Old 10th July 2007, 17:34   #6496

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
No Raguji I dont have a sub yet, I want your IDMax and that beautiful Steg too !
Why you can get hold of Ajay for the Steg and for the Sub I am going to change them as soon as I get the one I am searching for....
Old 10th July 2007, 18:06   #6497

How much does a JL audio's 12" sub W7 or a W6 cost?
Old 10th July 2007, 18:14   #6498

No Navin, it doesn't allow a change of slope. I'll stick to 80Hz. Thanks!
Which HU MF? If it's the 7650 it does have slope adjustment to centre at 63Hz.
Old 10th July 2007, 18:19   #6499

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
Which HU MF? If it's the 7650 it does have slope adjustment to centre at 63Hz.
Yes its the 7650. I didn't know. How do I do it? Thanks a ton Vid!
Old 10th July 2007, 18:37   #6500

Originally Posted by harmon_bro View Post

How much does a JL audio's 12" sub W7 or a W6 cost?
the W7 would be available for about 50-60k for a single sub officially. and for the 12 W6 it is available for about 25-30 in grey....

but there are better options than the JL audio cost wise..
Old 10th July 2007, 18:41   #6501

Yes its the 7650. I didn't know. How do I do it? Thanks a ton Vid!
keep the audio button pressed for a few secs this should take you to the curve settings.

Set the centre frequency range from there and also play around with the Q-factor to get a narrow slope or a wider one.

You can set the centre frequency for low-mid-high as well as for bass and treble.

To do this the EQ has to be custom and EQ-EX has to be enabled.
Old 10th July 2007, 18:50   #6502

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
keep the audio button pressed for a few secs this should take you to the curve settings.

Set the centre frequency range from there and also play around with the Q-factor to get a narrow slope or a wider one.

You can set the centre frequency for low-mid-high as well as for bass and treble.

To do this the EQ has to be custom and EQ-EX has to be enabled.
Hmm Vid Sir this is the parametric eq adjustment not the HPF filter ....

MF I think you must be setting it at 80 Hz and enjoy music....
Old 10th July 2007, 19:07   #6503

The Q adjustment of a parametric equalizer is something entirely different. Let me explain in short-
A parametric eq, affects a frequency of the users choice. The Q determines how sharp the effect is. What I mean is, if you choose say, 100 Hz, obviously the frequencies before and after 100 are also affected. The Q determines if you control 100Hz sharply, or if you control say, 90 to 110Hz. Understood?

This MF is looking for a way to adjust his active crossover. No relation to the EQ.

Viddy fail ho gaya. Very bad, minus marks, go and sit in the corner for one hour.
Old 10th July 2007, 21:11   #6504

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
The Q adjustment of a parametric equalizer is something entirely different. Let me explain in short-
A parametric eq, affects a frequency of the users choice. The Q determines how sharp the effect is. What I mean is, if you choose say, 100 Hz, obviously the frequencies before and after 100 are also affected. The Q determines if you control 100Hz sharply, or if you control say, 90 to 110Hz. Understood?

This MF is looking for a way to adjust his active crossover. No relation to the EQ.

Viddy fail ho gaya. Very bad, minus marks, go and sit in the corner for one hour.
oopsi misunderstood what navinji was saying completely.

samjhi gayo. barobar che Sam bhai. thank you masterji.

MF, chorry but atleast you know the Q thingy now.
Old 10th July 2007, 22:40   #6505

here is a bit more on Q from the pioneer manual

Old 11th July 2007, 11:11   #6506

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
here is a bit more on Q from the pioneer manual
funny people these pio guys. @N-1N-1W-@W?? what is that? Q is measured in numbers like 0.3, 1, 1.2, etc..

Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
hi,
since all of you are in a discussion i want to ask a question. how do you get bass upfront? how do you define it? i have hertz energy 165 comps in my car with a 15" hertz energy sub. i dont at all feel the bass is coming out of the mid bass driver. when i decrease the sub level so that it merges with the front stage, there is very less bass overall. when i increase the bass, i can locate the sub. please shed some light on this.
The easiest way is if your HU has Time Alignment for the sub.

Another way might be to HPF the Energy 165s at say 60Hz/12db or 60Hz/18db so as to make them reproduce all but the last octave.

If you are turning the bass up so much that you can localise it despite these adjustments maybe you are over doing the bass. Does the music sound natural (like a live performance) when it is tuned this way.
Old 11th July 2007, 11:34   #6507

Gurus,
Last night, i managed to remove the HU "front-rear bridging" that my birdbrain had done.And guess what I managed to do after that, I misconnected the left& right and both the speakers were playing no matter where the fader went horizontally.
And finally, i managed to get it right(correct).
Now, im fine tuning the settings to get my desired "dance club" setting.
Treble is more than i need and i've got that in control.
Its the bass that eludes me.
Any suggestions,gurus?
Old 11th July 2007, 11:50   #6508

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Its the bass that eludes me.
Any suggestions,gurus?
do you get no bass? did you check the phase of the speakers. if they are out of phase the bass will cancel.
Old 11th July 2007, 12:18   #6509

Originally Posted by navin View Post
funny people these pio guys. @N-1N-1W-@W?? what is that? Q is measured in numbers like 0.3, 1, 1.2, etc..

The easiest way is if your HU has Time Alignment for the sub.
Navin Ji I think the pioneer guys had made this way so that a layman can understand it easily...

and I think there is no TA feature in clip`s HU.
Old 11th July 2007, 13:10   #6510

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Navin Ji I think the pioneer guys had made this way so that a layman can understand it easily...
Guess they have encoded it like this-
1N=> narrow
2N=> narrower
1W=> wide
2W=> wider
But they didn't realize that it is getting tough for experts!

Last edited by santosh.s : 11th July 2007 at 13:12.