Old 27th June 2010, 15:56   #136

Rs 3.5 lakh for 2.2VTT? I think that is too less. But even if one does get it for the price, please remember it will be one of the first batches to be sold in India. Not exactly trouble free. Either ways, prices are higher here in Bombay.

I had a choice between the 2.2 and the 3.0 when I was buying and went ahead with a brand new 2007 3.0-litre and am very happy. Not to mention, there were huge discounts going on the 3.0s back then. The thinking was that the 3.0-litre had seen its fair share of retrofits by 2007, so it was a much safer buy than the 2.2 keeping Tata's infamous QC in mind.

I'd use the same approach when buying used. Would avoid initial batches of the 3.0-litre. So would try and look for 2006-2007 3.0-litres. And if I go for TCICs then again I'd look at the last batches.

Drifter
Old 27th June 2010, 16:01   #137

Unless that TCIC is available with full records, and has been seen at close quarters through out it's life, it's better not to go for that. And not at that price. It's 2 generations old. And more so at this time when we are expecting the next version of the Safari.

@Mercedised, 3.5L for a 2007 model 3.0 is on the low side. It's like getting a 3 year old Safari at almost a third of the original price ..
3.5L for the
Old 27th June 2010, 16:09   #138

@condor: He was saying Rs 3.5 lakh for a 2007 2.2-litre. I can get much higher for my 2007, 42000kms 3.0 EX.

Drifter
Old 27th June 2010, 16:34   #139

@condor & drifter:

I was offered similar price for a '2.2 VTT 2007 4x4' (4Lac after bargaining), when I was searching a good replacement for my current TCIC. But, fortunately or unfortunately my heart went with current TCIC and I postponed the plan of selling it.
Old 27th June 2010, 16:44   #140

That is one hell of a deal and that too a 4x4. Here the prices for good examples are easily Rs 6 lakhs.

Drifter
Old 28th June 2010, 07:47   #141

The maintenance of TCIC is cheap compared to other versions. Worst case you might need to spend around 60k to bring it back in shape considering no engine, turbo, gearbox or body work.

For example, the suspension work in 2.2 costs around 20k (from other member's post). But the suspension work of TCIC costs around 10k. I think a 4X4 also has a stiffer suspension.

TCIC is not as bad as you would think of. Mercedised's safari is an example, running fine after so many kms.

However, if you are planning to sell it after few months, it might be an issue. But if you are planning to keep it for a couple of years, it might not be a bad option.

Last edited by sumannandy : 28th June 2010 at 07:51.
Old 28th June 2010, 08:32   #142

@Suman, agreed : the TCIC is simpler & less expensive to maintain. But often the history of the vehicle is not known. In such a situation, it becomes very risky to pick up a 10 year old vehicle. And this is where a newer Dicor can make sense - esp if you can find one who's maintenance history is available.
Old 28th June 2010, 09:49   #143

Originally Posted by mercedised View Post
@condor & drifter:

I was offered similar price for a '2.2 VTT 2007 4x4' (4Lac after bargaining), when I was searching a good replacement for my current TCIC. But, fortunately or unfortunately my heart went with current TCIC and I postponed the plan of selling it.
Wow I am thinking of trading my 2WD for 4WD is it still up for sale ?
Old 28th June 2010, 14:59   #144

Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Wow I am thinking of trading my 2WD for 4WD is it still up for sale ?
I donot know it's current status, this was the scenario 2 months earlier. The prices in the used car market are suffering due to buyers going toward new cars, nowadays. It is damn hard to find a 4x4 Safari DICOR in my region as most of the people just go blindly for Safari and in the hurry of purchasing(remember 4x4 is available on order in my area) they just purchase 4x2 and no think about a 4x4. I have seen guys going for VX 4x2 (now that's totally senseless). Going for a VX and leaving 4x4 option? what will you call that.

Yes, if you need then you can now too find cheap DICOR versions for 4 Lacs or lesser. A 4x2 is an easy job, but a 4x4 well, it took 1 month, for me, to find the one that I was looking for.
Old 28th June 2010, 15:00   #145
AVR

Originally Posted by WRooom View Post
Dear All,
I was always passionate of acquiring a safari and now I have seen a used 2000 model Safari top model 4x4, done only 70000KM for 2.75L. Let me know what you guys think as you are all safari users.

Vimal
Hi Vimal, Agree with Mercedized on this. Also 70000 km is far too less for a 10 year old car. Might be safe to assume its doctored. Also, earlier safaris were known for excessive tyre wear so avoid going in for one especially at this price. Not sure about your budget but best to go in for the later TCIC models (2002-onwards) or the later Dicor models. Please understand buying a Tata in the first few years can arguably amount to being a test bed for their engineering!

Adi
Old 28th June 2010, 15:06   #146

well mercdised 4X4 2.2 sells above 7 here and LX 4X2 is between 5 and 6.

I am not interested in Dicor 3.0 L as the power and torque curve of 3.0 is so crude when compared to 2.2. Actually my A.S.S once gave a 3.0 L Dicor 4x4 as standby vehicle when I gave my safari for that tank and fuel line cleaning job after a kerosene fill on NH7 ( wrote about this on 2.2 thread) so had fun with it for couple of days . I am cursing myself why I did not go for 4X4 itself. On all other counts my 2.2 VTT is fantastic machine and I would not like to part with it.

@VIMAL : If that owner is genuine ( not a dealer) may be you are getting a good peace , Many people perticularly in smaller towns do not have that much of daily running and if they are not travel buffs that kind of run may happen.
If it is through a used card dealer then there is a high probability of being doctored.

Last edited by amitk26 : 28th June 2010 at 15:08.
Old 29th June 2010, 14:45   #147

Thanks Guys. these are interesting pieces of information. The ODO as you guys menionteed may be doctored, but it looks like it was used sparingly and it is well kept. I asked a mechanic to check it for me and he too agreed it is a good piece. The turbo is claimed to be a new one, and teh engine seems to be in an imaculate condition.

Anyway 4x4 is kind of what i was looking for and a bery few good pieces are avaiable in the market. Anyway my bargain has ended at 2.5L, kind of impressed by this machine, and i may buy it.

Will update next week.
Old 29th June 2010, 15:59   #148

@WRoom, yes - well maintained, low run Safari's will be rare. So when do you look to close things ?

And How did you check the 4x4 ?
Old 6th July 2010, 10:43   #149

The AC (air direction knob) is not working. It is stuck at the normal mode. I have to manually pull the 'gear lever' of the directional flow. I have already replaced the cable that helps in connecting the knob to lever, but no improvement. Any suggestions to correct it?
Old 18th July 2010, 21:50   #150

Finally, I am looking to service the AC of my car. Any details on what are the things I should look for a AC service? and the cost estimates.