Old 10th November 2010, 11:45   #106

An air cooled engine wouldn't work on the track or for extended high speed riding in summers. Liquid cooling and fuel injection is the way forward.
Old 15th November 2010, 00:22   #107

Send an Enquiry!

Honda India website has updated the home page. Honda Now you can send an enquiry by clicking the image of CBR250R. I got an auto response from the Honda CC.

What is even more interesting is at the bottom of the enquiry page the text reads "Bookings shall be open from 1st January 2011 onwards, for more details please visit your nearest Honda dealership". Well now we just got to wait.

Autocar also has an video up on Youtube, pretty comprehensive report which speaks positively of the bike. Check it out below

Old 15th November 2010, 08:24   #108

Just went through the details but it doesn't mention that it has LED lamps?? The sound in the video didn't have that growl I was looking for but maybe it's due to bad recording. Any guesses on the OTR? Will it be <2L? The colors shown are Red and Black only, is there that blue one which they show in one of the spec pics?

Last edited by zaks : 15th November 2010 at 08:26.
Old 15th November 2010, 09:33   #109

I doubt this bike will bite into sales of the Ninja.
Its too simple looking regular bike for a sports bike. Its does not have the thing R15 and Ninja has.
Probably they should have come out with more sporty colors.
The present color, size of the tyre, sound of the engine - hurting my high feeling for Honda.
But cannot really say more without riding it. waiting to see it in action.
definitely not they bike you will fall in love with at first site.
Will be a sad compromise for a track machine.
Views are completely personal.
Old 15th November 2010, 10:37   #110

I personally think its STUNNING!!

While certainly not having the bent-over sporty riding posture (and consequent handling on a track I suppose) that the Ninja or R15 have, that might not be a bad thing. I personally love the way its a more upright riding stance even though it is styled in such a sporty fashion. With the low and mid-end torque it offers, combined with the stance and ABS (not to mention that ridiculous mileage - 50 kmpl?!!) it could be a combination of a great city and touring bike. I for one can't wait to see more reviews of it.

And did he say 'much less than 1.5 lakhs'?!?!?!

Last edited by RT13 : 15th November 2010 at 10:39.
Old 15th November 2010, 11:46   #111

I like it's styling- it's lovely and colors are good too but remember we should not be comparing it to the biggies out there. But what about the engine roar, I want it to sound convincing for it's looks not sound like a hyper charged tvs 50.

The road clearance is given as 145mm which could be a little trouble for a city of back breakers
Old 15th November 2010, 11:51   #112

Originally Posted by RT13 View Post
I personally think its STUNNING!!

While certainly not having the bent-over sporty riding posture (and consequent handling on a track I suppose) that the Ninja or R15 have, that might not be a bad thing. I personally love the way its a more upright riding stance even though it is styled in such a sporty fashion. With the low and mid-end torque it offers, combined with the stance and ABS (not to mention that ridiculous mileage - 50 kmpl?!!) it could be a combination of a great city and touring bike. I for one can't wait to see more reviews of it.

And did he say 'much less than 1.5 lakhs'?!?!?!
There is no way in hell this bike will give 50 kmpl.

If it does then it will not only hurt Ninja/R15 but also other so-called performance segment (P220/RTR) and the executive commuter segment (Unicorn/GS150R)
Old 15th November 2010, 13:07   #113

Don't think so me-self. Only quoting the company's claimed FE. Even if that's in STC, and its discounted to 40kmpl for road conditions it'll be UNBELIEVABLE. Even 30 will be awesome for a bike with that kind of power.
Old 15th November 2010, 13:51   #114

AFAIK, Ninja's Baja/company claimed FE is 42 kmpl. So, 50 kmpl is not exactly out of the world as far as claimed FE is concerned.

Ninja is reported to give FE of 25 kmpl (owners can correct here), so this would be 35-40 under hard driving conditions, which I still consider great.
Old 15th November 2010, 14:46   #115

FE of 50Km/l is ridiculous for this bike right??? at least not in its present state of tune, what is being discussed was a note from the presenter. No Honda official claimed that figure in the video. It was the MD/CEO who mentioned a <1.5 lakh cost but not clear if that is for the ABS or non-ABS nor is it the On-Road or Ex-showroom price.

Honda official website for 2011 claims a FE of 27Km/L CBR250R | Honda/2011 Of course there is a rider at the bottom of the page. I would trust the official site than the TV presenter.
Old 15th November 2010, 14:48   #116

Huge man!

Far less than 1.5 lac rupees!

This is really good. If they go through with this pricing, the R15 gang will go bust.
Doubt it would have anything on the Ninja. The baby Ninja is still in a class of its own.
Old 15th November 2010, 14:55   #117

The review does sound really nice and I am sure this will turn out to be a hell of a bike. If they really price it below 1.5, it will be a very wise move as it will pull customers from the 180 Menace/Pulsar/R15 to the customers who dont find the Ninja VFM or have budget constraints.
So many more people were ready to pay upto 2L for the Ninja, they will have a great option now.
Great move Honda.

Last edited by sammyboy : 15th November 2010 at 14:57.
Old 15th November 2010, 15:09   #118

i would certainly pay for it if its 1.5L otr. the bike looks awesome to me. i think people going for a 250cc wouldn't bother much about the mileage aspect anyways. when is this coming?
Old 15th November 2010, 15:32   #119

watch the ndtv India RAFTAR right now 3.30 pm.
its airing the global launch of CBR250R in Thailand.

EDIT: will upload the video.

Last edited by jeepster : 15th November 2010 at 15:45.
Old 15th November 2010, 16:31   #120

here are the videos.

sorry for the for quality.