Old 23rd August 2011, 18:47   #2686

Re: Volkswagen Vento : Test Drive & Review

Originally Posted by architect View Post
I used to have this problem on my Palio. It had to do with the shape of the nozzle and the way it is inserted into the fuel filler. Also, the larger nozzles (which are for pre ULSD diesel, I think) does not fit so auto-cut does not happen. See if this helps.
I think these are ULSD nozzles. All pumps have the same. And there is no apparant solution. But then the fuel is cheap. Mileage is great , atleast on MID, so why the hell care?
But still I have to plan a way to measure FE manually.

Originally Posted by bala80 View Post
Another grouse I have against VW is, if there is a firmware update available to reduce noise/vibrations in TDI version which was released a while back, why cannot the latest one's have this from the factory? If any of you can think of an logic behind this, please let me know. I couldn't come up with one, however hard I tried.
If you do some upgrade on the ECU calibration data for a car that is already sold, then there is no issue. But if you want to implement it in stock conditions, you need to get the car homologated (pollution test type I & II i believe) at ARAi or similar agency. Looks like they are trying to avoid it.
Old 23rd August 2011, 20:12   #2687

Originally Posted by poloman View Post
I think parking lights remaining on is a design feature if you had experienced this as desribed in these threads.if you leave the indicator of either side on, the parking lamps of the very side will remain on.This has been widely reported in the forum.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ll-well-6.html
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...me-7-days.html
Absolutely correct poloman.

This is a safety feature which alerts moving traffic to the presence of the vehicle parked on the side of the road / kerb. One could leave both the parking lights on too, however the German engineers of yore built this little feature of leaving only the traffic side light on as a battery (read energy) conserving measure.

Originally Posted by noopster View Post
Parking lights by definition need to stay on when the car is parked and locked, so I don't know what's so exciting about this.
So an un-exciting feature turns in to a quirk

souravc, have sent you a PM about AT-specific contributions for the "quirks" thread. Just thought of a couple of non-AT specific ones that I thought I'd post here:
- If you forget to turn off the turn indicator, say you signal left to park by the side of the road and it stays on, and you take the key out of the ignition, the indicator that's left on gives a weird dull glow till you snap the turn signal back to rest position (definitely a quirk- it should just go off, like it does on other cars).
- Slotting the key in the ignition is a little difficult when the steering lock is engaged. Since I habitually engage the steering lock when I get out of my car, I need to grab the wheel and twist it a little everytime I try and slot the key into ignition the next time. A little annoying.
The spring loaded ignition shutter is again a universal standard. It was introduced in our market the original M800 and is now found in almost all cars being sold today. This again is a built in safety feature and the twist is needed for the key edges to line up with the slots in the ignition lock.
Old 23rd August 2011, 20:47   #2688

@khoj- I know- this feature exists in my Swift as well (and my now-sold Accent). What I meant was that is relatively HARDER to slot the key into the ignition than other cars I've driven. I may be mistaken, since that list is piddly compared to alot of you here
Old 23rd August 2011, 21:24   #2689

Originally Posted by evilshantanu View Post
@souravc: I think this needs to go down in the list as well. Will mail you the problem
Look forward to your list evilshantanu - good that your sensor issue stands resolved

Originally Posted by TopSpeeder View Post
@sourvac: I have problem to report, I can PM you.
TopSpeeder , the intention is to have a list of quirkiness rather than of straight forward problems

Originally Posted by nileshch View Post
If you don't use the second memory, it stays on forever. I have kept it for at least 20 days before using it again. The readings stayed there.
Nilesh , you are so right - I tried it out and the MID2 indeed stays on forever till it is reset by holding down the button . One more added to my quirky list

@ oxyzen , MID2 seems like your ready solution for a quick fix mileage calculation - it should be able to give you the mileage of a tankful
Old 23rd August 2011, 23:24   #2690

Originally Posted by souravc View Post
One more added to my quirky list
Here's one more for your list -- it's not a quirk strictly speaking -- it's a tiny feature.

Today, after the signal turned green, I pushed down the handbrake but did not do it cleanly. The stalk was still an inch above its resting position. After I started moving, the beeper went off and kept beeping softly till I cleanly pushed down the handbrake. Do note that there is a little play in the hand brake. The last inch or so does not really block the wheels from moving. Again, found this kinda refreshing -- the car reminding me to pull up my socks.
Old 24th August 2011, 03:21   #2691

Originally Posted by Poitive View Post
It is amazing how brands like VW (or the big Germans) manage to maintain a pull factor. Customers still want them, despite such issues.

Just imagine the beating a Tata, Mahindra or for that matter even a Ford or GM would get for such stuff.

Customer buying preferences - an interesting topic!
You gotta own them to experience that - go for a beemer when you upgrade from your VVS { BTW, i noticed that VV and VW really look similar , I suspect that you are a VW lover at heart gotcha !}
Ah yes! I meant that as a compliment to these companies, that they manage such huge emotional appeal (even if logically they may be seen as questionable cars to buy). Most people would want to own a Biggie German, if finances wouldn't be an issue. Me too. Me too!

The emotional appeal, also lends to their shortcomings been seen with a different yardstick.

The 'VV'S Magnum may not take kindly to my loyalty to be being questioned!!!! (Good one Saurav)

If that is the case, it makes me wonder how serious VW may be towards it's plans about India. I mean, if they do have the features and don't even explain it well in their manuals etc, it just seems rather odd. On the other hand, these may not be manuals made only for India. Am confused about who is to blame - maybe because I am not as deeply involved in the topic. Someone please explain whose fault would this be seen as.
Well there can't be any questions about that - look at the amounts being invested ( more than a billion USD at last count), the models being launched and the dealership network being established - many folds more serious than GM , Ford , Fiat combined ever were . Ford came to India with Escort , GM with the Opel Astra and pretty much went about in a fuddy duddy way after that. Fiat has dissolved their own dealership network - good for a quick getaway!
GM and Ford entered the Indian market in a very very different stage.
A 1.3L Maruti Esteem was almost an overspend (given the same bodyshape was available in with a 1.0L engine) and was almost considered a luxury vehicle at about 5L then. Fiat probably read the market quite poorly. The economy had just started to change then, so some players were bound to go wrong, given the uncertainty then. Wouldn't take this further, as it is quite OT to get into such details on this thread.

My concern was more about what is in bold above - about who is to blame with the issues being faced by VW owners.

Last edited by Poitive : 24th August 2011 at 03:23.
Old 24th August 2011, 09:50   #2692

The emotional appeal, also lends to their shortcomings been seen with a different yardstick. .
Well you would have missed out the multiple threads where we have panned VW. Having said that , its also true that there is no perfect car out there in the market - not in the 8-12 lakhs bracket anyways and each of us strive to achieve the best compromise. Showing loyalty to a brand without a sense of perceived value is unlikely because at the end of the day each one of us would be pitching in our hard earned money - who would forget how many performance reviews we have to endure to get a damned salary hike

My concern was more about what is in bold above - about who is to blame with the issues being faced by VW owners.
Of course VW is to be blamed - if they foist upon us a common manual for POLO / Vento, that too not an Indian version, its the lame company who is to be blamed . Given that its a new car , the inadequate manual does not make our lives any easier but with the help of this forum and I daresay the most active "new car" bunch of users we have been able to decode quite a few of the features of the car and explanation for some nice features. Still when I buy my next car , I would not make the quality of the manual a decision making factor as long as the car is featured on T-BHP
souravc is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th August 2011, 13:52   #2693

Well you would have missed out the multiple threads where we have panned VW. Having said that , its also true that there is no perfect car out there in the market - not in the 8-12 lakhs bracket anyways and each of us strive to achieve the best compromise. Showing loyalty to a brand without a sense of perceived value is unlikely because at the end of the day each one of us would be pitching in our hard earned money - who would forget how many performance reviews we have to endure to get a damned salary hike

Of course VW is to be blamed - if they foist upon us a common manual for POLO / Vento, that too not an Indian version, its the lame company who is to be blamed . Given that its a new car , the inadequate manual does not make our lives any easier but with the help of this forum and I daresay the most active "new car" bunch of users we have been able to decode quite a few of the features of the car and explanation for some nice features. Still when I buy my next car , I would not make the quality of the manual a decision making factor as long as the car is featured on T-BHP
Ah yes! That is quite the point I was making. That the brand is patronized and has perceived value. And when I am talking value, I am including emotional appeal within it. This is not said in any negative way, but as a compliment.

I expect most people going in for BMWs and the likes would hardly be using the dynamics of the car to pay the premium. The exact same car, but from a different brand may have sold a lot lesser. This is where the emotional appeal comes into play.

Thanks for the clarifications Saurav. As I just wrote in another thread, had the Magnum not been in contention and the cabin of the Vento been more agreeable with me, I too may have gone in for Vento (though more based on the FTD factor than brand appeal).
Old 24th August 2011, 14:12   #2694

@souravc- while I appreciate the sentiment, the sedan is also a Polo and is referred to as such internally on all the company's labelling. "Vento" is a Marketing term for the Indian market, since there was possibly a fear that Indian market would not accept a Polo sedan concept. The Chakan factory produces cars for export as well which would explain the use of Polo on the manual and other labels on your car (I mean the paper labels not the badges).

It's a little silly though- how much could it possibly costs to redo a manual?
noopster is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th August 2011, 17:10   #2695

The name Vento is a label used by Volkswagen since 1992 for various automotive markets globally.
In Europe, Vento is actually the 3rd generation Jetta. The current outgoing Jetta (5th generation) is also known as the Vento in Argentina + Chile markets.

However, in India the Vento is nothing but Polo Mark-5 sedan.
So in India they had the option to come out with a name linked to the Polo hatchback eg. VW Polo- 'xyz' (like the Swift Dzire) or come out with a new name and create a distinct identity like they did with the Vento.

Thus the common manuals-since both the vehicles come from the same lineage. Though i support the fact that when they are selling a car in the premium bracket (8L-11L) VW should in fact create a distinct identity for the Vento by printing exclusive manuals.
In fact i would have preferred if the vento had more noticeable differences on the outside to distinguish it from the polo.
Old 24th August 2011, 17:17   #2696

I gave the car to the service center today. Surprisingly they didnt find any problem in it, the flashing of the heater coil didnt happen again, the software and firmware also seems fine. Now this is a mystery, nobody knows what happened

@souravc: I think this needs to go down in the list as well. Will mail you the problem

Shadowfax was checked by the visiting VW engineers from Pune. They found the "air intake sensor" to be faulty and replaced the same. According to them this is a rare problem and they dont see it often. But still on the safer side, I think I will get the extended warranty package once the warranty for my car expires.....
Old 24th August 2011, 19:29   #2697

Shadowfax was checked by the visiting VW engineers from Pune. They found the "air intake sensor" to be faulty and replaced the same. According to them this is a rare problem and they dont see it often. But still on the safer side, I think I will get the extended warranty package once the warranty for my car expires.....
So heater coil light was glowing because of this problem ?
Did you ask them how much replacing the air intake sensor would cost if you were to pay
Old 25th August 2011, 00:46   #2698

@souravc- while I appreciate the sentiment, the sedan is also a Polo and is referred to as such internally on all the company's labelling.
Noops just saw your post . There can't be any doubt that the Vento is a polo sedan . Well the other day times now ( I think) was showing the VW team preparing for the polo cup and they explained quite a few things - one of those were that they use a Polo shell but the engine is the one on the Vento's so that felt good
Old 25th August 2011, 09:38   #2699

I just noticed something yesterday with the power windows. I dont know , whether its a standard feature in all cars with power windows. I dont remember noticing it in my optra.

The power windows (all 4) continue to operate :
1) even after you switch off the ignition.
2) even after you remove the key from the ignition slot.

This operates as many times as you want. But the moment you open any of the doors and shut it, they stop operating.
Old 25th August 2011, 09:40   #2700

Originally Posted by ventolute View Post
I just noticed something yesterday with the power windows. I dont know , whether its a standard feature in all cars with power windows. I dont remember noticing it in my optra.

The power windows (all 4) continue to operate :
1) even after you switch off the ignition.
2) even after you remove the key from the ignition slot.

This operates as many times as you want. But the moment you open any of the doors and shut it, they stop operating.
I havent noticed this. The only thing I knew - all four windows have auto up/down feature and the windows can be operated using the remote.