Old 23rd February 2017, 14:02   #31

Re: 2017 Honda City Facelift : A Close Look

For a person with 10 Lakh budget does S variant makes sense?

Requirements:
Petrol with above average mileage
Dual airbags + ABS
Rear seat space for 3
Boot space (Min 300 L)
Auto gear box - nice but not mandatory
Average maintenance cost

I was about to suggest Honda Jazz V auto variant.

Jazz V Auto and Honda City S variant costs almost same OTR (~ 10 L). Please help.
Latheesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 14:17   #32

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
Jazz V Auto and Honda City S variant costs almost same OTR (~ 10 L). Please help.
Boils down to requirements.
City will be overall the better choice as has more space, boot, than its just been refreshed, safer, etc.

If parking space is a concern then Jazz.
M00M is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 14:21   #33

Originally Posted by deerhunter View Post
Both Vento and Rapid have 185 section tyres. Lower variants of the Ciaz too.
From what I know, VAG has silently made the tyre change on Polo GT twins/TDI/Highline and Vento and Rapid top variants. The new size is R16/55/195. If we are paying 16 lacs plus then 185 section tyres dont make much sense. They have improved from before (earlier ones were 175), but not wrt the segment rivals. Name one car manufacturer that has 16' tyres with punny width of 185 mm. In fact, the R15/60/195 would have made a lot more sense.

Last edited by Waspune : 23rd February 2017 at 14:28.
Waspune is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 14:39   #34

Requirements:
Dual airbags + ABS
Rear seat space for 3
Boot space (Min 300 L)
Average maintenance cost

Jazz ticks all the requirements you had mentioned. It depends on whether you want the convenience of AT or the additional boot space and status of owning a sedan

I would opt for the city just for the sweet 1.5 iVTEC

Last edited by Karthik Chandra : 23rd February 2017 at 14:49.
Karthik Chandra is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 15:08   #35

If the above statement holds true, then Honda City all the way!

I own Jazz VX MT, I can say that fuel average is almost similar for both 1.2 and 1.5 ivtec. 1.5 City will definitely boost your FTD factor when compared to 1.2 Jazz.
varunswnt is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 15:14   #36

Originally Posted by M00M View Post
Boils down to requirements.
City will be overall the better choice as has more space, boot, than its just been refreshed, safer, etc.

If parking space is a concern then Jazz.
Originally Posted by Karthik Chandra View Post
Jazz ticks all the requirements you had mentioned. It depends on whether you want the convenience of AT or the additional boot space and status of owning a sedan

I would opt for the city just for the sweet 1.5 iVTEC
Originally Posted by varunswnt View Post
If the above statement holds true, then Honda City all the way!

I own Jazz VX MT, I can say that fuel average is almost similar for both 1.2 and 1.5 ivtec. 1.5 City will definitely boost your FTD factor when compared to 1.2 Jazz.
Thanks all. I'll ask him to test drive City and also to see S variant in person. I convinced him to buy Jazz, and was about to book the same.
Latheesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 15:24   #37

Requirements:
Dual airbags + ABS
Rear seat space for 3
Boot space (Min 300 L)
Average maintenance cost

I would anyday pick the base variant of the City over the 2nd best variant of Jazz. Reasons:

1) You get a proper 3-box car that has more cushy seats.
2) A lot more powerful engine. The Jazz 1.2 comes into its elements only at revvs higher than 4500 RPMs . The city 1.5 iVTEC is super in this regard and has more than adequate power across the revv band.
3) Only the top variant of Jazz comes with magic seats.

Having said that you would miss on a lot of features viz. rear wiper and washer, fog lamps, infotainment system, tyre spec.

So it all depends on what all you want from a 10 lakh car. If you are a sedate kind of driver, then Jazz isnt bad either and should fix the bill.
Waspune is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 17:28   #38

Originally Posted by aviraj View Post
The Autoportal review says that the CVT comes with a 7 speed torque converter. What does they really mean? I thought CVT and Torque converter were 2 different kinds of AT systems.
Every gearbox needs a clutch of some sorts.
A CVT system can use either a centrifugal clutch or a torque converter one.

Honda seems to be using the later.
abhishek46 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 17:51   #39

Requirements:
Dual airbags + ABS
Rear seat space for 3
Boot space (Min 300 L)
Average maintenance cost
Alternatively, you can also get the 2016 SV variant - there are HUGE discounts on offer - close to 1L (plus freebies). SV 2016 vs S 2017 is a tough decision.

Personally I would go for 2016 SV with discounts + freebies. Jazz doesn't even compare, unless you really want an (underpowered) AT.
quadmaniac is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 17:54   #40

Originally Posted by deerhunter View Post
Lower variants of the Ciaz too.
If I'm not wrong, all variants are with 185 section width.
Old 23rd February 2017, 18:45   #41

Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
If I'm not wrong, all variants are with 185 section width.
The higher variants come shod with R16/55/195, same case in Baleno.
Waspune is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 19:23   #42

1. The facelifted version looks better than the one it is replacing, but not by a huge margin.
2. The car looks best in side profile.
3. Interiors look worthy of the price tag.
4. Honda needs to fire its alloy wheel designers. Whereas the previous ones looked plain Jane, the new ones appear too busy and garish to my eyes.
5. Good to see an alloy in the boot. Just hope Honda doesn't do a Hexa here. Or, in view of (4 ) above, let's hope it does .
6. Niggles? Let's wait and watch .
Old 23rd February 2017, 20:32   #43

Originally Posted by Waspune View Post
The top variant(s) comes with 185/55R16, while the other variants come with the same old size i.e. 175/65R15. Thanks in advance.
Old 23rd February 2017, 20:48   #44

Thanks to Dr. Parvez for sharing the output shots of Honda City LED headlamps :
2017 Honda City Facelift : A Close Look-img20170223wa0029.jpg  

2017 Honda City Facelift : A Close Look-img20170223wa0028.jpg  

2017 Honda City Facelift : A Close Look-img20170223wa0025.jpg  

2017 Honda City Facelift : A Close Look-img20170223wa0021.jpg  

Dr.Naren is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2017, 20:56   #45

Originally Posted by Waspune View Post
My bad memory, we have an old ZDi at home I was referring to that tire size.
thanks for pointing out.

Originally Posted by vvrchandra View Post
The top variant(s) comes with 185/55R16, while the other variants come with the same old size i.e. 175/65R15. Thanks in advance.
We were discussing about the Ciaz tire size

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post
Thanks to Dr. Parvez for sharing the output shots of Honda City LED headlamps :
Thanks for the snaps.
Is it possible to have the side by side comparison against halogen HL?

Last edited by Mr.Boss : 23rd February 2017 at 20:58.
Mr.Boss is offline   (1) Thanks