Old 30th June 2017, 14:02   #286

Re: Maruti Ertiga steering U-joint

Originally Posted by aerohit View Post
I am not sure if the part is same for Swift/Ertiga.
Highly likely.

Originally Posted by sudev View Post
IMHO these joints should not wear out virtually for life of car.
Yes!

Have them replace the whole steering column under warranty if need be. I'd imagine this should be considered a manufacturing defect, though details on kms run etc would be helpful...
Rehaan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th June 2017, 19:32   #287

Quoting everyone above
Car is 2013 model, 35K, and is out of warranty. Vehicle is well taken care of and is driven occasionally only, never on bad roads.

It took almost an year to find the culprit. I avoid going to dealers and figure things myself first.

There has been occasional rattle sound originating from behind the horn pad for last one year when driven of rough surface.

I removed the steering, airbag, clock spring, speedometer console but could not find the culprit.

In the end I discovered that it is from the u-joint because I can shake the joint and hear the same rattle.

Good thing I was able to identify the source of this rattle because a typical dealer would have asked an unsuspecting owner to replace the entire steering column, which is really not required.

Now if only i can find the part.

For a maruti, it should have been easy, but this part is not listed in the parts manual.
Old 30th June 2017, 20:08   #288

aerohit, you are correct maruti does not have the u joint separate part number, I have been told by a machine shop who deal with car related job that Eicher( Canter) truck have similar size u joint and he has fitted to a lot of Swifts. Will be getting one soon for my car as well. but you can confirm this as well if any local machine shop or any car work shop or mechanic has done this or know about this.
Old 1st July 2017, 00:20   #289

@dinar if that part fits I think there should not be any problem.

@aerohit wow at such low odo this is happening? Good that you used your skills to isolate the problem.

Hope you find a solution fast
Old 1st July 2017, 10:02   #290

It has a spline shaft on one end and what looks like a universal ball joint mechanism on the other. If this is the case then you will not be able to replace the part without replacing the entire column.

If it has a spline shaft on the other end as well then you may be able to get a spare and replace it.
Old 1st July 2017, 10:17   #291

Originally Posted by aerohit View Post
This is for Ertiga steering.

The ball joint, also known as the U-joint is damaged.
Just checked the parts database.

Ertiga - Steering Column
Maruti Genuine Parts (MGP) Catalog: Post your queries here (model list on Pg 1)-screenshot_20170701101017.png

Swift - Steering Column
Maruti Genuine Parts (MGP) Catalog: Post your queries here (model list on Pg 1)-screenshot_20170701101119.png

Both are 2013 models. It doesn't have a separate part number. The whole collapsible column is a single part.

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 1st July 2017 at 12:13. Reason: Editing Typo
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st July 2017, 12:20   #292

The encircled part out of original picture shows nut bolt tightening mechanism. So it seems logical that both sides are removable.
Maruti Genuine Parts (MGP) Catalog: Post your queries here (model list on Pg 1)-1498891755199.jpg  

sudev is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st July 2017, 20:37   #293

UJs are simple mechanisms. Are you sure that is the source of the rattle, and not something like the rack?

If taking the part from some other vehicle, do count the number of splines.

Sutripta
Sutripta is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st July 2017, 21:56   #294

In my observation, it’s not the Yoke or the Star that makes the sound.
The steering spline unit which slides in & out of the Yoke makes the noise.
This happens due to long or rough usage. It can be also be manufacture defect.

'Very much similar to RWD propeller shaft'.
Remedy, expensive.
narendra.vw is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th July 2017, 10:54   #295

Re: Maruti Genuine Parts (MGP) Catalog: Post your queries here (model list on Pg 1)

I just changed my 2008 Alto's Wipers at a MASS.

The bill was as follows:
9900M24120-848 WIPER KIT (DR+AS) OLD WAGON R, OLD Rs.335.90
990J0M999H2-250 SCREEN WASH 50ML (11.70 x 2 nos.) Rs. 23.40

CGST @ 14% 50.31
SGST @ 14% 50.31
TOTAL Rs.459.92 (ROUNDED TO 460.00)

Is this correct, Shashi?
Old 5th July 2017, 11:07   #296

Re: Maruti Genuine Parts (MGP) Catalog: Post your queries here (model list on Pg 1)

Originally Posted by samaspire View Post

The bill was as follows:

CGST @ 14% 50.31
SGST @ 14% 50.31

Is this correct, Shashi?
Cost wise, 335 Net seems alright as I had paid similar few years back for my WagonR.

Wipers for the Ertiga are on higher side for no valid reasons and I always pick a pair from a good spare parts shop for 300 and install them - Minda, Bosch etc.
paragsachania is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th July 2017, 16:55   #297

Car: Alto K10 VXi AMT (2015)

Can you guys help me identify (and probably order) this broken Air Vent directional blade? It broke while I was trying to insert one of those Air Vent mobile holders. The second pic is more clear since it shows the original location where the plastic bit has broken off from.

Maruti Genuine Parts (MGP) Catalog: Post your queries here (model list on Pg 1)-20170426_203808-medium.jpg

Maruti Genuine Parts (MGP) Catalog: Post your queries here (model list on Pg 1)-20170426_203832-medium.jpg
I have tried to source this from 2 MASSs but none of them have it in stock and although I have seen them "request" for this part through their system, they haven't been able to get hold of it.

Last edited by vsathyap : 5th July 2017 at 16:56. Reason: Typo
vsathyap is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th July 2017, 21:48   #298

Originally Posted by vsathyap View Post
Car: Alto K10 VXi AMT (2015)

Can you guys help me identify (and probably order) this broken Air Vent directional blade? It broke while I was trying to insert one of those Air Vent mobile holders. The second pic is more clear since it shows the original location where the plastic bit has broken off from.
Part Number: 73610M67P00-5PK
Name: LOUVER CTR VENT
Price: Rs. 270

Originally Posted by samaspire View Post

The bill was as follows:

CGST @ 14% 50.31
SGST @ 14% 50.31

Is this correct, Shashi?
It's fine, except the use of two screen wash sachets. 1 sachet is more than enough, two or more makes it too concentrated.

Shashi

Last edited by Leoshashi : 5th July 2017 at 21:50.
Leoshashi is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 8th July 2017, 12:31   #299

Dear Shashi Ji

My Grand Vitara 2007 2.0 ltr is doing great. Thanks for all your help in sourcing parts to restore it.

My power Steering Rack has a slight leakage, and I have to find an eventual solution to it.
The whole Rack Assembly replacement is possible but it costs over Rs 40,000. The Part no is as follows :
Part No: 48580-65J01 Box Assembly Assembly Steering Gear

My mechanics tell me if we can source an Power Steering Rack Overhaul Seal Kit, it can be repaired and will be as good as new.
Can you please check if we can source the Power Steering Rack Overhaul Seal Kit For the Grand Vitara 2007, 2.0 ltr model from the MGP Stores ? If it is possible kindly let me know the part numbers to order.

Styler

Last edited by Styler : 8th July 2017 at 12:33.
Old 8th July 2017, 15:00   #300

Am i right in assuming that the cigarette lighter socket is the same for all Marutis? I need one, to install it in my Ford. Cap not necessary.

Are the wire connectors (that slot into the bottom) also available as MGP?