Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 27th June 2011, 21:04   #256

Re: Kawasaki Ninja 650R : Test Ride & Review

Originally Posted by JVH View Post
A little birdie on a biking forum is confident that a litre class will be unveiled. Most likely the naked Z1000. No idea about the Z750. The birdie seemed pretty confident and I think I can take his word for now because he had predicted the 650R launch last year and was bang on the timing.
My source in Bajaj also confirmed that a litre class Kwacker will be the next to hit the roads at a price of about 9.8 lakhs. If its the ZX-10R then God save the other japs. Hunto?
Old 28th June 2011, 12:03   #257

The current 650R and 250R are of 2008/09 vintage. As per Kawasaki revamp cycle, they introduce major changes every 3 years. So is the revamp scheduled for 2012 models?
This would influence the decision of fence sitters (like me!!)
Old 28th June 2011, 12:23   #258

Two questions:
1) Any idea whether there is a test drive available in Bangalore.
2) Any idea when Black would be available
Old 28th June 2011, 13:15   #259

To KAWASAKI/BAJAJ:

First 250R. Then 650R. Now speculations of a litre bike. All sports or sports/tourers.

What about people like me who are suckers for classic tourers?

Eagerly waiting some news on the Kawasaki W800.

I am sure there would be sizable market in India for those bikes. If RE CLassic 500 can be overbooked with a wait period of almost a year, i am positive that a lot of that crowd would just go ballistic over something like W800. The CKD infrastructure is already in place, its just a matter of pricing it well like the 650R.

You already have a confirmed customer- myself.
Old 28th June 2011, 14:49   #260

Originally Posted by bikefreak View Post

BTW, the 6 page booklet / brochure they are giving, has the 650r on the last 2 pages and back cover, detail of the 250 on page 3 & 4 and the ZX6R on the front cover and first 2 pages !! Is Bajaj trying to give us a hint !!!
ZX6R is an true (insane for road) racing class bike. It would cost atleast 2 lacs more than 650R.
Old 28th June 2011, 15:01   #261

Originally Posted by Tommie View Post
1) Any idea whether there is a test drive available in Bangalore.
2) Any idea when Black would be available
1) No Test rides - Not till the initial lot of bikes hit the road.
2) No Black colour at least for the next 6 months.
Old 29th June 2011, 08:59   #262

Nice review, explained in detail. Let's see how the market response going to be.
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Riding gear highly recommended. That's me wearing CE approved body armor, knee guards, a kidney belt and a Snell 2010 rated helmet:
Get a decent pair of glove, next time around. Not the lousy ones like these.
Old 29th June 2011, 10:11   #263

Spoke to my sources at Bajaj last evening, still a good 3 weeks before the deliveries start. They have managed to rake in well over 100 confirm bookings in less than a month, thats an amazing feat.

The delivery timeframes have gone beyond 120 days now. Hope i get mine soon.

One thought came to mind yesterday was that the exhaust of the N650 is below the engine and Mumbai is famous for its water logging, can somebody throw some light on what could happen if you suddenly encounter a water logged road ahead ? Any precautions or worries ?
Old 29th June 2011, 21:44   #264

Originally Posted by Speed-Freak View Post
Spoke to my sources at Bajaj last evening, still a good 3 weeks before the deliveries start. They have managed to rake in well over 100 confirm bookings in less than a month, thats an amazing feat.

The delivery timeframes have gone beyond 120 days now. Hope i get mine soon.

One thought came to mind yesterday was that the exhaust of the N650 is below the engine and Mumbai is famous for its water logging, can somebody throw some light on what could happen if you suddenly encounter a water logged road ahead ? Any precautions or worries ?
They have stopped booking, probably i was the last one to book from Mumbai (Kanjur marg) pro-Biking, they have crossed 1000 + in just 20 days
Old 30th June 2011, 16:41   #265

Originally Posted by wheelieboy View Post
they have crossed 1000 + in just 20 days
Wow thats wierd, I had been there just 5 days back and he told me they had only 18 bookings, and I would be 19th if I book that day

I think you mean 1000+ bookings all over India ?
Old 30th June 2011, 21:20   #266

1000+ is very improbable. 250R OTR are 1500 in a year and half.

Also was checking out the changes expected in 2012 model (expected to be out in Sept'11) and according to Kawiforums, 650R is expected to sport split seats a la 250R!
Old 1st July 2011, 09:50   #267

Booking have been closed! I went to the Pune Probiking showroom on Wed night to make a booking and was told that the bookings were closed nationwide as of that day. Also, they have no idea when bookings will reopen. The salesman confirmed that the Pune showroom had received a total of 15 bookings and he speculated that countrywide bookings had hit about 500!
Old 1st July 2011, 10:41   #268

Originally Posted by Ragtop
Booking have been closed! I went to the Pune Probiking showroom on Wed night to make a booking and was told that the bookings were closed nationwide as of that day. Also, they have no idea when bookings will reopen. The salesman confirmed that the Pune showroom had received a total of 15 bookings and he speculated that countrywide bookings had hit about 500!
According to Overdrive the bookings have been suspended until the festive season! Your in for quite a long wait.
Old 1st July 2011, 14:48   #269

I know I can't compare apples and oranges. I also know you can't match the experience of a bike ride with a car ride, but whom do ask if I still have such a basic doubt? So goes my question to you guys. How come a nano delivers better mileage compared to a 600cc bike? As you see this bike weighs less than 200kgs while the car weighs more than that. While both of them are 2 cylinder engines, one has only 2 wheels to deal with while the other has 4 wheels so more friction. One is so sleek while the other one is prone to wind resistance as well. Considering all these, how come we can't get at least a double the mileage of a car from a similar CC bike? Where are we losing the generated power? So much in the drive train alone?
Old 1st July 2011, 15:16   #270

Originally Posted by highsteem View Post
I know I can't compare apples and oranges. I also know you can't match the experience of a bike ride with a car ride, but whom do ask if I still have such a basic doubt? So goes my question to you guys. How come a nano delivers better mileage compared to a 600cc bike? As you see this bike weighs less than 200kgs while the car weighs more than that. While both of them are 2 cylinder engines, one has only 2 wheels to deal with while the other has 4 wheels so more friction. One is so sleek while the other one is prone to wind resistance as well. Considering all these, how come we can't get at least a double the mileage of a car from a similar CC bike? Where are we losing the generated power? So much in the drive train alone?
One reason for that is the very very high compression ratio in superbikes since they are specifically designed to produce power instantly. Refer to Compression ratio - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.
The compression ratio in a Nano car's engine will be much lower as it is not designed to produce power instantly, but instead gradually.
Try fitting a CBR600's engine in a Nano car & we'll see what kind of mileage it gives......i.e. if it survives The person driving the car will probably leave the car's body behind on acceleration.
mb_jg is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com