Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th February 2019, 09:04   #1756
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,540
Thanked: 25,578 Times
Default Re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post

The other option is buying this Netgear Orbi Mesh system which will set us back by almost 23k.

Your advice?
You need to look at something like this:

https://www.amazon.in/Ubiquiti-UniFi...keywords=unifi

This is the defacto unit for small enterprises. We have moved to this completely from traditional routers.

For office use, you need this only. Don't look at home products like Orbi.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2019, 10:16   #1757
Senior - BHPian
 
Red Liner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 2,677 Times
Default Re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vid6639 View Post
You need to look at something like this:

https://www.amazon.in/Ubiquiti-UniFi...keywords=unifi

This is the defacto unit for small enterprises. We have moved to this completely from traditional routers.

For office use, you need this only. Don't look at home products like Orbi.
Thanks Parag, Thad, Binand, DIY Guy and Viddy for responding so quickly with your feedback.

@Viddy and others, Orbi has something for business enterprises called: https://www.amazon.in/Netgear-AC3000...tgear+Orbi+Pro

Between the two, what would you recommend? Both seem to be retailing at close to similar prices. I will also do a bit of reading up.

We have more wired clients as opposed to wireless clients (we have LAN ports in every room).

I would also be needing to set up web-cam security in specific places across the office. Can the above systems also run web-cam integration?

We are completely on the cloud, no server here - nothing.

Lastly, if we move to a Jio line in the future, will the above systems be compatible with those?

Last edited by Red Liner : 6th February 2019 at 10:21.
Red Liner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2019, 13:29   #1758
BHPian
 
sinharishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Zilla Ghaziabad
Posts: 544
Thanked: 1,421 Times
Default Re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdst_1 View Post
I bought it from 3250 IIRC. I don't have insane bandwidth demands that some modern households might have. I only need the router to share my 4Mbps internet connection. Hence I made this choice as this router has a great range. All the high end models focus more on bandwidth. So if your needs are similar then a single router like mine can suffice.
Thanks! My line is 100 Mbps. The price is reasonable, for the coverage it offers.
sinharishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2019, 14:17   #1759
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bir-Billing, HP
Posts: 320
Thanked: 421 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinharishi View Post
Thanks! My line is 100 Mbps. The price is reasonable, for the coverage it offers.
It will support the line speed, but by bandwidth I was alluding more towards local streaming devices that one might have these days. Main bandwidth hoggers would be wireless IP cameras and NAS devices. If you use such devices heavily then this particular router will not be able to provide the bandwidth you need. A 100 Mbps internet connection, it should handle with ease.
rdst_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2019, 12:28   #1760
Senior - BHPian
 
itwasntme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 3,226
Thanked: 2,555 Times
Default Re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Any updated recommendations on mesh routers for a ~3000 sq.feet G+1 villa with surrounding small garden?

Do I need a 2 pack mesh or 3 pack?

Amazon has a bunch of good brands selling (3 pack) from 11k all the way to 35k. Tenda & D-link looks cheapest at ~11k but unsure how good they are. The usual suspects are Linksys, Netgear, D-Link, TP-link and of course Google.

Currently have a WiFi n Mi 3C main router backed up by 2 repeaters. Issue is that speeds are 98 Mbps (out of maximum 100) on the same floor but falls away to 20 when on another level. Is it worth changing to a more powerful (standalone) WiFi ac unit like a TP-link Archer C60? Will the repeater speeds then improve?

Last edited by itwasntme : 15th March 2019 at 12:38.
itwasntme is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2019, 14:52   #1761
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 54
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

Your choice will greatly depend on feasibility of wired backhaul in your setup. If you cannot run wired backhaul, like me, I would highly recommend Netgear Orbi RBR50 setup. It has dedicated 5ghz band for backhaul.
nrahul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2019, 12:03   #1762
Senior - BHPian
 
itwasntme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 3,226
Thanked: 2,555 Times
Default Re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrahul View Post
Your choice will greatly depend on feasibility of wired backhaul in your setup. If you cannot run wired backhaul, like me, I would highly recommend Netgear Orbi RBR50 setup. It has dedicated 5ghz band for backhaul.
Picked up a TP-Link Deco M5 yesterday. Hope it's good!

https://www.amazon.in/dp/B072BZ62QS/...533?th=1&psc=1
itwasntme is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2019, 21:49   #1763
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 4,367
Thanked: 4,041 Times
Default Re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Any first hand recommendations for a Wi-Fi repeater?
Reviews in Amazon are not trustworthy.
mayankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2019, 22:15   #1764
BHPian
 
SCORPION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 407
Thanked: 1,325 Times
Default Re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I have a 125 Mbps ACT fibrenet connection at home. I was using a TP-Link N300 Mbps modem/router in my earlier home. I never ever saw speeds above 35 Mbps anywhere in my flat even on the best days.

I recently moved into a bigger flat and shifted my ACT connection to the new flat which is a little over 3000 sqft on a single floor and the router could never cover even half the area. My usage is purely for the mobile and streaming content on the TV. I did not want to spend too much on a mesh set up and I didn't believe in range extenders.

I am not a tech savvy guy as far as these things are concerned. After a brief research, I picked up a TP Link Archer C6 Gigabit router from Amazon for RS.2400. It has both 2.4 G and 5 G bands. It has made a huge difference and I get more than 125 Mbps consistently throughout the day. 2.4 G is available throughout the house even if the doors to the room are shut. 5 G is available throughout if the room doors are kept open. Set up is very easy and the Tether app is very useful and convenient. Extremely happy with the router. But my usage is very limited and it serves the purpose perfectly.
SCORPION is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All about MiFi routers - data connectivity on the move! COUGAR Gadgets, Computers & Software 22 25th June 2013 21:38
GNS3 and Dynamips like tool for Alcatel Service Routers pb10gagan Shifting gears 1 5th November 2009 16:18
Cisco routers for self-study pranavt Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 11th April 2009 17:59
Info needed on selling used Cisco routers/switches. supremeBaleno Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 19th September 2008 18:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:58.

Copyright 2000 - 2019, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks