Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Official New Car Reviews
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 1st March 2021, 16:14   #2746
BHPian

Re: Tata Tiago : Official Review

Hi All,

Posting this on behalf of my Brother in Law. He owns a 2017 Tiago XZ Petrol. He is a civil engineer by profession, and the car was primarily used for his official purposes. This has resulted in the car running 85k km in 3.5 years. All services were done on time at Tata service centres. The car was under extended warranty until last year.

Along with the usual niggles that comes with owing a Tata Car, a wheel bearing going bad, the stock battery dying out and engine mounts breaking routinely in around every 20k km, there had been no other serious mechanical issues. The car was reliable and never let us down.

Recently owing to covid he has not been using the car, as much he used to. Still the car used to see around 500 km per month easily. He has been seeing lower than normal fuel mileage recently (10-12kmpl in place of the usual 16-18 kmpl he used to get). Last month, he did a long drive to Coimbatore and back to home. Once he was back, he kept saying something was not right with the car. The idle was not smooth, car hesitated to accelerate, had missing while running, the engine vibrated a lot and occasionally would almost die out and then recover and keep running. Also, the mileage dropped to around 10 kmpl. Post this the symptoms became worse, at times the car would struggle to move in first gear, then everything will be back to normal.

Last week, the car completely died out and refused to start. He had both

the ABS and check engine light on. After multiple attempts, the engine started up, but was running roughly as if it was running on 2 cylinders, and made a lot of noise. He contacted a near by local workshop, who came to the spot and scanned the car for errors. The following error codes were found: