely sorry for the mistake, will be more careful.

The Vento comes will better engine,better interiors and better looks(my opinion).We are actively looking at the Vento TDI Highline as of now!!
Good that you have made the choise. Vento is an excellent car, no doubt.
Start a ownership thread after the purchase and share your experience.
Sommos is offline   (2) Thanks