Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 25th August 2011, 14:00   #4786
Senior - BHPian

re: A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_ajay View Post

I have a couple of queries which I hope you can help me with.
Do we wax [polish] before we apply sealant or do we apply a sealant before we wax [polish]?
Can you recommend a good lubricant to use, for claying the car?
Can anyone help with information on where we can find Meguiar's products in Bangalore? [I've tried meguiars.co.in, their India site doesn't work]
Please could you recommend a good sealant?
Also Rudraji and members, I'd like to know which model of Collinite I should be using, for best results. I have a white hatchback.

Thanks again.
aK

Ajay,
I am no expert. In fact,I am just starting off with car detailing.
Thanks to this thread and some of the experts like mkh, thinkbig and othres, I am feeling confident of making a start.
I too have a white car and this is what I am planning.

Car detailing -
Step 1> Washing - Wash with a good shampoo like Amway, use a wash mitt if I can get it. Dry the car with MF cloth.
Step 2> Claying - My car has lot of surface contaminants which does not go away with washing. So, claying is necessary. I am planning to use Mother's/Meguiar's clay bar for the same. For the clay lube, I am not going to buy anything extra. Either I will dilute the car shampoo or ONR for this purpose and save some $
Step 3> Compunding - this is required if there are lot of minor scratches and/or swirl marks. Also, this gives much better results with machine and can screw up the paint work if not done properly. Since my paint is in reasonable condition, I am planning to skip this.