Old 6th June 2018, 23:23   #226

re: BMW G310R & G310GS launched at Rs. 2.99 - 3.49 lakh

I would stay away for a few months until the whole ownership experience is well known. Recent stories on how BMW is treating is premium cusotmers doent inspire much confidence. The GS especially would see some rough use in capable hands and am sure is going to require TLC. How ready is BMW to provide it is an unknown.

Last edited by Nilesh5417 : 6th June 2018 at 23:24.
Nilesh5417 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th June 2018, 13:45   #227

Overdrive states a likely price of Rs 3.5 Lakh for the R, and Rs 4 lakh for GS version.

http://overdrive.in/news-cars-auto/b...-respectively/

Autocar, however claims 50K lesser, for both models.

https://www.autocarindia.com/bike-ne...-june-8-408589

Last edited by abhishek46 : 7th June 2018 at 13:47.
abhishek46 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2018, 22:53   #228

By the way, could anyone tell that this bike would run on which fuel? BMW Motorrad website says that G310R needs unleaded super petrol having a minimum of 95 octane rating. Do we have fuel with this rating? Shell V Power may be?

Last edited by benbsb29 : 26th June 2018 at 12:18. Reason: Typo corrected as requested,
Old 10th June 2018, 09:06   #229
rbp

Originally Posted by driverabhi View Post
By the way, could anyone tell that this bike would run on which fuel? BMW Motorrad website says that G310R needs unleaded suer petrol having a minimum of 95 octane rating. Do we have fuel with this rating? Shell V Power may be?
The BMW has a very low compression ratio [10.6:1] compared to the Duke's [12.8:1], hence less heat and less power. Not many have observed, even the Apache 310r has slightly higher compression ratio [10.9:1] and I guess it makes slightly more power too than the BMW but TVS won't say that in open. So due to the low compression ratio it shld easily run on 91RON petrol.
rbp is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 11th June 2018, 03:14   #230

I routinely run my duke 390 on regular 91 octane fuel without any issues ( speed does feel somewhat smoother ) . I highly doubt this imposter BMW will require 95 minimum to run smoothly .
basuroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2018, 18:29   #231

18th July 2018 -

Thats the date everyone has been waiting for, to know how much of a premium the BMW badge commands -

https://auto.ndtv.com/news/bmw-g-310...ed-1873436/amp
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 27th June 2018, 14:39   #232

Yes, 18th July will answer so many questions

Originally Posted by basuroy View Post
I highly doubt this imposter BMW will require 95 minimum to run smoothly .
Please excuse me asking this, but why are you calling this bike as an imposter? It is in fact a BMW. Doesn't matter however small engine, low power figures (according to the reviewers who are used to bigger bikes), less weight (scaling at 158.5 KG) it has, its been engineered by BMW folks. It is a different matter of pricing it right, but calling it an imposter could be too much.
driverabhi is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th June 2018, 10:14   #233

I have been waiting for someone to post a reply after my last post so that I could break this news with fellow BHP'ians without having back to back posts. I booked by G310R yesterday by paying an amount of Rs.50,000 . The bikes will be delivered starting from mid August as per the showroom guys. My booking number is 162 hence my bike would be delivered around September 1st week. I will be happier if I get it before that anyways.
Although I have made the booking, still I will take my final decision once the prices are revealed. This booking amount will be 100% refundable in case of cancellation. I still think that the price of the bike on the road should be in the same ball park as Duke 390. If that is the case, I am buying the bike. If its more, then I will reconsider my decision.
driverabhi is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th June 2018, 10:18   #234

My booking number is 162 hence my bike would be delivered around September 1st week.
Congrats on being the first BHPian to book one.

Is this number provided at the dealer level, or from the company? Should help us gauge the demand for the bike.
Old 29th June 2018, 10:45   #235

Thank you Crazy Driver. I thought someone else posted about booking one few posts back. I am glad if I really am the first one.
I guess the number provided is at the dealer level because its printed on the form. So, 161 bookings from Bangalore itself. I wonder how many bike would be allotted to the Bangalore dealership.
Old 29th June 2018, 11:42   #236

Thank you Crazy Driver. I thought someone else posted about booking one few posts back. I am glad if I really am the first one.
I guess the number provided is at the dealer level because its printed on the form. So, 161 bookings from Bangalore itself. I wonder how many bike would be allotted to the Bangalore dealership.
Up here in the North, the response is not so encouraging, this is from informal talks with the dealership SA. So the guys who have actually booked these bikes are not what BMW had in mind probably, like the ones considering RE or some other Honda or KTM models. They find BMW expensive by the approximate pricing given by showroom guys. Most of the sales in this segment is still happening on EMI and an additional Lac does matter a lot. Instead, those who have booked have already some large bikes with them and want to have something smaller.

Of course, it's too early to derive any conclusion but it will be interesting to see how they compete with TVS or others, I think competitors must be warning prospective buyers about the high maintenance costs of these as well.

Last edited by Turbanator : 29th June 2018 at 11:45.
Turbanator is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 29th June 2018, 19:28   #237

I will take that with a huge pinch of salt, 161 bookings, let's see how true it is.
Old 2nd July 2018, 10:39   #238

Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
I will take that with a huge pinch of salt, 161 bookings, let's see how true it is.
Yup, they are only bookings as of now. Time will tell how many get converted to actual buys. Even I will take my final decision only after the prices are out.
Old 18th July 2018, 09:18   #239

Few hours to go for launch event in India (source: social media feed)
BMW G310R & G310GS launched at Rs. 2.99 - 3.49 lakh-unveil180718.jpg
Old 18th July 2018, 09:23   #240

Overdrive is claiming to have the scoop.
2.75 and 3.40 lakhs for the 310R and the 310GS respectively.
Good pricing keeping it competitive.
Deliveries in Nov supposedly.

Source: http://overdrive.in/news-cars-auto/e...espectively-2/