Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 8th February 2010, 00:07   #526

Looking at the following comparison, it appears that 205w is the best value. I am not able to appreciate the extra features that are there in other models.

Amazon.com: Garmin nüvi 205W 4.3-Inch Widescreen Portable GPS Navigator: GPS & Navigation

Thoughts?
Old 8th February 2010, 00:16   #527

Originally Posted by hondadude View Post
Looking at the following comparison, it appears that 205w is the best value. I am not able to appreciate the extra features that are there in other models.

Amazon.com: Garmin nüvi 205W 4.3-Inch Widescreen Portable GPS Navigator: GPS & Navigation

Thoughts?
text to speech and bluetooth are the 2 features which 265wt has over 205w. If i were in the market, I'd want both of those especially tts, cos I use mmi on winmo and plain turn-by-turn voice directions is no fun as compared to the gps reading out road names. I have used tts in other countries and find it very useful. i know a british voice trying to read indian roads, pronunciation maybe a lil' off, but doesn't matter I still find that feature useful As far as bluetooth, if you dont have bluetooth in your car audio system, makes sense to have that in the gps.

Last edited by jassi : 8th February 2010 at 00:18.
Old 8th February 2010, 11:29   #528

Originally Posted by genesis View Post
....So the 285WT is more than enough for needs in India.
Hope that helps!
Thanks Buddy. That helps.

Originally Posted by sammyboy View Post
Lol , Khan bhai I dont think I will ever be able to buy one at this rate. I planned for a 260, Jassi recommended the 265 which is better and now you bring up the 285 .
I am in the same boat Sammy . Not a gadget person so it becomes even more confusing.

Originally Posted by jassi View Post
afaik 265wt is the latest - as mentioned above you don't need the T functionality - so just get the 265w. 285wt seems to be an older model which is now end of sale. .....
I agree that some features are not relevant in an Indian context and that 285WT is end of life now but it has exact same features as 265WT and is 3K cheaper than 265WT.

265WT == 12.1K
285WT == 9.2K

So, that's why leaning towards 285WT
Old 8th February 2010, 14:33   #529

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post

I agree that some features are not relevant in an Indian context and that 285WT is end of life now but it has exact same features as 265WT and is 3K cheaper than 265WT.

265WT == 12.1K
285WT == 9.2K

So, that's why leaning towards 285WT
well maybe there are some issues with 285wt, which is why it was discontinued and replaced with 265wt with same features - try and research and see if you get some dirt on it - bad battery, erratic screen, bad plastic quality, etc. could be anything or even an announcement on why it was killed.
Old 8th February 2010, 19:04   #530

Hmm...may be I can sell my Garmin 205w and pick 265W on next month's US trip
Old 8th February 2010, 20:22   #531

Originally Posted by jassi View Post
well maybe there are some issues with 285wt, which is why it was discontinued and replaced with 265wt with same features - try and research and see if you get some dirt on it - bad battery, erratic screen, bad plastic quality, etc. could be anything or even an announcement on why it was killed.
Interesting. Never thought of that angle. Now that you mention, I will try & dig up some info on why it was discontinued before making the final decision
Old 8th February 2010, 22:30   #532

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
Interesting. Never thought of that angle. Now that you mention, I will try & dig up some info on why it was discontinued before making the final decision
@khan_sultan:
the 285WT is 99 usd on amazon today. If you have a friend in the US I would buy one.

Amazon.com: Garmin nüvi 285W/285WT 4.3-Inch Widescreen Bluetooth Portable GPS Navigator with Traffic: Electronics
Old 8th February 2010, 22:33   #533

Has anyone tried the Garmin dealer in Bangalore for their products ?

Garmin: Dealer Locator - India
Old 9th February 2010, 10:17   #534

Originally Posted by sdp1975 View Post
Has anyone tried the Garmin dealer in Bangalore for their products ?

Garmin: Dealer Locator - India
Following is the quote given by the same dealer:
  1. Nuvi 200 - Rs. 14,750/
  2. nuvi 215 - Rs. 15,000/
  3. nuvi 610 - Rs. 23,950/
Sales Tax: 12.5% extra

This is the link of the newly launched MMI ZX140 with 5" screen size and anti glare along with FM tranmitter, video and MP3 player and bluetooth as well, all the features in one unit
the only flaw it will not work outside india

http://mapmyindia.com/gps/products/c.../overview.html

Last edited by ruchirtnt : 9th February 2010 at 10:19. Reason: additions
Old 9th February 2010, 10:33   #535

Many of these entry level garmins are crippled. i.e. no facility for track logs and following a log made by you.
So if you are planning to use it in places where there are no roads(or no map coverage), be aware
Old 9th February 2010, 11:25   #536

Many of these entry level garmins are crippled. i.e. no facility for track logs and following a log made by you.
So if you are planning to use it in places where there are no roads(or no map coverage), be aware
so in that case will be MMI VX140 or ZX150 do the needful, especially in indian context as i am still confused between a garmin and a VX140/ ZX150
Old 9th February 2010, 11:39   #537

No, Both Satguide and MMI softwares do not give any trail mapping facility. In MMI you can export recorded GPS track, but it does not have altitude and timestamps. Moreover, there is no way to follow a pre recorded GPS track.
Best bet would be to get a dealextreme windows CE device, and then simply install MMI on it. for offroad apps use beeline or noni GPS kind of softwares. BTW, I think garmin mobile XT software has trail mapping I think. It gives you option of importing gpx files
Old 10th February 2010, 01:53   #538

Friends,

265 WT is priced at USD 172 (approx Rs. 8200) in Amazon.com which is pretty cheap with the features it has got.

Check the below thread :
http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-265WT-W.../dp/B001ELJ9QK

Satnav map for Rs. 2100
http://www.satguide.in/product/satgu...nd_garmin.aspx

Does the 2010 Satnav maps support TTS ?

Last edited by bnzjon : 10th February 2010 at 02:03.
Old 10th February 2010, 02:30   #539

Originally Posted by bnzjon View Post
Friends,

265 WT is priced at USD 172 (approx Rs. 8200) in Amazon.com which is pretty cheap with the features it has got.

Check the below thread :
Amazon.com: Garmin nüvi 265W/265WT 4.3-Inch Widescreen Bluetooth Portable GPS Navigator with Traffic: Electronics

Satnav map for Rs. 2100
SatGuide for Windows phones, Symbian phones, Laptops and Garmin

Does the 2010 Satnav maps support TTS ?

Friends, i am purchasing the above this weekend.

Any suggestions from anyone before i click the submit button this weekend, pls feel free.

I am looking at a VFM package and peace of mind. I dont want to regret later. Pls advise if my choice is correct.
Old 10th February 2010, 09:13   #540

Friends, By GODS and the Ford showroom courtesy, I GOT A DEMO OF VX 140
and to my utter surprise it is pathetic,

My Observation
CONS
1. most of roads in lucknow are not properly mapped leave aside the smal towns and cities nearby (which they Claim),
2. Did a test in car also, that too not accurate as well
3. Bluetooth was utter rubbish, even my E71 loudspeaker was better than it
4. Video quality was OK and not too great as well
5. No Dashboard mount facility, only windshield mount but in my case i had a garware windshield installed which could be ruined by the suction.

PRONS
1. The plastic quality of device is good

I am thanking my stars as to how i am saved to purchase this device, even i had tried making the payment to MMI VX140, but due to some problem in ICICIBANK the payment could not be released, AND HERE I AM SAVED FROM PURCHASING THIS DEVICE