Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 30th June 2012, 14:48   #6211
BHPian

Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Hey guys need some input here. I want to change my i20's headlamp bulbs. I have been running on stock lamps for the past 13 months and the low beam is a real pain. So I always drive with High beam. Anyway I really had my heart set for white lights as it does look good on white cars but there is a problem. Actually there are 2 problems:

1) I have fog lamps and then I have to change them too. Car accessories shop claims that only Chinese bulbs are available for white fog lamps. So reliablity is a problem. THen again the stock fog lamps are pretty decent and I dont want to change them.

2) I am really not sure if the visibility will improve if I install white lights.

Now after some research I have short listed 3 different bulbs:

1) Philips Extreme vision (Yellow light)

2) Philips Crystal vision( White Light)

3) Osram Night Breakers(Yellow light)

I have read enough good reviews about the philips extreme vision so that is a safe choice. But then one of the reputed shops here (GLIX, quoted 1200 a pair) claimed that the is no warranty on Philips lamps. Is it true??? Because there was another shop which claimed that Philips bulbs have 1 year warranty but they quoted 1450 a pair. Isn't that expensive ?

Now the "Osram" part of the story. The shop which quoted 1450 for the Xtreme vision spoke highly about the Osram Night Breakers. Claimed that it is in a completely different league and blah blah. THey qouted 1250 a pair for the OSRAM but but when they showed me the lamps I noticed that they were FEB 2009 manufactured and the bulbs were not in good shape. Did not look encouraging. So what should I do? I am confused. HELP!!