Old 5th May 2010, 21:49   #61

Originally Posted by mercedised View Post
From Where did?? you got the 'Quotation' from?... TASC or Local guy.
About that leakage issue, My car has some leakage from "LHS Door" side, water enters into the cabin in heavy RAINS. But, still i cannot figure out the problem.
Its from ' Ramu Ac' , Andheri a professional setup quite well known for excellent work . one of the other being 'Kamal Ac' in Mumbai.
The problem is usually torn ( due to age ) piping causing overall drop in effeciency. The leakage i was talking about is usually the cool air pipes leading to vents.
@ gowda79 , the 2.2 vtt is a totally different machine far improved in most ways.
The 483 DL is quite agricultural as compared to the new CRDE motor. The engine itself must be making A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE in the AC effeciency. i hardly felt any drop in power in AC in the 2.2 whereas it actually results in some 'engine braking' in the TCIC powerplant.
And then again most of our tcic are ageing as againts the 2.2 which can still not be much more than 3 yrs.

Last edited by HIGHNOON : 5th May 2010 at 21:56.
Old 5th May 2010, 22:07   #62

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
i had extra vibrations on one side when the ball joint on that side in the indica was busted.

I got it checked today.
Its a bracket with a central bearing on the axle . Its a D shaped rubber bracket with a central bearing and oil seal thru which the axle rod from differntial passes.
Shall have it changed tomorrow.
Quite inexpensive luckily as most parts are shared with 407 , sumo etc.

Hell its a trcuk in every sense of the term

Last edited by HIGHNOON : 5th May 2010 at 22:10.
Old 5th May 2010, 23:18   #63

@HIGHNOON
So, DID the AC servicing included change of AC pipes, you were talking about??

Good to know that you have sorted out the AXLE issue.
Please, provide details of your car such as mileage clocked,.... condition, how much you paid for it?? which model..
Old 6th May 2010, 10:09   #64

@HIGHNOON
So, DID the AC servicing included change of AC pipes, you were talking about??

Good to know that you have sorted out the AXLE issue.
Please, provide details of your car such as mileage clocked,.... condition, how much you paid for it?? which model..
Ac quote is for change of the pipe in question too. apart from full servicing , radiator flush , gas etc.

I got the 2004 Lx Tcic for 3.0 lacs. Belonged to TCS director, is in good shape with full service schedule from T.A.S.S with 80 k on the odo.
Old 6th May 2010, 14:13   #65

Originally Posted by HIGHNOON View Post
Ac quote is for change of the pipe in question too. apart from full servicing , radiator flush , gas etc.

I got the 2004 Lx Tcic for 3.0 lacs. Belonged to TCS director, is in good shape with full service schedule from T.A.S.S with 80 k on the odo.
Kindly, confirm and do let me know about the pipe issue??

You have got a good deal. TCIC with 80K will serve you for a longtime, as of mine has 1,92000kms on the odo and still serving me like a JUMBO and Mind you! it's engine is still original and strong.
Old 6th May 2010, 17:41   #66

@MODS: Kindly change the title of thread from "Tata Safari TCIC 1,40,000+ review" to "Tata Safari TCIC 1,90,000+ review"

Due to alot of load of my buissness my TCIC has been doing frequent trips from past few months. The SUV has travelled 52,000kms(nearly) in the last 5 months that makes it an average of 10000kms per month. During the course of time, the SUV was all busy doing 500-600 kms trip all day sometimes even 1000+kms was done due to hectic schedule. The servicing was done all in time and from, after 1,40000kms it has gone in the garage for servicing only and that too 6-7 times(If i remember properly). No extra work other than TYRE CHANGE, which i say was must has been carried out, maybe because of scarcity of time or one can also say that it did'nt needed that. The car was filled uptill it's neck with our company products that has to be taken to various destinations in state and out of the state.

Problems at 1,92000 facing:
1) Suspension gone (faced real abuse during trips and last time was overhauled at 1,10000kms)
2) Pump is giving bad impressions from last 1-2 days, Late start issue has come up with that.
3) Low Oil Indicator is coming up at IDLE but goes away as i press accelerator slightly.

Last edited by mercedised : 6th May 2010 at 17:54.
Old 6th May 2010, 18:56   #67

Kindly, confirm and do let me know about the pipe issue??

You have got a good deal. TCIC with 80K will serve you for a longtime, as of mine has 1,92000kms on the odo and still serving me like a JUMBO and Mind you! it's engine is still original and strong.
The vehicle is unrefined a bit but it seems to have a workhorse nature. It ought to last long. The seating ergonomy is simply the best , even the innova is nowhere in comparison for my body structure.
I just recovered from a disc prolapse of the lumbar spine and have driven a variety of vehicles in the period to see which one is better for my back. The front seat is awesome and doesnt put any strain on my back due to clutch use. SUPERB.
The suspension is not as good as the 2.2.
But the spare parts are seriously inexpensive. And preventive maintenance for which i am a stickler for is very easy on my wallet.
I am loving it so far for what its worth

Last edited by HIGHNOON : 6th May 2010 at 19:00.
Old 6th May 2010, 19:02   #68
AVR

@MODS: Kindly change the title of thread from "Tata Safari TCIC 1,40,000+ review" to "Tata Safari TCIC 1,90,000+ review"

Due to alot of load of my buissness my TCIC has been doing frequent trips from past few months. The SUV has travelled 52,000kms(nearly) in the last 5 months that makes it an average of 10000kms per month. During the course of time, the SUV was all busy doing 500-600 kms trip all day sometimes even 1000+kms was done due to hectic schedule. The servicing was done all in time and from, after 1,40000kms it has gone in the garage for servicing only and that too 6-7 times(If i remember properly). No extra work other than TYRE CHANGE, which i say was must has been carried out, maybe because of scarcity of time or one can also say that it did'nt needed that. The car was filled uptill it's neck with our company products that has to be taken to various destinations in state and out of the state.

Problems at 1,92000 facing:
1) Suspension gone (faced real abuse during trips and last time was overhauled at 1,10000kms)
2) Pump is giving bad impressions from last 1-2 days, Late start issue has come up with that.
3) Low Oil Indicator is coming up at IDLE but goes away as i press accelerator slightly.

Wow Mercedised! This pretty much abuse and not usage!
1) In the suspension, at least get the rubber bushings changed.
2) Did you try a good engine flush? That might do a good cleanup of your engine.
3) Low oil is not a good sign though one reason could also be a weak alternator (Actually not sure but either the low oil or the parking brake light starts up on idle when the alternator is weak/impeding breakdown.

Aditya
Old 6th May 2010, 19:06   #69

Originally Posted by HIGHNOON View Post
The vehicle is unrefined a bit but it seems to have a workhorse nature. It ought to last long. The seating ergonomy is simply the best , even the innova is nowhere in comparison for my body structure.
I just recovered from a disc prolapse of the lumbar spine and have driven a variety of vehicles in the period to see which one is better for my back. The front seat is awesome and doesnt put any strain on my back due to clutch use. SUPERB.
The suspension is not as good as the 2.2.
But the spare parts are seriously inexpensive. And preventive maintenance for which i am a stickler for is very easy on my wallet.
I am loving it so far for what its worth
Spare parts are inexpensive, but, you will not any need of them too. Becuz of the robustness of TCIC parts. They are made tobe abused.

Originally Posted by AVR View Post
Wow Mercedised! This pretty much abuse and not usage!
1) In the suspension, at least get the rubber bushings changed.
2) Did you try a good engine flush? That might do a good cleanup of your engine.
3) Low oil is not a good sign though one reason could also be a weak alternator (Actually not sure but either the low oil or the parking brake light starts up on idle when the alternator is weak/impeding breakdown.

Aditya
1&2: I am thinking of going for a pump overhaul, as the car has travelled alot, PUMP might have given up.
3) Oil is not low, something other is wrong I have checked oil level.
Old 6th May 2010, 19:16   #70

I 'll consider myself very lucky if i keep the vehicle as long to run it for another 80k. Its a great feeling to use a product which serves you long. Lots of my friends in the states drive their sedans / suvs for as long as 4 lac miles. I mean that is serious saving if you consider how frequently we change our cars.
We hardly use anything upto its full potential sadly.
I myself have changed 6 cars in last 10 yrs.
This time i feel i am going to run both my cars to the ground ( not literally ) Both the accent and safari ought to serve me for long.
Your experience seems to substantiate the robustness of the tata motors and their value.
I love Tata products. some proactive preventive maintenance is needed to keep the tata vehicles running forever which i do not mind as its cheap and easy.
And though the motor doesnt allow you to hustle the big vehicle around it does command respect on the road which is like an icing on the cake.
Auto rickshaws are wary of the big lumbering hulk. So it helps in b2b trafffic situations of the congsted metro.
Planning to go for our annual Goa pilgrimage in safari this time.
That 'll be a test.
Old 6th May 2010, 19:18   #71

3) Oil is not low, something other is wrong I have checked oil level.
FAULTY OIL PUMP MAYBE ?
Old 6th May 2010, 19:51   #72

Faulty oil pump, I have to check this matter seriously. Will go to TASC tommorow to check the problems. Cannot live with them as the vehicle does alot of Highway runs. But, still no Roadside breakdowns till date.
Old 6th May 2010, 21:30   #73

Faulty oil pump, I have to check this matter seriously. Will go to TASC tommorow to check the problems. Cannot live with them as the vehicle does alot of Highway runs. But, still no Roadside breakdowns till date.
also when was last time you got her engine flushed ?
Today i got it with abro flush. The oil felt good to touch for lubricity and adherence and i was told by previous owner that he had it changed 'recently' Had used castrol CRb Turbo.
Good that i drained her today. Needed change desperately. WHEN THE USED OIL was poured out from the tray into a container , some amount of sludgy / gunky viscous material had settled at the bottom.
Bottomline is in a hot , dusty climate like ours with the traffic that we encounter , we need more frequent oil changes. cannot exceed 5000km / 6 months whichever is earlier. Specially for a older vehicle once in 4 months would really be ideal IMHO.
Old 7th May 2010, 14:42   #74

Well guys,
Visited SC today and the car is in Garage currently, till tommorow evening. Problem's(I told them) and their solutions(SC person told me):

1) Late cold start solution: Heater plugs gone kaput, will be replaced cost= 2000Rs.
2) Oil indicator issue at idle solution: Oil indicator plug needs tobe changed cost=1400rs, but, i told them not to change as i donot want to invest that much in the car.
3) AC tripping solution: some part costing 1600 needs tobe replaced.(again i told them to leave it, as it is)

4) Rear seat column lock deattached solution: welding(550rs) and will be done.
Old 7th May 2010, 15:21   #75

Low Oid Indicator can be due to loose contact of Oil Pressure Switch, I have faced this issue on and off since the last 20,000 kms on my TCIC. The solution is to clean and tighten the switch and connectors.

The TCIC oil switch (Probably called the indicator plug in your case) is not easily available, was available last time at opera house markets for about 600-800 Rs. Suggest you get it changed if you indeed are going to use the vehicle for another 80K kms.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com