26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 14th November 2018, 15:21   #3916
Senior - BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

Investing needs patience and strong heart. Stock market is not for faint heart folks. having said that each one of us would have faced those faint heart moments at some point in time. Those who braved those tides are sailing through the seas as of now and those who didn't are stuck with lot of cash in fixed income assets or real estate. Real estate, I believe, is thing of past and stock market is the future.

I have been investing since 2000 and still have not understood the market to time it. I have come to the conclusion that if you try timing the market then you are just gambling and not actually investing. for those who are not into stock market and cant invest time to study the stocks, mutual funds are the way to go. Here are some of my learnings that I would like to share. Take it with a pinch of salt.

1. One can NEVER time the market. Please DO NOT attempt doing it.
2. Investing constantly into the market through the thick and thin
3. Always draw up a plan with short/medium and long term goals. According to me short term is <3 years and medium term is 3 to 8 years and long term is > 8 years,
4. Invest into debt mutual funds for the short term. large cap equity funds for the mid term and mid and small cap funds for the long term.So, at any point in time one should have about 20% of investment in debt and about 30% in large caps and rest in mid and small caps. This might sound aggressive but this is the right way to go.
5. Invest and sit tight never enter or withdraw from the market because of change in macros. On long term market will grow. Take any 10 year period and market has always provided good positive returns.