Old 21st August 2009, 18:18   #196

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Yeah we could barely hit 120+ on that stretch on a 200 but then the bikes were right of the production line
I'm not sure but the Ninja they might have tested at 160 kmph would also be quite new.
Old 21st August 2009, 19:03   #197

Originally Posted by niks_devil666 View Post
I had a conversation with BAL guys last eve - here are some excerpts -

1.Its a CKd not a CBU
2.Price would be more than 2.5L for sure but should come around 3L
3.The exhaust is changed , rear cowl made black and rear cusion coloured green ( the green part is the cushion not the cowl)
4.Its a UK/EU spec 33ps , Fi bike . No changes except the front number plate.
5.No saree guard attached.
6.Could not spot the main stand , only a side stand
7.BAL making minimal profit on this bike so that they do not make a loss.
8.Only in green and black (UK spec colours)
9.People trained in Japan will service the bike.
10.Exhaust note sounded quite meaty
11.The BAL guys themselves ahve hit 160 (on the speedo) on the chakan track
All the while reason given for delay in launch was localization. But now there seems to be minimal localization...

Last edited by thiyags22 : 21st August 2009 at 19:04. Reason: edit
Old 21st August 2009, 20:44   #198

The baby Ninja look hot and sounds amazing. I am sure once the bookings open there will be a complete mad rush for it. I guess they are delaying the launch so people have enough time to save up for it
Old 21st August 2009, 21:02   #199

lol, Urja consider ppl like me who have been smitten by it since the 2nd Auto Expo about 10 years back. One saves, waits then blows it up in frustration then saves again ..its a vicious cycle. I guess this time though the news is sureshot so will start saving again , thankfully showed my wife what the ninja looked like in Europe and she is ready to back me up as long as she is with me on almost all rides

Originally Posted by devarshi84 View Post
I see a lack of digital speedo. Is it a big thing?
No dude, how does it make a difference both are gonna show the same numbers, wont they?

Last edited by sammyboy : 21st August 2009 at 21:08.
Old 21st August 2009, 21:05   #200

I see a lack of digital speedo. Is it a big thing?
Old 21st August 2009, 22:15   #201

Originally Posted by doctorque View Post
The beats are increasing now, unlike the bank balance.
I think i would beg, steal or borrow for this (get a loan done actually).
Diwali launch (typically bajaj).
A whole new defination to the fastest Indian (if its a CKD, which it is)
GOD, please give the strength.
Dude seriously man do something. Porsche man pull some strings.
This looks dam tempting. Everytime i look at it things start working in my mind..gaddi bechu ke bhai ka gaddi bechu.
if all goes according to plan then abhi, amit, chintan, you, devang and me could all get one.
Old 21st August 2009, 22:17   #202

2-2.5 lacs would be a good range.
The thunderbirds are selling just about 1 lac. R15 also close to lac.
if we compare (price wise only) it to these bikes sold in India 2-2.5 looks good. but then if you compare it to nano :-) people will say you are nuts.
Old 21st August 2009, 23:27   #203

for india its amazing
Old 22nd August 2009, 00:54   #204

Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
+1 to that! Any idea how to make this a 2 seater ?!
are you kidding me. why the hell do you wann do that!!!!

typical indian mentality!!!!
Old 22nd August 2009, 09:59   #205

Thanks for the details niks!!

Green seat is something I do not like. I would like to see a black one which would look great with black rear seat and cowl.

I really wish that the price would be in the range of 2.5L. This bike is not apt for usage as a commuter in bangalore traffic. So, it would be an indulgence for weekend. Being a family man, it is a tough decision to make.
Old 22nd August 2009, 15:38   #206

i have driven it here in saudi
feels like a bigger karizma though
Old 22nd August 2009, 16:45   #207

Overpriced for a 250 twin and certainly over hyped. I really see no point spending 3L on a motorcycle which is a parallel twin with tech from the 80s. Add another peti and you could get a good used 600 with way more technology loaded and thrills per KM.

Jay
Old 22nd August 2009, 16:52   #208

Yeah Jay but that 600 would be hidden in the garage most of the time and it will spend the rest with the RTO or DRI.
Old 22nd August 2009, 17:32   #209

Originally Posted by JayPrashanth View Post
Overpriced for a 250 twin and certainly over hyped. I really see no point spending 3L on a motorcycle which is a parallel twin with tech from the 80s. Add another peti and you could get a good used 600 with way more technology loaded and thrills per KM.

Jay
Not exactly Sammyboy. I am talking about the legit imports.

Jay
Old 22nd August 2009, 22:21   #210

can u legitly import a 600 to india
since only 800 and above can be homologated????