Old 13th December 2009, 20:17   #1321

No brainer. Well maintained low mileaged, 6 months drivability (moderate), Ikon wins hands down. Go for it. If it were the GTX then probably we could have had something on our hands. Go for the Josh machine Khan bhai.
Old 13th December 2009, 20:30   #1322

@Khan - After seeing the CNG post - I would recommend the Santro! Best mileage of the lot - and quickest resale - note quickest. You will easily find another buyer for this car. To add a bit of sporty character - upsize your tyres - this will give the tall boy better handling characteristics. You can afford to do this as its the cheapest car here and new tyres will get you a better resale too!
Old 13th December 2009, 20:34   #1323

Originally Posted by khan75 View Post
What about fuel economy on the 1.6? I'd hate to have to refuel the damn tank every day. I think CNG might be a possibility on the Ikon.
Well I'm not sure about the CNG option. For one, if you install it, is the amount you save on fuel over six months enough to recover the cost? If you're worried about FE, then performance and the fun factor are gone. And the Ikon isn't too bad with FE since its a pretty light car. Overall, I'd still favour the Ikon.

If FE bothers you so much, then drop the idea of an exciting ride and go with more sensible options like that Santro you've shortlisted.
Old 14th December 2009, 10:59   #1324

I need to sell my alto, 2005 Lx , 45 k kms on the odo, black color, excellent condition, purely stock condition, what is the fair price ?
Old 15th December 2009, 01:44   #1325

Originally Posted by McLaren Rulez View Post
If FE bothers you so much, then drop the idea of an exciting ride and go with more sensible options like that Santro you've shortlisted.
Thanks for the words of advice guys.

Actually, I thought long and hard about this tonight and after much deliberation, I've decided to chuck all three cars out of the window. The Santro might be the most FE of the bunch, the Palio lovable and Ikon chuckable but none of them really tugged at my heartstrings, so I've decided to look around for mint used Grande Puntos, FE be damned. I've owned German & British cars but never Italian studs so this is probably my best chance to complete a European troika & own a piece of Alfa magic (the GP uses the same platform as the Mito) . Guess what, I just found a local guy selling a fully loaded 1.4 with 5,500kms on the clock for 4.6L. Everything's in mint condition and barring a couple of tiny nicks and scratches on the edges of the bumper, everything's just perfect. I think I might just seal the deal on this one before my heart starts gravitating toward another car. Is the price right guys?
Old 15th December 2009, 11:42   #1326

How much does a clean diesel LC100 2006-ish model go for these days?
And a LX470 V8 petrol ?
Has anyone spotted a good one with clean papers and well maintained ?
Old 16th December 2009, 10:37   #1327

After a round of negotiations, I just bought the GP I mentioned a couple of posts earlier. This thing's way better than any sub-$15K car available in the US. I just wish it had a slightly beefier engine. Mini review coming soon.
Old 16th December 2009, 17:37   #1328

Need the value of 1 car:

1-> Skoda Superb 2.8V6 (Petrol) - Year : 2004 - Tires Need To Be Replaced ASAP and small work like alignment, etc. Run for about 34k kms. No turbo failure/gearbox failure.
Old 16th December 2009, 19:18   #1329

Esteem in Mumbai

A friend of mine is looking for an esteem 1999-2002, preferably-
Single owner,
MH01 number,
white or silver colour

Require 2 things-

1. if any bhpian/know someone personally selling their esteem.

2. My friend has sighted one esteem, but MH02, Second owner, 47K kms, Condition OK. what is a good price to buy. Since he will become the third owner.

Pls reply or PM me(if selling) to provide some assistance on the above questions.
Old 16th December 2009, 19:52   #1330

Used 2000 Lancer

I've been looking for a used Lancer in Delhi for a while now, but haven't managed to find any decent ones within my budget (around 1.5 lakh). I recently saw a 2000 model GLXi in very good condition at a Hyundai Authorised dealer. The car's done 49k on the odo and the exterior paint job as well as the condition of the engine bay looks genuinely low mileage.
The dealer's asking 2.40 lakhs for it, which i find very high for a 2000 model year Lancer even in this condition. I can push up my budget a bit but not that high, knowing well that whatever condition used car i buy, I'll still have to spend at least 10-15k on it. What do you guys think should be a good price for this car? Also do you think it's possible to get a decent, mechanically sound Lancer in Delhi within a 1.5 lakh budget?

p.s. Of all the cars that I've seen, the built quality of 1999-2001 Lancers seems much better compared to those of later model years.
Old 16th December 2009, 21:50   #1331

please find my replies in bold

Originally Posted by jerry can View Post
I've been looking for a used Lancer in Delhi for a while now, but haven't managed to find any decent ones within my budget (around 1.5 lakh). I recently saw a 2000 model GLXi in very good condition at a Hyundai Authorised dealer. The car's done 49k on the odo and the exterior paint job as well as the condition of the engine bay looks genuinely low mileage.

The dealer's asking 2.40 lakhs for it, which i find very high for a 2000 model year Lancer even in this condition.

2.4 lac for a 2000 model. the guy has certainly gone crazy. Maximum I would pay for the car is 1.5lac and that too if its in the same condition as you mentioned. also 49k in 10 yrs look a bit deceptive. How many owners does it have, if there's one then it may be possible. However it will be a coincidence that the car has 2 + owners and has still run 49k. Please note that 1999-2000 models in excellent conditions are sold at a max 1.75 lac tag. An average price of lancers of this age range between 1.15 to 1.40 lac.

I recently came across a 2003 model with 64k on the clock, full service record, leather seats, alloys, new tyres and music system with amp and sub. the guy was asking for 2.7 lacs. would have given it for around 2.5lac.

Look around friend, you ll find lot of decent lancers at a decent price.

I can push up my budget a bit but not that high, knowing well that whatever condition used car i buy, I'll still have to spend at least 10-15k on it. What do you guys think should be a good price for this car? Also do you think it's possible to get a decent, mechanically sound Lancer in Delhi within a 1.5 lakh budget?

definately, 1.5 is a decent budget for a 2000 lancer. you certainly will get it. keep looking around.

p.s. Of all the cars that I've seen, the built quality of 1999-2001 Lancers seems much better compared to those of later model years.

My cousin has a 1999 model glxi lancer and they certainly are the best builts. All Japanese you know. Also all pre 2001 model will last far better than the later ones. Again all japanese you know..

My cousin bpught this machine 10 years back and has driven more than 1.3 lac kms and have never had any problem with it.

Last edited by gaurav_chopra04 : 16th December 2009 at 22:06.
Old 16th December 2009, 22:08   #1332

Thanks for all the inputs Gaurav! Your views make sense. I guess, I'll keep the hunt on for now...
Meanwhile, if you guys come across any good Lancer in Delhi, at or around a Rs 1.5 lakh budget, do drop a line or pm.
Old 17th December 2009, 17:32   #1333

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
How much does a clean diesel LC100 2006-ish model go for these days?
And a LX470 V8 petrol ?
Has anyone spotted a good one with clean papers and well maintained ?
4 - 5 year old LCs go for anywhere between 25 - 30 lakhs. Don't miss out on the Indian Mitsubishi Montero either. Superb SUV, you can get a 2 - 3 year old example for 20 lakhs.
Old 17th December 2009, 20:40   #1334

my friend is looking for a second hand car in the price range of 1.5 lakh.we have seen countless ads of esteem/accent in that range. Any reviews or tips about these vehicles??
personally he prefers accent but is skeptical about the maintenance??
ps: most of these vehicles are high mileage (>70k km) and 2001-3 models

Last edited by vagu : 17th December 2009 at 20:42.
Old 18th December 2009, 04:34   #1335

I am looking for a decent used car for my father in law. Is 5.65L a good price for a used corolla with auto trans?
COROLLA 2004, H4, AUTOMATIC, 45K KM, RS5.65L

How about a 2005 Honda City, should I get one in better shape than this Corolla?