Old 16th June 2010, 18:32   #1861

Barbeque Nation charged my 14 member group Rs 4909 or Rs 350 per head for lunch.

They actually have a placard that if I remember right mentioned the buffet as Rs 150* for kids between 3 and 9 (or was it 12) and Rs 300* for others.
* Taxes etc.
Old 16th June 2010, 18:49   #1862

Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Barbeque Nation charged my 14 member group Rs 4909 or Rs 350 per head for lunch.

They actually have a placard that if I remember right mentioned the buffet as Rs 150* for kids between 3 and 9 (or was it 12) and Rs 300* for others.
* Taxes etc.
Rs.350/head for lunch and Rs.601/head for dinner is expensive. Are they going the GIKF way?

I thought they were still at Rs.275 (L) and Rs.475 (D). Those were the days when i used to visit them so often.

No doubt they are much better than GIKF

Do they still offer a complimentary beverage during lunch?
Old 16th June 2010, 18:51   #1863

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Rs.350/head for lunch and Rs.601/head for dinner is expensive. Are they going the GIKF way?

I thought they were still at Rs.275 (L) and Rs.475 (D). Those were the days when i used to visit them so often.

No doubt they are much better than GIKF

Do they still offer a complimentary beverage during lunch?
Yes. The complimentary beverage is still on.
I had a cold fresh lime soda.
Old 17th June 2010, 15:43   #1864

I had my lunch at at Utupura today with 2 colleagues, the menu was

1, Kerela Fish Curry- Great
2, Chicken Fry-Traditional and spicy, can be avoided
3, One veg thali- i didnt have this.
4, plain rice
5, Appam and kerela parathas

Total Damages: 289.

Again a great dining experience.

Last edited by SILVERWOOD : 17th June 2010 at 15:44. Reason: Comments.
Old 17th June 2010, 16:44   #1865

Last evening it was an impromptu (decided in 2 hours flat) meet at Ravveendra's office at 8:30pm.

Folks present were :-

Rajesh Rawal+1
Hillram
Milecruncher
Mobike008
Pulsar56
Downsouth
Vnabhi
And, suprisingly Ravvs too was there

We headed for an early dinner and went to the "tried, tested,researched, beaten to death and getting too much of it" place...Can you guess please?

We ordered the following :-

Veg Platter
Non-Veg Platter
Bathinde De Kukkad ( 2-3 No's)
Mutton Gravy Dish ( forgot the name)...1-2
Rotis, Naans etc
Biryani
Mixed Desserts (everyone ordered something different)
Mixed Soft Drinks

Total Damage after 20% discount : Rs.5000 ++

Enough of this place, i wouldnt even like to be seen dead in this place for a fairly good period.
Old 17th June 2010, 16:52   #1866

+1 Avi..Even i have tried and tested in Sholay.
But the Sarsong ka Saag with Makhi Roti was bliss.
Kulfi with Falooda was simply delicious.
Good experiance
Old 17th June 2010, 17:43   #1867

Last evening it was an impromptu (decided in 2 hours flat) meet at Ravveendra's office at 8:30pm.

Folks present were :-

Rajesh Rawal+1
Hillram
Milecruncher
Mobike008
Pulsar56
Downsouth
Vnabhi
And, suprisingly Ravvs too was there

We headed for an early dinner and went to the "tried, tested,researched, beaten to death and getting too much of it" place...Can you guess please?

We ordered the following :-

Veg Platter
Non-Veg Platter
Bathinde De Kukkad ( 2-3 No's)
Mutton Gravy Dish ( forgot the name)...1-2
Rotis, Naans etc
Biryani
Mixed Desserts (everyone ordered something different)
Mixed Soft Drinks

Enough of this place, i wouldnt even like to be seen dead in this place for a fairly good period.
First things first!

This should be in the meet thread and your Chinese query here. Are these the after effects of last night ?

Anyways the food was good and the desert Kulfi was killer. But what takes the cake was RR's incident last night

Last edited by MileCruncher : 17th June 2010 at 17:47.
Old 18th June 2010, 08:30   #1868

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
But what takes the cake was RR's incident last night
Bhai. What was the incident.
Old 18th June 2010, 08:56   #1869

How do I avail of the 20% t-bhp discount at this place ?
Old 18th June 2010, 09:11   #1870

Originally Posted by LonelyPlanet View Post
How do I avail of the 20% t-bhp discount at this place ?
Simple. Announce to maitre'd that your from Team-BHP before placing your order.

They will provide you the discount. Dont forget to order " Bathinde De Kukkad". Enjoy
Old 18th June 2010, 12:12   #1871

Planning for a good dinner buffet next week. Anybody knows the prices for following :-

1. Novotel
2. Westin
3. Grand Kakatiya

Any other good buffet in a good restuarant would also be fine.

There's a chettinad festival in Novtel until next weekend. Not sure what would be their price.

@Srimath,

RR entered into a place where he was not supposed to. Isleye use ab thadi par hona pad raha hai Hyd se.

Last edited by mobike008 : 18th June 2010 at 12:17.
Old 18th June 2010, 12:18   #1872

Planning for a good dinner buffet next week. Anybody knows the prices for following :-

1. Novotel
2. Westin
3. Grand Kakatiya

Any other good buffet in a good restuarant would also be fine.

There's a chettinad festival in Novtel until next weekend. Not sure what would be their price.
All the 3 are priced at 950+taxes.open from 7pm to 11pm on weekdays and until 12am on weekends.IMHO,these are simply overpriced.

Theres an Arabian food festival on at the Novotel airport till the 27th of June,If you have a Jet Airways frequent flyer card then you are entitled to a 20% discount.I guess it is priced at 750 plus taxes.(the 20% discount would work out to your petrol costs to reach there hehe)

Try the lates buffet in town at The Park,same range,the only saving grace being that you can check out a newer place as compared to The Westin.

My personal favorite when it comes to buffet is at The Pickles,Basera secunderabad,though it can get a lil crowded and service has been a little iffy now a days.priced at 295+taxes.

The other place which is a mirror image of Bbq nation is Flames & Grill priced at 500+ taxes,reasonably ok.

Last edited by ranjitp1 : 18th June 2010 at 12:19.
Old 18th June 2010, 12:28   #1873

Ranjit, 2 gandhi notes per head for a buffet?.

I dont beileve in spending that kind of money as we can never justify that price, ultimately end up paying only for ambience.

I was looking at a maximum of Rs.700/Head ( all inclusive) types. And, i was hoping these places offer that this price if there are special festivals going on.

Pickles was my favorite haunt a few years ago. Always visited them after 2:00AM and had to wait for minimum 30 minutes for a table at that unearthly hour. No doubt, awesome food.

I like their style of serving beverages in a ceramic glass

But, rightly said, it gets too crowded and i am looking at a place where i can breathe in easily.

Another place on my hit list is Grand Wok Chinese Buffet before they close their offer by June 30th. Terrific pricing, i must say.
Old 18th June 2010, 12:34   #1874

I dont beileve in spending that kind of money as we can never justify that price, ultimately end up paying only for ambience.

I was looking at a maximum of Rs.700/Head ( all inclusive) types. And, i was hoping these places offer that this price if there are special festivals going on.

Another place on my hit list is Grand Wok Chinese Buffet before they close their offer by June 30th. Terrific pricing, i must say.
So very true,and at times the ambience itself would be missing,and so you end up after the meal wondering what was it that you paid for.700 per head you could try the novotel airport,it would fit your budget if you have a jet ffp card.Hows Grand Wok as compared to Chinese Pavilion-food & price?
Old 18th June 2010, 12:49   #1875

Originally Posted by ranjitp1 View Post
So very true,and at times the ambience itself would be missing,and so you end up after the meal wondering what was it that you paid for.700 per head you could try the novotel airport,it would fit your budget if you have a jet ffp card.Hows Grand Wok as compared to Chinese Pavilion-food & price?
Its a little bit more upmarket than CP. And, food is certainly good.

Lunch Buffet is Rs.149++ roughly Rs.180 Nett.
Dinner Buffet is Rs.299 ++ roughly Rs.342 Nett

As you can see pricing is super VFM.

Another first in Chinese cuisine is they serve the buffet on your table, no standing in queue in a long line with plates in hand to serve cold noodles, rice and soup etc.

In lunch buffet they dont serve exotics like crabs, squids etc. but, either Fish or prawns is served for sure apart from chicken etc.

Dinner buffet is a bit more elaborate as usually is the case.