Old 23rd October 2012, 15:40   #241

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

The resale value would largely depend on how well the car is maintained. Assuming that would be constant irrespective of brand.

I would agree with Verna if it has to be a 10 lakh sedan.
I would say Maruti Suzuki Ertiga if "10 Lakh Sedan" is not a contraint.

Originally Posted by agambhandari View Post
Just had a passing thought.
My family wishes to buy a 10 lakh car and keep it for 2-3 years only.
So as the resale needs to be high, i suppose we should go for diesel.(even if we don't need it).
So i have a simple question. All things aside, which car would have the max. resale value if i try to sell it after 3 years.
I believe it would be the Fluidic Verna. but what do you guys have to say about this topic?
Old 23rd October 2012, 17:15   #242
MHG

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Just had a passing thought.
My family wishes to buy a 10 lakh car and keep it for 2-3 years only.
So as the resale needs to be high, i suppose we should go for diesel.(even if we don't need it).
So i have a simple question. All things aside, which car would have the max. resale value if i try to sell it after 3 years.
I believe it would be the Fluidic Verna. but what do you guys have to say about this topic?
My limited economics knowledge tells me that regardless of what you buy, you get hit by maximum depreciation after 2-3 years. IMHO you're better off going for a 2-3 year old diesel sedan that has already taken a huge hit in depreciation (you may consider paying a small premium if quality is good) and then when you sell it after 3 more years you'll loose a lot less.

PS: Current skewed diesel demand may be a saving grace when buying a new car like the Fluidic Verna which could drop to 70% of its price in 3 years if petrol price hits 100-120 by then and diesel subsidy still holds. But don't even think of a new petrol. You'd be looking at a drop to < 50% of its price after 3 years.
Old 24th October 2012, 20:02   #243

As my query was not allowed a new thread ,I am reposting it here ..Kindly excuse some offtopic rants:

1.looking for best ride quality under 10 lakhs.

2.ertiga,manza,sunny,sumo grande,scorpio,duster in contention.

3.open for suggestions of used vehicles under 10 lakhs

4.diesel is a must.

5.ingress and egress should be easy for parents

6.I plan to TD 3-4 cars based on suggesstions given.

7.If somebody already compared suv,muv,sedans under 10 lakh for ride comfort,kindly share your views!
Old 24th October 2012, 21:16   #244

Originally Posted by drsingh View Post
As my query was not allowed a new thread ,I am reposting it here ..Kindly excuse some offtopic rants:

4.diesel is a must.

7.If somebody already compared suv,muv,sedans under 10 lakh for ride comfort,kindly share your views!
For purely, Ride Comfort nothing comes close to the Renault Duster.
Its easily the best riding car on the lower side of 25 lacs.

Also the ingress and egress would be quite easy.
The downside in duster is the poor interior quality and not a lot of space inside the cabin. Also the waiting periods quoted are quite high.

Another option for good ride could be the Manza, its got a lot more space and also its a Sedan. But it wont age very well(its a Tata after all)

Good to see someone from Ludhiana! Not a lot of bhpians here.

Last edited by agambhandari : 24th October 2012 at 21:18.
Old 24th October 2012, 21:37   #245

For purely, Ride Comfort nothing comes close to the Renault Duster.
Its easily the best riding car on the lower side of 25 lac

Another option for good ride could be the Manza, its got a lot more space and also its a Sedan. But it wont age very well(its a Tata after all)
Have you compared the duster with ertiga and the safari ? or the sunny?

I td'd the ertiga today.liked the package as a whole.can slide in and out like in a wagon r . huge doors and adjustable driver seat.lots of leg room for the middle row.reclining middle row a big plus for ride comfort.rear ac vents too.
Old 24th October 2012, 22:11   #246

Yes, the ertiga is a well put together package as a whole. But as you said you needed ride quality, duster seems like the De facto choice.

You didn't mention it before, but yes the safari is also very good in terms of ride and is quite spacious too. But i don't think you need an old school SUV, judging your requirements. Also in something like a safari, the ingress wont be very easy for the elders. They will have to climb up to the car.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 30th October 2012 at 23:34. Reason: fixed quote tags :)
Old 25th October 2012, 12:46   #247

4.diesel is a must.

Hey if you're into used vehicles do check out the previous gen Laura and/ or Jetta. The Europeans have a knack for hitting the sweet spot with suspension setups . Diesel versions of both can be found aplenty but do watch out for the excess mileage. Both vehicles would've easily covered well over 50k kms in most cases. Happy hunting!
Old 26th October 2012, 22:35   #248

kindly share your views!
Singh,My suggestion will be Manza,Ertiga ,Sunny,Scala and Vento.

Duster has a cramped 2nd row seats in my opinion.
Old 30th October 2012, 17:15   #249

4.diesel is a must.

Drsingh have you made any choice.

Need help/suggestions on any Suv/muv/sedan between 10 to 12.5 lakhs, should be spacoius to accomodate 5 with luggage, diesel, best ride quality & After sales service.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 30th October 2012 at 23:32.
Old 30th October 2012, 20:23   #250

4.diesel is a must.

Vento. Linea. Innova. Optra Magnum.

Vento: For: A quality product for the price. Well tuned suspension which offers both ride quality and handling. Frugal yet powerful diesel engine. Contemporary interiors. Good looks. Brand Image.
Against: 5th passenger won't be happy cuz of the rather tall central tunnel. A.S.S. is not yet clear. Comparatively expensive to maintain. Not exactly wide enough for a sedan (since its a Polo with a boot!). Motor is audible.

Linea: For: Best in class suspension setup which rivals even cars from a higher segment. Offers superbly comfortable ride with stable handling. Solid, tank- like build quality. Decent equipment levels. Gorgeous design(one of the best looking sedans out there!). Massive boot- space. Competitively priced.
Against: A.S.S. is an issue and so is resale value. Rear knee room does not justify the large appearance. New face- lift is downright UGLY!! . Engine is not as powerful as the competition.

Innova: For: Rides like a tank! Good mile munching ability. Strong A.S.S. Reliable and solid construction with almost zero niggles. Toyota= Peace of mind (for most people). Very spacious seating. Good luggage space. Strong, problem- free engine which returns decent economy. Can go over bumps and potholes without scrapping the under- body!
Against: Taxi- wala image can be an issue for some people. Aging product. Higher variants may be a bit overpriced. Looks a bit dated.

Optra Magnum: For: Spacious. Supple ride. Brutal diesel engine. Good luggage capacity. Wide service network. Premium product. Eye friendly design.
Against: Quite aged and it shows. Could run into issues relating to lack of availability of spares. Not the best handler though ride quality is impressive.

The suggestions given above give primary importance to "ride- quality" as per your requirements. I would also suggest that you mention the type of roads you'll be traversing, as in highways or cities. Some cars which offer a comfortable ride in the city will be quite unsettling and wobbly at highway speeds (for eg: The new Verna). Obviously one will have to make some sacrifices to come to a conclusion as there is no car within the stated budget which offers everything which a customer requires. For eg: Though the Vento is a great all rounder it loses out on leg space for the 5th passenger. And then there is the beige interior, which is an eye- sore for some while others find it to be upmarket. And just when we think we have the perfect car, there rises the horror of A.S.S. issues!

So, its basically a matter of personal preference. One may even be tempted to follow the heart and extend the budget a bit to get a more satisfying car, but be warned of higher running costs and quickly diminishing resale value. You can also check out used cars (if it's not a problem) like the previous- gen Jetta or Laura which are both great machines.

If one ignores one or two criteria, he/she can end up with the perfect vehicle! But for us Indians, that's easier said than done! Hope I helped! Happy hunting

Last edited by suhaas307 : 30th October 2012 at 23:32. Reason: fixed quote tags :)
Old 30th October 2012, 23:28   #251

1.looking for best ride quality under 10 lakhs..

Dr. Singh,

I believe you have very few options in the sedan segment if you're looking to buy a car with good ride comfort for under 10 lakhs. You might have to shell out a little more than 10 lakhs for some of these car.

Your options:
  • VW Vento / Skoda Rapid: (+) Good handling and dynamics, a workhorse for a motor, average / decent interior space, good ride quality. (-) maintenance will be more expensive than most cars in the price-bracket, poor service backup
  • Nissan Sunny / Renault Scala: (+) Lots of space and decent interior quality, proven and city-friendly diesel engines (-) Average ride-quality, poor brakes, ordinary / poor service-backup (marginally undercuts 10 lakhs)
  • Hyundai Verna (Fluidic): (+) Decent to good quality interior, decent ride quality, good engine, appearance (?) (-) average handling / dynamics, pricey
  • Mahindra Verito: (+) Good ride-quality, spacious interior, proven workhorse mills (-) Average interior quality, Taxi image / Mahindra tag (?) (undercuts 10 lakhs)
  • Toyota Etios: (+) Fundamentally near perfect - ride quality, dynamics, space, Toyota badge and reliability (-) lacks feel of quality, boring / bland / dated inside-out (undercuts 10 lakhs)
  • Tata Manza: (+) Decent ride quality, lots of space, proven engines, VFM option (-) patchy service backup, questionable interior quality (undercuts 10 lakhs)
  • Renault Duster: (+) Brilliant ride-quality, great dynamics, good ground clearance, tried and tested engines, appearance (?) (-) Average interior quality, rudimentary controls, expensive, long waiting list, poor service-backup
  • Maruti Ertiga: (+) Decent ride quality, spacious and flexible interior, familiar MJD engine, Maruti tag (-) average to decent interior quality, not very comfortable for adults on long journeys due to lack of support in the seats, long waiting period

Cars not included
  • Ford Fiesta - Stiff ride, cramped interior but worth a look if you enjoy driving
  • Honda City - Petrol engine only option and average ride
  • Mahindra Quanto / Scorpio - Average ride, rudimentary interior ergonomics, average to poor interior quality
  • Fiat Linea - Perfect car for your needs but poor service backup and Fiat's future is questionable
  • Toyota Innova - Too expensive for the variant you'd likely choose and too big for regular city driving

Cars worth considering if you can wait
  • Chevrolet Sail sedan - Scheduled to arrive early next year (Jan) (+) Spacious interior, great ride quality, 1.3 liter MJD Fiat sourced engine, good road manners / dynamics (-) Ordinary service-backup, bland design, ordinary interior

Last edited by suhaas307 : 30th October 2012 at 23:49. Reason: fixed quote tags :)
suhaas307 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 31st October 2012, 11:10   #252

In the ownership review of my Rapid I have shared my TD experience with all the cars below 10L. I have listed the Pros and Cons (what I felt) on each car in the thread. Have a look if you are interested.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...-ambition.html
sam_boy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st October 2012, 12:24   #253

Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
  • Nissan Sunny / Renault Scala: (+) Lots of space and decent interior quality, proven and city-friendly diesel engines (-) Average ride-quality, poor brakes, ordinary / poor service-backup (marginally undercuts 10 lakhs)
Your comment on the Ride quality surprised me a little. When I read the official T BHP review as well as GTO's ownership review of the Sunny, I got the feeling that ride quality was actually one of the strenghts of the vehicle.

My own personal experience with our Sunny has been quite good on the ride quality front. Of course if your comment is purely from a comparative standpoint with the Duster in particular (who's ride quality is said to be exemplary) then that's understandable. But standalone, I would say the ride in the Sunny is actually pretty good.
Old 31st October 2012, 12:32   #254

Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
Your comment on the Ride quality surprised me a little. When I read the official T BHP review as well as GTO's ownership review of the Sunny, I got the feeling that ride quality was actually one of the strenghts of the vehicle.

My own personal experience with our Sunny has been quite good on the ride quality front. Of course if your comment is purely from a comparative standpoint with the Duster in particular (who's ride quality is said to be exemplary) then that's understandable. But standalone, I would say the ride in the Sunny is actually pretty good.
Having driven the Sunny / Micra, I can say that the ride-quality is average. It's certainly not bad, don't get me wrong. It does soak in some of those nasties, but not quite as effectively as some other cars out there. While driving them, I made it a point to go into some pot-holes at low and reasonably-high speeds and while it wasn't terrible, I did feel thuds and jolts from time to time. On smooth surfaces, it's good. I think the Micra / Sunny's ride quality is average in comparison to the Etios's ride which is very good and Hondas under 10 lakhs offer below average ride-quality. Hyundai's have terrible rides. I personally think the i10 and Santro have the worst rides this side of UVs / Jeeps.**

** Thing is, given the context of the comparison, the Sunny does not hold a candle to some of the cars here.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 31st October 2012 at 12:36.
Old 31st October 2012, 13:48   #255

Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
Having driven the Sunny / Micra, I can say that the ride-quality is average.
It seems I experienced something similar during the last Sunday test drive of Sunny. My wife at the back said that the ride quiality at the back in Sunny is marginally better than our existing Getz on undulating roads full of pot holes at a speed of 30 to 40km/hr. Now the comment came from a non-automobile person who is quite sensitive about ride. The Nissan sales person commented that the test drive car was quite abused and that might be the reason. Besides, Micra ride is quite bad, I must say.

I am also eagerly waiting for SAIL test drive and compare it to vis a vis etios/liva ride.
sups is offline   (1) Thanks