Old 10th April 2009, 12:21   #1171

I feel like a freak, because my squat is real low.
75 kg for 8-9 reps.
Whereas my bench is 80 kg for 11-12 reps

Another strange thing is that I can do more weights while doing dumbell overhead press than I can do barbell military or behind neck press.

Strange.
Anyone else a freak here?

Ideally in terms of strength of lifts a normal person can:
Deadlift > Squat > Bench press > Barbell row > Military press

PS: Before anyone laughs at the small weights I use, I am thin framed, with more slow twitch muscle :(

Last edited by alpha1 : 10th April 2009 at 12:23.
Old 10th April 2009, 12:28   #1172

This is regarding the lower back WO.

Specific lower back WO is not really recommended in hypertrophy phase/cycle.
That is because it is already being worked out while you do rowing and squats.

Real hardcore lower back training is doing deadlifts - which is not a hypertrophy exercise. Its a strength builder. And doing anything more than 5 reps on Deadlits are total waste.

So its better to target it during the strength cycle.
Old 10th April 2009, 13:00   #1173

Originally Posted by Saiyan View Post
300lbs . I have just started with the squats and have progressed till 50lbs for the last set.
Squats are a lot of fun if you do them well for a bit of time. I'm addicted to them

@alpha1: I'm in a maintenance phase right now, cycled off the protein and creatine supplements for a month or so. During my regular workouts, I probably do about 8-9 variations in total for my complete body. This is the phase where I think I can focus on the smaller muscles and make sure they're "well-oiled" and working well.
Old 10th April 2009, 18:47   #1174

Originally Posted by vikram18 View Post
1. Other than Hyperextensions, as mentioned by Test-1, you could also try back extensions (lie on the floor on your stomach and raise your chest off the ground; to make this more challenging, you can lift both your legs off the ground at the same time)
The way I read it, sounds like an Ab-crunch to me. Could you explain it again?

Originally Posted by vikram18 View Post
Don't exactly see you heading the "meek" category
Seeing your avatar-pic, this is what I was referring to...

Old 10th April 2009, 19:15   #1175

Originally Posted by godog View Post
The way I read it, sounds like an Ab-crunch to me. Could you explain it again?

Seeing your avatar-pic, this is what I was referring to...
Lie on your stomach

Back Extensions

LOL. You a Calvin fan too?
Old 10th April 2009, 20:47   #1176

ON the Stomakk! Oho. Now amply clear.
Another variation is on the Lat-Pull-Down machine. Hold the bar as if going to proceed with the usual pull-downs, but pull the bar by leaning backwards instead. Like deadlifts, only reversed and nil injury probability (not including moron probability).

Arre big time C&H fan yaar.
Old 16th April 2009, 13:59   #1177

Has anybody used Mitotropin, SizeOn, or Superpump250? All Gaspari products, btw. (I'm sold on Gaspari after myofusion). A freind is looking for "Fat burners". Mitotropin seems like a good choice, dunnit?
Old 16th April 2009, 15:47   #1178

Has anybody used Mitotropin, SizeOn, or Superpump250? All Gaspari products, btw. (I'm sold on Gaspari after myofusion). A freind is looking for "Fat burners". Mitotropin seems like a good choice, dunnit?
Had been hearing about this Superpump250 a lot recently, how is it?
Has anyone used CL reduction?
Old 16th April 2009, 16:41   #1179

Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
Hmm squats too, yeah.

Last leg workout, squatted 300lbs .. How about putting down your personal bests here, people?

Here I am for the first time contributing, something which I havent done before but thought I can post my personal best here.

Leg press - three sets 18/630 lbs - 18/720 lbs - 20/810 lbs.

All of this, given the fact that I am a lady but being overweight we were trying different variations. I also get many reactions mainly that of shock. But nevertheless I have done it all.
Old 16th April 2009, 20:48   #1180

Mitotropin sounds good but I feel there are far too many tabs to be taken. An alternative is SAN Tight Xtreme, just 1 tab a day.

I haven't tried Superpump but have tried something similar from SAN, Fierce; it's bloody potent!

I'm waiting for my Myofusion to arrive soon
Old 17th April 2009, 15:39   #1181

Originally Posted by manaa45 View Post
Here I am for the first time contributing, something which I havent done before but thought I can post my personal best here.

All of this, given the fact that I am a lady but being overweight we were trying different variations. I also get many reactions mainly that of shock. But nevertheless I have done it all.
Ahaha wow, nice! My leg press best was probably around 195kg or 430lbs since that's all the machine could go upto. My best friend's sister also does 195kg legpresses. Amazing how much lower body strength some women have, almost all the guys (including people who consider themselves as "bodybuilders" in my gym fool around with something like 100kg or so.
Old 17th April 2009, 21:44   #1182

is that TWENTYY reps of 820 pounds??? I think this counts as .

Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
Ahaha wow, nice! My leg press best was probably around 195kg or 430lbs since that's all the machine could go upto. My best friend's sister also does 195kg legpresses. Amazing how much lower body strength some women have, almost all the guys (including people who consider themselves as "bodybuilders" in my gym fool around with something like 100kg or so.
If I were a mod, i'd sue you an infraction. Not to flame you or anything, the ""Bodybuilders" you're referring to- workout with them once and it'll bear on you what each kilo CAN be. Maybe I'm taking this personally, but come down here, let me show you what a 40kg benchpress is made of!
Old 17th April 2009, 23:16   #1183

Pardon my gym-lingo ignorance, but what do these numbers mean?
Old 18th April 2009, 00:25   #1184

My advice, never use a machine to guage your strength.

Most machines create a leverage advantage which gives you a false indication of your strength.

For eg : In our gym, i can easily do a 110kg machine bench press with 1 hand for 15 reps (so thats technically a 220kg x 15reps workout). I could go even heavier but the machine doesn't support anymore weight.

But when i try to do the same thing on a barbel bench press, i can only manage about 120kgs x 8reps. And this goes even lower to around 100 kgs (50kgs in each hand) when i try it with a dumbel bench press

So it would be better if we stayed away from machine claims.

Shan2nu
Old 18th April 2009, 00:52   #1185

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Pardon my gym-lingo ignorance, but what do these numbers mean?
My guess: leg-pressed 18 times 630 lbs of weight. then rested for a while. again went for 18 times, 720 lbs...